Sweet, Award, Strength, Laughter, Love, Food

The title of the blog is in order of the titles given to the random stuff which crossed my path recently

============
This guy is walking on the road and one old aunty is coming from the opposite direction..he walks past her and then her stick falls..while she almost tumbles, he immediately turns around and catches her and bends down, picks up her stick and give it to her 🙂

Sweet eh?

==============

Guess what…I actually won something in the blogosphere…IHM had this wonderfully cute contest organized in her blog.and I guessed correct..and I won this cute looking yellow polka dotted cup and all that…see see

and oh double inteverted commas  Thanks for letting me know that I could actually put it up on the blog…ayayayyaya! (Err..how I figured out was when I read it in your blog :))

 Its like winning some prized award and all..so I am going to make a thank you speech..edkum filmy style

I would like to thank IHM for holding the contest, my parents for settling down in Goa and ensuring they take us around, RD for taking me to Goa twice, R for being there and pointing out the various coloured buildings to me, double Inverted Commas  for letting me realise that I could  up this up on the blog.

so there…RM won an award and all that

===========================

TetraPak ..you are an amazing company…I am totally impressed…

So one nice evening, I got a pack of frooti packed in a Tetrapak ka packaging and one monginis cake from a lady who was retiring after ,Hold your breath!, 38 years in the same company …

I decide to take it home for R (yaa yaa I am generous some days!)

And since R’s school is still recuperating from the run of the Sports day, I have to drop her to daycare and then get the train..

so in the return is the fight for the survival of the fittest and then the train drivers are on some ‘go slow’ campaign so trains are running super late..so you can imagine bad tempers, rude behavior and crude manners..

and then the train comes and RM jumps in after 64 ladies clutching for dear life..the compartment is packed as they pack sardines and the entire first class resembles as if the crowd of the kumbh mela or something..there is no space to move..no actually there is no space to breath..I breathe and my protruding tummy (no I am not pregnant, this is the remnants of R’s delivery!) hit the bag which in turn hits the girl in front of me and she said, dont hit me with your bag..I am like..no no I am breathing and she gives me this weird look..so I hold my breath for 3 seconds nad breath again and she stares at me again..

Well, you get the drift right..I mean thats how packed it is…

but I am not worried about breathing..I am more worried about the pastry and the frooti in my bag which I am sure is going to start leaking in some time and people will think I am peeing or something with the pressure..

Every station brings in more ladies, bone crushing pressure (I think my left shoulder is suffering permanent damage) and what not..

anyways so my station comes, I come out fearing the worst for my dress..when I open my bag to see a BADLY MANGLED tetrapak of frooti which has not broken…I mean its just mis shaped..but not broken..no leakage…I gasp..and then think Wah! yeh tetrapak kya sahi company hai..take a bow folks

Lets not dwell on the pastry..it just sits comfortably in R, RD and RM’s tummy…a pastry is a pastry..shape be damned 🙂

========

I am reading this book for R…its from Pratham Books  with the title ‘Aloo-Maloo-Kaloo’ as soon as we open the book,I say ‘Aloo-Maloo-Kaloo’ and  R screams ‘aloo-maloo-kaloo’ and then I hear RD laughing…I look at him and he keeps repeating the phrase like 100 times…and keeps laughing after it…I am like whats wrong…he tells me ‘please please RM can you say it..I love the way you say it..its hilarious’

Now who is the 3 year old here?

=========

The guy who sits next to me in office..he didnt come for two days…I see him and ask him ‘what happened, you are also unwell or what’

Guy: What
RM: you were unwell?
Guy: errr..no
RM: okie…you didnt come na for two days thats why I asked

and he sweetly puts his hands together as if rocking a baby and smiles

RM: What
 and he does it again

RM: OMG! you got a baby

and he is like”errr…actually wife and I both got a baby’

RM: Awesome congrats..girl or boy

and  you should have seen his expression soften..his eyes went so dreamy and he said ‘girl, baby girl, she is so perfect’

Aww! I went totally awwww!

This is what a father is all about eh?

and for the records, this is his second child..his first is a boy about 5.5…and he says he was praying he gets a girl this time 🙂

=======

And to end this

Here is RD’s recipe for Rajma..he sent it via email to me with a subject line with said ‘Rajma recipe for your Blog Friend’

yaa yaa he is pretty professional..I have just copy pasted it directly..so any goof ups are all his 🙂

and to come back to Rajma, People to whom I already sent, just ignore this bit will ya 🙂

(See the way he writes..its so bloody professional..as if he is writing for a cook book or something..and for people whom I sent the thepla recipe…it was so disorganized! I am so jealous of this fellow!)

Getting the Rajma Ready
Soak Rajma beans overnight – use lukewarm water
Cook the beans in a pressure cooker – about 6-7 whistles are required

The Gravy – Ingredients
3 midsized onions – finely chopped
2 midsize tomatoes – minced – or a bowl of tomato puree
2 green chillies
2 cloves of Garlic and little ginger – you can use Ginger garlic paste as well
3 – spoons of curd.
2 spoons of cooking oil
1 small cube of butter
Turmeric – Haldi
Garam Masala / Rajma Masala
Jeera – Cumin seeds
Mustard seeds – Rai
Jeera Powder – 1.5 spoons
Dhaniya Powder – 1 spoon
Little bit of Hing
Coriander to season

Preparation
Heat the oil in a kadai and add the cumin seeds and mustard seeds. After about 1 min, add the onion, ginger, garlic and green chillies and fry till the onion become soft and brown in color.
After about 5 mins add the minced tomato and fry for about 2 mins.
Then add the haldi, garam masala, salt, hing, jeera powder and dhaniya powder, mix well and continue till you begin to see the oil separating out of the mixture.
Add the curd and mix well and cook for about 2 min
Now add the rajma beans, about 2 cups water (or more depending on your taste) and cook till rajma is soft. This is about 7-8 min.
Mash some of the rajma like you do in pav bhaji.
Add the butter on top.
Garnish with coriander and serve with Rice.

====

Total Mish Mash Post eh?

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

71 Responses to Sweet, Award, Strength, Laughter, Love, Food

  1. anisnest says:

    first first first????

  2. anisnest says:

    what a coincidence.. I made rajma today..almost same as RD’s receipe except for the curd and butter part…
    you got an awarddd.. congrats lady.. a good start for the weekend.. this is a grand week isn’t it? you got an award, R got a medal.. super family..
    Sigh this daddy-daughter duo I HATE them.. Seriously I am tierd of witnessing the drama at home every day once M comes back from office.. ek dum (Yayyyyy hindi hindi) filmy style.. Adi running to the living room, M carrying her, both of them hugging, kissing, running around, talking, talking, talking as if they didn’t meet for one year.. a very big Sigghhhh.. who cares for the poor mommy slogging in the kitchen to make dinner? …

  3. summerscript says:

    Congrats on winning the award RM and the award looks super cute 🙂
    Can you please say ‘Aloo-Maloo-Kaloo’ for me 😀 😀 😀
    I am gonna try this recipe sometime 🙂 Thanks RD 🙂

    This is one super sute post. loved it 😀

  4. Congratulations for winning The Prestigious Yellow Polka Dotted Cup 🙂
    Loved the story of the young dad who is delighted to have a baby girl.

    • R's Mom says:

      Thanks IHM…I so loved that cup…its like winning an oscar or something..well winning anything on your blog is like winning like the bestest thing on earth 🙂

  5. VJ says:

    LOL at the train scene and thanking tetrapak !
    Best thing from the whole post is the recipe.. Thanks to RD.Have never added curd to my Rajma.
    will add it and try out this weekend !

  6. ‘.I am more worried about the pastry and the frooti in my bag which I am sure is going to start leaking in some time and people will think I am peeing or something with the pressure..’ – Thar cracked me up, big time. You made me smile (after quite a few days) – Thanks, RM! 😀 😀

  7. suranga date says:

    I can so relate to the bone crushing pulverizing populace gracing the local train compartments. Central Railway . on down trains after Chinchpokli, had assorted vegetable ladies squeezing by with baskets, and when I was your age, 30 years ago . They still happen today. I “did” the second class ladies’ at rush hour, and once bought some tomatoes along with fresh subji from one such lady. Holding the bag high up while moving in the crowd didnt help. The bag tore, the tomatoes got squished , and platform folks looked strangely as I got down, amidst something leaking red stuff.

    The only thing that has changed today , is that you can probably get this amazing experience in a first class compartment too. .

    • R's Mom says:

      Aiyo…thats one funny incident..I know I know..at that time you may have felt awkward..but I am actually laughing thinking of the red leaking stuff..heheeh 🙂

  8. RS says:

    Eh – Congrats to you-yeah,I read it yesterday at IHMs only 🙂 and Madam! you won one for Tejaswi Rao awards also na? I am just waiting for IHM to announce all the categories and Im going to proudly put up that badge- I swear winning something at IHM’s is like winning some huge padmashree for me in the blogging world! I hardly ever win anything!!

    Rajma-the recipe only looks yumm and professional – it looks like how the show the ingredients and all on TV after cooking the dish! – should try sometime-thanks to RD and you! And now I know what Seema was talking about 🙂

    The tetrapack thingy – Hilarious! You write like I can visualise a cartoon RM and her tummy and all! hehehehe! And thats an amazing skill…

    Finally-total sweetness for both those guys-one who helped the woman and one who just became a DAd-goes to show that thee are such men who dont hesitate to show that they have a soft side-metrosexual?

    • R's Mom says:

      I know I know…any award from IHM is like the ‘bestest thing ever’

      I know I know..that TV show types na..GAH!

      Seriously I looked like a cartoon only 🙂

      Metrosexual pata nahi..but they sure are cute 🙂

  9. Ramya says:

    Hey RM, I am a regular in ur blog though I stumbled on it just a month before… I read thru all ur archives and salute ur strength as working mother which am not able to really fine (I have a 1.5 yr old at home n am working)… RD’s Rajma recipe has got it drooling n i jus love R without seeing her.. Ooooh… how much I wanted a girl but got a boy 😦 Anyway ur blog is great n i will keep visiting it daily (first thing i come into office n open ur blog for the R household updates Let the work be damned 😉

    • R's Mom says:

      Awww! Welcome here Ramya…glad you like reading the blog *Blushing at the compliment*

      Do de-lurk when you get time..its nice to know people like the blog

      and a healthy baby is all we want na..boy ho ya girl….as long as they are happy and healthy…thats the best 🙂

  10. Sumana says:

    Pura professional i say. Lol at R’s remanants. RM you say it so well that i laughed and the nearby cubicles had to stand up and ask me if i am ok. Ofcourse i did not disclose our remnants …(secret)

  11. garima says:

    Congrats dear for the award.
    I went total aww at the new father’s reaction and the guy helping the old auntie.
    Point noted When I visit Mumbai next time drop in to R’s household for amazing rajma chawal 🙂

  12. Smita says:

    🙂 So there is still humanity around !

    Congrats for the award 🙂 yay!!!

    I LOLed @ “A Pastry is a pastry”, these lines will be etched in history 😉

    Psst can you can call me and say “Aloo-Maloo-Kaloo”? U see I wanna decide whose side to take between u n RD 😀

    And that guy sounded really sweet! Pass on my wishes to him 🙂

    And that recipe sounds simple so will be tried soon 🙂

    • R's Mom says:

      Thanks

      I know..isnt a pastry a pastry 😉

      What…okie okie…even if you dont find it funny or even if you find it funny, you take my side!

      Err…RD’s recipe is NOT simple okie! I can never make rajma the way he does..I just put everything together and pretend that it tastes good 🙂

  13. Seema says:

    First things first, there are some spelling mistakes here and there. I’m sure Ashwathy will take your case on that… I am soo waiting to read her comment.

    Congrats on the award! Tetra Pak story was so hilarious RM. Your train tales are always entertaining…. Both the guys in ‘sweet’ and ‘love’ were so cute.

    Rajma will soaked tonight. I’m planning to put the recipe up in my food blog dedicating it to RD. *sticks tongue out to you*

    • R's Mom says:

      GAH! please over look the spellos..its from a harried mother okie?

      thanks

      My train tales are entertaining eh?

      Dedicating it to RD – thats all was needed..abhi he will gloat about it for ages!!! btw..just to let you know RD reads my blog AND he reads the comments as well..matlab the guy is going to move around with a swell head for ages if he reads this comment of yours…Gah again!

    • Ashwathy says:

      LOL!! 😀 I think my reputation precedes me these days at R’smom’s blog :mrgreen:

      No I hurriedly ran thru this post hence did not notice the mistakes. 😛

  14. Sumana says:

    Congratulations on your cup, i mean the oscars… wonderful

  15. bikram says:

    Lovely jubley…
    Congrats on the award.. Well done..
    Congrats to the guy in office…
    And what a recipe sir ji my thank you to RD..

    And nezt time ikmow where to get the packaging done….

  16. Swaram says:

    Wow that’s some awesome recipe and way of writing it 😀
    Thanks RD from all of us blog friends 🙂

    Aww at that new dad 🙂 So sweet!:)

  17. Swaram says:

    Oh and congrats on the win too! Yay yay 😀

  18. Double Inverted Commas says:

    Yay! You put it up 🙂 Good girl!

  19. Finally Finally I have u on my blog roll.. Don’t know what the issue was but only after i deleted some 12 blogs from my list did it allow me to add u .. see all the sacrifices i had to make! ..
    What n u thot i dropped by to read ur posts??

    Love that rajma recipe .. n thank god for tetra pack really.. i can’t imagine how u travel day in day out.. n congrats on that award! 🙂

  20. Mayborngemini says:

    I hate Rajma, have tried cooking it various times in the past.But seeing RD’s recipe I am tempeted to try it one more time, Thanks for the recipe

  21. Writerzblock says:

    Yes yes totally mish-mash but loved it 🙂 Made me smile!! Er, did you sai Monginis and Tetrapak? Wow, R’sMom, you brought back some lovely memories of my days in Pune 🙂

  22. AT says:

    congratulations RM on winning the prize 🙂

  23. Congrats on winning the Yellow Polka Dotted Cup Yay 🙂

    Even I am laughing at Aloo-Maloo-Kaloo its simple cute..

    Aww the guy is so sweet and congrats to them.

    Thanks for RD’s recipe,it sounds delicious, I am gonna try.

  24. Shruti says:

    My comment disappeared!!!!!
    check ur spam 😦

  25. Ashwathy says:

    Sweet – ?? 🙂 Yes!! Very!

    Award ? Me too!!! 😀

    The third one is not about strength, it’s about you being psycho and actually carrying a tetra pack frooti (BTW I love frooti :mrgreen: ) into a super crowded Mumbai local, and that too on a day when trains are running alte. Having said that, I was rofl !! No regrets, coz that made for a very interesting story!

    God bless the new father…and mother… 🙂 And the little kids. Touchwood!

    I will come back to you for this recipe once we shift to our new place and I start cooking properly. Not sure if hubby is a rajma fan though. Let me check 🙂

  26. Zephyr says:

    Congrats RM for the award. You are one super cool girl! (After reading all your gahs to those who thanked RD first, I am careful, see? :D)
    The recipe sounds very good and worth a try. I will let you know whether I got it right. Thanks RD, for the recipe!

  27. Tanishka says:

    Congrats for the award RM…

    Awwww and congrats for the guy who had a baby gal… 🙂

    The best part of the post was undoubtedly RD’s rajam recipe… And yes he is professional and well organized… 🙂

    PS – Thanks RD… 🙂

  28. Pepper says:

    Hey I make Rajma the exactt same way!
    Congratulations on the award! 😀
    And I used to go to college everyday in that packed, packed local where you can’t breathe. You made me want to go take a ride again, for old times sake. *Thinks its time to plan an India trip maybe*

  29. Rajani Ram says:

    I burst out laughing reading you Train episode…. LOL!! soo funny yaar the way u write…. And wat a concidence to see the Rajma recipe… I was thinking about making it.. now I will try this one… thank you… and yes… how neatly is it written.. like right out of a cookbook or something… :-). thank you… 🙂

  30. Seema says:

    Hey I tried RD’s Rajma recipe yesterday. The gravy was lipsmacking good but the Rajma beans were adamant to get cooked well. I’ll make it again with a better quality of Rajma. And I’m sure there will be no gaalis but shower of praises! I think addition of curd does the trick for this gravy.

  31. Pingback: Eye Test, Baking resource shopping and Bloggers’ Meet « Anecdotes of Two-riffic Twins

  32. Vidya says:

    1. Congrats for the win. Coming from IHM- its super-great!!
    2. Why don’t you and RD do a food/cookery blog?
    @RD: Thanks for the recipe RD. Now be nice and share the recipes of all the goodies you make for your wifey and daughter:))
    @RM: Email thepla recipe to me too!!!
    3. Congrats to your friend on the baby girl:))

  33. Scribby says:

    gosh RM how do you manage spinning such ROFL posts ? Awesomeness woman, awesomeness!

    hihihi at the breathing in the local and ROFL at pastry in the stomachs 😉 🙂 You reminded me of Mumbai..sigh!! I so wanna come again!!!!

    Thanks for the recipe but you know what,I don’t like Rajma,yeah I don’t!!!

    Congratulations for the award..whattay speech I say 🙂

    • R's Mom says:

      Glad you liked the posts 🙂

      Come come to Mumbai..we will have a blogger meet and make this bangalore wala people jealous 🙂

      Thanks for liking my speech..some one noticed at least 🙂

  34. Pingback: Tag Time – Phew!!! | R's Mom

  35. Pingback: The To Post List « Cracked Chronicles

  36. Pingback: Rajma Masala « Amchi Bong Konnexion

Leave a comment