The Why Answers – Blogathon Post 10

Seriously, someone needs to teach R some other word than why? Anything you ask her to do, her first question is why? and then the usual other whys? like why am I dark? or why is the moon with patches or why is Appa going for meetings in the night every Friday? or why the world is round…you know…while all who are not parents of 5 year old may find it extremely ‘cute’ and advice me that ‘this child with her whys’ will do well in life, etc etc..honestly, after a while, her whys get on to my nerves!

But in my defence, I swear (ask her!) I do answer as many whys as I can, because secretly I do hope my answers make her more inquisitive. What? I am a mother eh?

Anyways, that apart when Tharani wrote this post on Whys, I refused to answer her queries saying I had enough of R’s whys. But then Tharani really wanted answers, and me being me, who has met Tharani and thinks the world of her, thought let me at least try answering her Whys

Why do we meet right people at wrong time?

So that we can remember and say oh that means, we met that wrong person at the right time darn!

Why not many men blog??

I know men who blog. You dont follow men who blog so start searching for men who blog. Because there are men who blog (you got it!).

Why the spirit of new year stays only for that week and life starts feeling so drab yet again?

Thats easy, because the office work starts again coupled with the fact that you cant find excuses to eat rich food again until Pongal/ Uttrayan. Then you find life interesting again πŸ™‚

Then Tharani has asked three questions in one sentence, but since I am the mother of a 5 year old who understands only one thing at a time, I will answer them separately!

Why is it very difficult to accept things the way they are.

If we started accepting the way things were, then we would not have figured out new things in life no? Imagine if the Newton had just let the apple fall without wondering why it happened, or your nosy neighbour doesnt ask you questions about when you are having your child, life would be so drab no?

Why is it very difficult to let go and move on?

Because humans have this really stupid concept of linking the brain to the heart and in the battle of the brain and heart, sometimes the heart just wins over.

Why does the heart always thinks about, what if β€˜s and if only’s?

Because the heart has got this sensitive tips inside it which keep blinking once in a while and then sending unwanted messages to the brain which makes you think in what ifs and only ifs. And then if the heart didnt do that, you wouldnt be living eh?

Why does the boss decide to take leave only when you are on leave?

Because he is the BOSS. If he really wanted you to take leaves, he wouldnt purposely take leaves when you took them eh?

Why is it, only when you finally decide on something you get to hear all bad things about it?

Because you just want to hear the worst of it. And then you will still decide on that thing only, because you are human eh?

Why are we holding on to someone who hurts and makes you cry?

Because unfortunately, we are a clingy species. Make me cry, but I will cling to you because you are mine or something in those lines!

Why is it very difficult to love unconditionally ?

Why love unconditionally, I ask. Always love conditionally, because we came alone in this world and we will go alone. Unconditional love exists only in movies and books and infants darling!

Why are we only interested in complicating things when life itself is very simple?

Because we all love our complications. For eg, I can just take a rick and come to work and spend 1/2 my salary on it. But i dont do that. I take a bus AND a rick AND a train AND a rick to get to work. WE all love our complications. And life is not simple darling. Absolutely not simple. Even boiling milk in the morning comes with its complications of milk falling from the packet, milk overflowing from the vessel if you dont look at it, milk getting spoilt if you havent cleaned your scissors after cutting the chips packet, yaada yaada. Life is never simple. Its a myth!

Why why why?

Okay, all whys answered!

Now please send me some nice murukkus from Chennai to compensate for all the jalebis you made of my thoughts!

PS – Thanks for all your comments on yesterday’s post. When R grows older and hopefully reads her mom’s blog she will feel wonderful that she has such lovely people to support her and make her feel like a queen/ princess/ R πŸ™‚

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to The Why Answers – Blogathon Post 10

  1. Veens says:

    Aarya’s “Lekin Kyon Mama?” drives me crazy at 3, I wonder how it will be at 5 :-/

  2. hitchy says:

    Why did you have to do this post!? πŸ˜›

    *ducksthekitchensink*

  3. Seema says:

    Sashtang pranam to you maate!

    But then the credit goes to R for your prowess in answering questions. Had it not been for her, you wouldn’t have been able to discover this hidden talent :mrgreen:

  4. Maya says:

    Oh My God! **Falling at your feet**

  5. Sri says:

    Hahaha…what replies!!

    Agree with the Boss part..my earlier boss expected me to give him atleast a week’s advance notice for leave but he would inform about his leave after i came to office!

    The milk getting spoilt part was hilarious!

  6. LOL
    Super nice answers, RM!

  7. Shweta says:

    nice one πŸ™‚

  8. Bingo says:

    Now it’s my turn to ask – How? How? How?
    How can you come up with such a nice post? Though I am not ok with the unconditional love part πŸ™‚

  9. mahabore says:

    I just couldn’t stop laughing at all your answers. You do know that you have a tremendous sense of humor and for sure, that is helping you in bringing up little inquisitive R as well πŸ˜€

  10. Tharani says:

    RM, now you know what I mean by meeting right people at the wrong time.If only I had met you long time back, my life would have been much better:-)
    R is very very lucky.
    P.S: why why why – part two coming up soon πŸ˜‰

  11. // because we came alone in this world and we will go alone.//
    True. Unconditional love only exists between parents and #small children. All other love is conditional to a greater or lesser degree.
    LOL at you demanding murukkus for your jalebis hehehe..

  12. Nidaa says:

    I get my share of whys from my nephews too… Its just Why Mami instead of Mumma. But I enjoy it. Makes me feel all important :D.
    Dont know if I will be as patient when I have my own kid.
    And thanks to wikipedia, you can almost always find the answers.
    And yes, about the previous post, no doubt R will overcome all that and emerge a rockstar.

  13. Lol! That was a great post…lots of laughs and some great insights too lovely! πŸ™‚ I’m sure R learns a lot when she asks her whys…

  14. anisnest says:

    why RM why? why this kolaveri? but loved your answers re!

  15. Divya says:

    Lol..now i’m dreading age 5…my little one is 2.5 and in her new found vocabulary she has discovered” what that means”. For everything, brush your teeth – what that means amma?, bed time – what that means ? , what that means…that along with masala of terrible 2’s tantrums. Isn’t life fun?

  16. techie2mom says:

    He gyani RM, plz give answers to my whys too πŸ˜‰

Leave a comment