Weekend Realisation – Health is Wealth!!!

I am tired…really tired…with my health, the weather, everything..for the past 10 days, I have been on medicines suffering from severe body ache, and then 3 days ago the throat ache started and it just leaves me so weak…I have no fever, no cold, no cough, andΒ  yet the tiredness of the body seems unbearable…

RD left for VaishnavΒ Devi on Friday morning..he asked me whether he wanted me to cancel the tickets but I told him to go ahead, knowing how they had planned everything etc etc..

so it was me and R over the last three days alone..

Friday was at work, I spent it pretty badly, doing nothing constructive honestly 😦

Picked up R, and then reached home too sick to do anything..the doctor changed the meds to take care of the throat ache..and then I was too tired…

Saturday R had a parent teacher meet at 11ish…I got up really late at about 7.30…the poor kid was awake since 6.30 but then kept telling me to sleep saying ‘AmmaΒ aapkoΒ fever haiΒ na, thodaΒ lie down karo’ Ah! Well, I love being a mother just for this alone..

I had plans to stay overnight with two of my old office friends along with R, but I realised I was too sick and at risk of spreading the infection…R was a bit disappointed since she wanted to meet her masis, but she said ‘its okay amma, you not well, we no go’

I didntΒ have plans to drop her to the daycare, but I was so sick, I realised I couldnt really take care of her…so dropped her to the daycare lying that I had to go to work since I had taken the Thursday off…yes yes, I felt horribly guilty about it 😦

Went to her school, and well, her exams start from August 27th and this was about what is going to be asked….I dontΒ know how they expect 4 year olds to do so much, but thats another post in itself! may be I am only underestimating the kids!!

I came home and made my own food and then realised the importance of having someone at home for you…for all that I have written about managing alone, etc etc, I realised when you are sick you need someone around..if not anything, just to give you hot water for gargles 😦

Okie, I am feeling really sick, thats why the sentimental lines πŸ™‚

Anyways, rested, picked up R in the evening and came back home…had the same rasam rice and slept early..infact R told me that she wanted to sleep early…I finished reading the HP-6 (yes I am re-re-re-re reading the series!)

got up with a bad throat ache..:( managed to convince R to stay alone while I had a bath..which is a big achievement…especially when it didnt involve TV,…she was doing her colouring while I had a bath…

I made her watch a lot of nursery rhymes on youtube..yaa yaa…I resorted to that because I had to cook and I was feeling too sick to sit with her…so did that and then we slept in the afternoon..

RD came at about 3 and honestly I dont think R was sleeping because no sooner the bell rang, she was like ‘Amma, appa, appa, appa’ screeching into my ears…!!

Thankfully he came…..he had his adventures in VaishnavΒ Devi which he didntΒ tell R and me, (Guess he didnt want to scare us) but one of his friends called up and both R and I over heard his story of the landslide and the cloud burst and him getting stuck for 8 hours while coming down..etc etc…

I guess,I just need a better day soon!!!

Most importantly, recover my health..for the first time I realised what they mean when they say ‘Health is wealth’

 

===

Two recipes for the Julia/Julie project coming up tomorrow (too tired to type today)

1 . Tomato Paratha

2. Baked raw kela koftas

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

81 Responses to Weekend Realisation – Health is Wealth!!!

  1. Smita T says:

    Hey.. I hope u r okay now… there is something the weather, thats affecting all of us… now since RD is back, get pampered from him, ask him to prepare all ur fav dishes, you will be ok in no time… Love and Hugs to R for being such a good girl….

    • R's Mom says:

      hahahah! RD is so tired, I doubt the guy can do anything at all..but superman he is, he left for work at 5.45…sometimes I feel like spanking him and making him sit at home πŸ™‚

  2. ohh. Hope you recover soon. Sending over some virtual; hot pepper rasam and lots of hugs.

  3. summerscript says:

    Take good rest darling!!Take care
    R is a sweety pie..big hugs!!

  4. Take care of your health RM! Hope you feel better soon. Hugs!

    And exams for 4 year olds??? WTF??? :O

  5. Mathangi Vijay says:

    Hugs n more Hugs RM.. Take care of your health! I am so glad that R behaved so maturedly when you were not well.. Thats what kids are. They surprise you with their behavior when you are least expecting it.
    Hey the educational system at SG is much much better. I have put my son in a local school and till date he has not had home works, assessments or anything. Assessment is based on his activities in class and we get a bi annual report based on it, giving the strong points and the points for improvement.
    But beware, this is only till the child is in Kindergarten. The child is not allowed to enter 1st Std unless he can read small words on his own and write some basic words on dictation! And more or less the same rat race begins after Class1. I am happy that at least there are 1.5 more years for me to start worrying about it..

  6. Get well soon, RM. And, take some rest! Hugs!

  7. My Era says:

    Take care RM….hope you feel better soon πŸ™‚
    Am really curious to know details about exams for R at 4
    Hugs dear….hope you have a good day πŸ˜€

  8. Sumana says:

    Take care Rm. That said health is wealth. But the sad part we always take that for granted, na??

  9. techie2mom says:

    Hey, take care….hope you are feeling better now. And as RD is back now, get some seva from him…
    Hugs to you and R, she has grown up to become such a caring daughter, you have done a great job at that, and i am sure, she along with RD will manage to lift your mood up πŸ™‚

  10. greenboochi says:

    Get well soon RM πŸ™‚

  11. Shweta says:

    Hey RM.. Hope u get well very very soon.. πŸ™‚
    for throat infection, cold, cough and Body aches.. U can have Besan ka sheera.. its very effective..

    Ingredients – Half a spoon Ghee, 1 Table spoon Besan / Chane Ka Atta (Gram Flour) ,1 or 2 pinch Turmeric (Haldi), Sugar to taste and A glass of Milk.
    Recipe – Heat the ghee in a kadhai or deep pan, put turmeric and besan and stir until brown.. add Sugar to taste and then add Milk.. Keep stirring until the milk boils.. Drink Hot…

    Best time to drink is before going for sleep.. πŸ˜€

  12. Hope you feel better today, RM. Take care. And how sweet of R to tell you thoda aur lie down karo aapko fever hai na πŸ™‚
    Tomato paratha? Sounds yummm. Do share the recipe when you feel better.:-)

  13. Ramya says:

    Oops… Take care RM.. and its really a very much much better feeling while the kids understand you and let u rest… Treat R with somethings which she loves as soon as you are better.. Pray you have less work at office this week and ppl let u rest πŸ™‚

  14. The Bride says:

    Wow superwoman! And wow that R was so caring even at her age. Hope you’re better now.

  15. Chaitali says:

    Hey RM.. first of all a big hug…
    I agree with “I realised when you are sick you need someone around..if not anything, just to give you hot water for gargles”.. seriously it makes u feel comfortable just having someone around.
    R behaved like a sensible kid..
    Take care..

  16. Jazz says:

    Aiyo.. Take care RM, and R seems to be so caring and understanding na.. Now that RD is back, take full rest and get well soon. Hugs !! πŸ™‚

  17. Awwwww hugs, RM! Hope you get better soon!

    So sweet of R to let you sleep in till late, as you were unwell. πŸ™‚

    About the importance of having someone at home, especially when you are sick, I can’t stress that enough. I feel that every single day. 😦

  18. kashlife says:

    Health is wealth indeed.
    Feel better RM. Take care.

  19. Sujatha says:

    Take care RM.. I think its better to take a day off so that u can relax at home..

  20. Jas says:

    I hope you are doing well now RM. Ya, it feels good to have someone around when you are not well but hey you have R who may not be able ot give you water for gargles but can sure sooth you with her sweet words and affection.

  21. Scribby says:

    owww….hurts reading this 😦 I’m so sorry re..if I could have been in Mumbai you both could have come to live with us and I would have handed everything in hands 😦 I’m sad I’m of no help to you sister!

    Get well soon…me no likey such RM 😦 and three cheers for R…she is so understanding..my little girl!

  22. lifesong says:

    Hey RM take care and get well soon. Sending lots of good wishes your way.
    And R is such a sweetie being so understanding. Muaah to her πŸ™‚

  23. garima says:

    Aww babes I hope you get well soon.WEe want chirpy RM back again !
    What adventure at Vaishnav devi…glad RD came back home safely..Take care dear.

  24. rainmusings says:

    Take care. Get well soon. And do treat the little gal for being so understanding πŸ™‚

  25. Sreetama says:

    Get well soon RM! Warm hugs to u & R too! Hope RD is fine too? Take care all of you and don’t stress yourself thinking about work or R’s exam.

    • R's Mom says:

      arey please…R’s exams I am not even bothered…I mean, how much can they ask a 4 year old yaar! she is pretty cool about it as well..at least as of now πŸ™‚ thanks for the hugs rey

  26. Take care, RM! For the bad throat, keep eating peppercorns through the day. It always helps me feel better!

  27. Ashwathy says:

    You sound really badly off 😐 Take care sweetie. Hugs!

    And STOP sounding so guilty. I think R is pretty understanding for her age. It’s okay to be sick, it’s ok to want a break and it’s ok to not sometimes be fully involved with ur kid sometimes. U didn’t make RD stay back in spite of him offering to na.
    So chill. And take a day off, have some hot soup and stay in bed. You need time off yourself, that is important as well. Don’t let it all be about others all the time.

    • R's Mom says:

      yes yes…the guilt factor disappeared after I rested a bit πŸ™‚

      I want someone to make my hot soup :):) you coming???

      Arey I was coming to your side of town on Saturday, so I thought I would meet up with you as well, that too got cancelled..gah! Will keep you posted anyways

  28. Take good care RM πŸ™‚
    Going for a walk in the morning helps me when I feel super tired .
    I so want to go for a darshan in Viashno Devi ,,maybe soon,,,,,, πŸ™‚

    R is growing up haan πŸ™‚ she’s taking care of you , proud mum haan!! πŸ™‚

    • R's Mom says:

      Errr..avoid going there in Rainy season, from what RD told to his friend on the phone, it was pretty scary πŸ™‚

      Going for a walk in the morning – hai bhagwan, that means I have to get up before 4.30 AM…I dont think thats happening πŸ™‚

  29. sandhya says:

    Take rest, RM, and a lot of fluids. I’m sure you are doing that already.:)

  30. uma says:

    Hope you are feeling better now. Sending you lots of good health and cheer. Take care. Hugs to R kutty for being so understanding πŸ™‚

  31. metherebel says:

    Get well soon RM. So sweet little R is. Taking good care of her mommy πŸ™‚

  32. Amit says:

    Take care! I hope you are doing well now.
    And R is a really great kid. She behaved very maturely and let you rest. Tell her that it was really cool. πŸ™‚

  33. ashreyamom says:

    get well soon RM.. nice that R is behaving good and understanding.. landslide?? oh my god..

  34. Smita says:

    Hope you are feeling better now and if not please visit a doctor. Do not neglect yourself, ok?

  35. Swaram says:

    Hugssss RM! Pls take good care and get well soon πŸ™‚ Then both of us will go to the beach and eat bhel πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

  36. Take care of yourself RM. ALWAYS.

  37. Tanishka says:

    How are you now RM… R is just super sweet kiddo… Take care…

  38. ARP says:

    Hey RM,

    Hoping and praying you are already feeling well :). Get well soon dear. Have been busy in office for the past few weeks and missed your blog badly. I keep waiting for the first chance to visit your blog RM. I am a ‘RM blog addict’ πŸ˜› Kudos to R for her understanding and care.

    Cheers,
    ARP

  39. meenamenon says:

    Heyyy! Hope u feeling betta now….

    Popped in to tell u tht i jus doshed out ur corn salad. Hubbs, who turned up his nose at a veggie salad jus finished wiping his plate clean n now demands tht only corn-salad be packed for his lunch tomo…. Lol!

    Now u take some rest…

  40. pixie says:

    OMG!! Hugs and more hugs and still more hugs!! I hope you are feeling better now!!
    And glad to know RD came home safely as well!!

Leave a Reply

