Of Friendship Days and Recipes

Again the two are not connected…

 

Firstly thanks all for your wishes..but the damn throat ache is just not going away gah! been drinking hot water and pepper filled food 🙂

 

anyways, coming to the Friendship Day thing…

Why wasnt I excited about Friendship day this time….Till last year or so, I even called up my friends to wish them, I seem to remember the first Sunday of August as friendship day etc etc…

this year, I didnt even wish RD!!

I am definitely getting older!

though the brat gave me some three friendship bands someone gave her in the daycare and then some card she made as well on Saturday…though I didnt even react to it properly..or may be just that I am too sick to bother…I dont know!

Just because I am in my 30s, or has the Friendship day lost its charm, or have I really become cynical about such things??

=======
Now on the recipes

Recipe #8

Tomato Paratha

Made this on Sunday morning for R and I. this is something my Nani makes…I didnt remember the actual recipe, so just made up my own.

Take a couple of red tomatoes (errr…I mean not green ones, you got that right!) then you make small pieces and put in the mixie jar. Add some jeera, akha dhaniya or coriander leaves (Patty puts coriander leaves, but I was out of it, so added some akha dhaniya), some ginger, some chillies, some pepper (This was more for my throat ache). Make a paste which will be water thanks to the tomatoes.

Add this mixture to the wheat flour you plan to use for the paratha, add some turmeric, ajwain, some salt and if wanted some sugar to it. (I think you can even add some garam masala to it if you want, I didnt do that..because my Patty doesnt use it 🙂 )

Bind it like our usual atta, you can add additional water to it if need be and make parathas and eat with achar/dahi/jam/sauce (jam/sauce is R’s input!) I had it with raita..it was pretty yum 🙂

Recipe #9

Baked Raw Kela Koftas
hahahahaha! I sound like one of those super duper smart chefs na who work on low cal food..yipeeeeeeee

anyways, this one was not a big hit honestly…when RD ate the koftas which I had baked, his face changed in such a way that I was sure it was not due to the leg pain he claimed he was suffering from..errr..they were very kadak…but but…

I must admit, when I added the koftas in the gravy, they did turn soft 🙂

and before any of you wonder why the hell was I making koftas in sickness, I wanted to finish the raw banana which was in the fridge for like a week! and was threatening to become pakka soon!!

so this is how it goes

Boil the bananas after removing the skin..I cut it into small pieces and microwaved for 10 minutes…I took about 3 raw bananas..once they are out, add some besan to it, keep mashing them, add amchoor, add dhaniya powder, jeera powder, salt, turmeric, hing to it…keep adding the besan till it becomes like a bit not-very-gooey mixture…and you can make small balls out of it…at this stage, if you have a four year old in the house who is enthused about work, give the job of pinching out small balls from the mixture..but beware that this means cleaning up the mess!

then take a microwavable patram, apply some oil to the surface, add these pinched balls (they were not really round, but dont make them very big, make them small) and put it in the microwave…I kept for 3.5 minutes, flipped the balls (which got kinda stuck to each other, but dont worry, once they are thanda they will separate out, even if they dont, you can always break them eh?) and then again kept for 2-3 minutes…

These balls are like stones *exaggeration*..ek dum kadak..this is when RD came in to taste and tried to turn his grimace into a smile…

But…

Make a gravy of tomatoes, onions, garlic, ginger, green chilly, take oil in a kadai, add this, turmeric, hing, jeera, garam masala, dhana jeera powder, and then let it cook for a while..add some salt and then add the koftas as well and keep cooking…the koftas will absorb the gravies and you will get soft koftas..well, not like melt-in-the-mouth (those are deep fried ones boss!) but more like able-to-bite-without-breaking-my-teeth…which is like 8/10 marks in the R household 🙂

go on enjoy!!! low oil koftas 🙂

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

52 Responses to Of Friendship Days and Recipes

  1. Sumana says:

    loved the tomato paratha one. Will try soon. Tiny got some 3 bands and was not willing to share with her bro. When they had a fight, she explained to him that it was not supposed to be given to brother but only to friends of 3rd std since she is one.

  2. sandhya says:

    Friendship day…ummm…all such days lose their charm as you grow older. There, I’ve said it. And then, who needs such ‘days’ to celebrate friendship? You have a good friend, every day is good.:)

    Tomato paratha sounds good. We make something called a tomato omlette- this has no eggs, but the tomatoes and masala are all put in a batter of besan and a little rice flour for crispness, then small dosas are made, to be eaten with ketchup/ curds/ chutney.

    • R's Mom says:

      okie, now I feel better, so you do think such days lose their charm eh? I agree on the last line of the first para 🙂

      oh yaa..its a very marathi dish na…R loves it…She has it occasionally at her daycare, somehow I have never ventured into making it..should give it a shot 🙂

  3. Scribby says:

    Yum recipes 🙂 I’m going to try the tomato paranthas this weekend now 🙂 Oh by the way happy friendships day to you though belated…and don’t worry this is not ageing this is called growing up 😉 I too didn’t wish anyone,not even the Husby 😀 According to me 365*24*7 is friendship moment,right? 😉 *talk about covering the fallacies ;)*

    And did I tell you that I made Oatmeal soup this weekend and it turned out pretty yummy? I have pics..will post them, thank god for your J&J project…I get ready fodder for my weekend cooking 🙂

    P.S. on sore throat: I’m sure you are taking the medication…kadha liya?

    • R's Mom says:

      hahahah! Loved that 365*24*7 statement 🙂

      oh glad it tunred out good…hope to see the pics soon..

      Errr…meds are on..yes kadha has been taken but its not really working as of now 😦 may be in a couple of days

  4. Amit says:

    I met a few friends on Friendship day but somehow I do not find anything special about the day. Ha! It makes me feel that I am not in college anymore and that is true.
    I am going to make tomato paranthas soon.
    I am experimenting with eggs now a days. Dad is completely suprised and keeps asking me if I am all right. 😐

    • R's Mom says:

      awesome you could meet up with your friends rey 🙂

      oh do try it…sure it will be nice 🙂

      I am a big big eggs fan…can you share some recipes???

  5. summerscript says:

    The koftas sound interesting!! Gonna try 🙂

  6. Get well soon! 🙂 Have loads of soup… you’ll feel better. 🙂

    I like the sound of the baked koftas. Will try them out soon.

    BTW of late, I am also not very enthused about all these days – Friendship Day, Valentine’s Day, etc. Maybe I have grown old or maybe I have realised that there is no need for such days.

  7. ashreyamom says:

    yes u r thirdy RM.. :)..
    next time try banana vada.. instead of adding besan add little rice flour to same and deep fry it.. it will be nice.. but ya oil.. so will nt fit in ur healthy project..:)

  8. chipmunk2890 says:

    cold made u sick and pulled down ur charm lady 🙂 nothing to worry 🙂 30 yrs is not a too old age to forget friendship day, kill ur cold u ll be back in flow:) have a sweet corn with high pepper in it , u ll be good ,better and the best 🙂 belated wishes 🙂

  9. Hahaha..such a sweetheart RD is, claiming to have a leg-pain to explain his grimace so as not to hurt your feelings.
    The koftas sound like a great idea! I am willing to compromise on melt-in-the-mouth-ness if it takes up this little oil!!

  10. techie2mom says:

    You shouldn’t have curd (if it is khatta and cold) when your throat is not well, hope you took this care with Raita….
    Good at least R gave you the friendship band 🙂
    Baked Koftas sound good, let me try them next time.
    For making the Koftas soft, add very little besan, just for binding. i recently came to know this from my hubby’s Maasi, when my Lauki Koftas turned hard. And my mom adds curd and oil to make Muthiyas soft, you can try that trick on Koftas. You can try these ideas to make the koftas soft.

  11. Jazz says:

    Let me steal the tomato paratha recipe from here, sounds yumm 🙂

  12. Mathangi Vijay says:

    Hey even I am not into much of friendship day and stuff these days. Just brings me back the nostalgic memories of the moments spent with my college friends on such days! But I think we are just growing up and growing out of such celebrations! Or so do I claim!!
    And the tomato paratha seems yumm.. This i can easily make with the ingredients at home 🙂

  13. Ashwathy says:

    If it’s any consolation… I didn’t bother about Friendship Day this time. I didn’t even know it was Friendship Day until someone else pointed it out to me. It has stopped mattering to me anymore. I know I have my friends and value them all the year round. Friendship Day is just another day, or rather, everyday is for friendship 🙂

  14. Bikramjit Singh Mann says:

    Rm telling you the truth I did not even know it was friendship day til I saw some posts etc. I have never celebrated the day till about the last 2 or 3 years.. I think its a marketting gimmick.. To me no use remembering a friend on a particular day, when each day is friendship day.. 🙂 .. So dont worry..

    I m very particular about friendships as I believe in it from my heart..

    Lovely recipes add them to the list although for some reason I dont luke koftas , dont eat them 😛

    • R's Mom says:

      I guess you are right about each day is friendship day..

      you dont like Koftas…arey not the sweet ones, even I dont like them, but I love the spicy ones 🙂

  15. Sreetama says:

    You are not the only one RM, even I was not enthusiastic about friendship day this year. Though I wished my friends but that was it. Nothing… 😐

    Your recipes are really good! Mom gifted me a mixer this time so I’ll try the tomato paratha. We are already a big fan of tomato rice. This is gonna be the next big hit! 🙂

  16. Smita says:

    I am surely trying the Tomato Paratha, for the kofta thing I will stick to my “frying” thank you!! As is we hardly fry things so itna sa chalega.

    I have never given much imp to these special days…if someone wishes me I reciprocate but hardly inititate in wishing someone. No big deal for me!

    • R's Mom says:

      hahahah! I agree..but honestly the baked one is easier than the fried one because you dont have to ‘fry’ you just chuck it into the microwave eh?

  17. Chaitali says:

    Hey RM, hope ur throat ache gets better..
    Frm frndship day i was not enthused abt it.. i jsut msged back those who wished me.. but what suprised me.. was our tambran neighbour as good as my mom’s age coming n wishing me on frndship day..

  18. meenamenon says:

    He he! Its jus not you.. vene i v conveinetly missed frndship day! But WTH!! U becoming a fab cook… My nxt attempt will definetly be tomato parata… so hang in for the feedback 🙂

    • R's Mom says:

      arey fab cook nahi rey….just putting it on the blog…I am just a very very average cook and no I am not understating…you eat my food you will realise 🙂

  19. Tharani says:

    How are feeling today RM. just take care. super woman cannot fall sick okie:-).
    I’m loving all your recipes. Let me try something this week end:-)

  20. Tanishka says:

    The koftas sound like a time consuming task so I’ll try tomato paratha over the weekend 😀
    Please don’t link not celebrating friendships day with getting old coz even I didn’t celebrate… 😛

  21. Swaram says:

    Hugsss RM! Hope the throat starts behaving well soon 🙂

    I will try that tomato paratha recipe sometime too. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  22. pixie says:

    Loved the Paratha recipe!! And the kelas as well!!
    I didnt wish anyone this year either! 😐
    just the usual FB update

  23. Pingback: Malai Kofta – Yummy!!!! « My Cooking Adventures

  24. Pingback: Malai Kofta Curry – Cake n Curry

Leave a comment