Book Review – Tick Tock We are 30

ticktock

This book is a part of the book review post on Womensweb I was among the bloggers to whom the book was sent.

First things first, I love ‘love stories’. Yes at the age of 31, I admit, I love reading Mills & Boon. Funnily its something I didnt do when I was in my teens *rolls eyes* but I dont mind sitting down with an M&B once in a while. Its a good break from the real world πŸ™‚

Having said that ‘Tick Tock We are 30’ by Milan Vohra falls in my category of books which make you feel nice and warm after you finish reading them.

The book is about soon-to-be 30 Lara whose friends decide on a get together on her 30th birthday since she is the youngest in her group to turn 30. A batch of men and women meet up after nearly 10 years to stay at a place which is sheer nostalgia for them. Lara has a pact with one of the guys Nishad about getting married to each other incase neither of them get married by the age of 30. And as the case, neither of them are married.

The story is within that week just before Lara’s birthday and how the gang gets together again. The quirks, the fights, the funny scenes, the delicate situations are described very vividly in the book.

While personally, I did feel that some of the explanation was unwarranted for, and there could have been some more edits, overall the book has a decent pace to it. Some characters are very caricatured and somehow I couldnt relate to them. One of my favorites is Aunty Nair. She is adorable πŸ™‚

Β The good part of the book

1. Its happy ending.
2. The characters, though over the top in some cases, are potrayed to be real people with real issues and real problems
3. The fact that the right guy gets the right girl πŸ™‚

The not-so-good parts

1. Too long and elaborate scenes which could have been cut short
2. The narrative reminded me a lot about ‘Friends’ The sitcom while I was reading through
3. The need to convert a tomboy independent smart girl into a feminine girl wearing short skirts for the guy to notice her. However, I must admit that eventually the girl does go back to her usual routine of dressing and the guy still loves her :)..but why that need to be feminine..
Overall, if you ask me, I would pick up this book to read definitely from a library. Is it a book, I would personally buy to keep at home – No.

A one time read, full of fun and love. It does make the romantic side of me happy.

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Book Review – Tick Tock We are 30

  1. Swaram says:

    May be I can take the book from you when we meet and then return it once am done πŸ˜‰

  2. oh that pact thingie…I just can’t remember which movie had the same theme. 😦 Anyways, this one is just not my kind of a book. πŸ™„

  3. Smita says:

    Skipping it then…

    Will read it if somebody lends it to me πŸ˜‰

  4. garima says:

    yayay after a short break RM is back….she has started posting again.Hip hip hurray πŸ™‚

  5. Sreetama says:

    Hey I’m a love story fan too! Will pick it up. Thanks for the reviews! πŸ™‚ Currently am reading a book Newsroom Live, it’s a fiction about the atrocities at TV News Channels. It’s a satire, so far so good.

  6. Amit says:

    I guess I will give it a pass. Not my kinda book. πŸ™‚

  7. This sure sounds like a fun book, in spite of the not-so-much-fun things you have pointed out. πŸ™‚ I might not buy a copy of this book for myself, but would surely love to read it if I get hold of a copy. πŸ˜›

    I used to read loads of M&Bs in my teenage. I stopped doing that gradually, when most of them began to look pointless and full of nonsense. Yes, talk about perceptions changing with time! πŸ™‚ I can’t read an M&B without cringing now.

    That said, I love sensible mush stories. πŸ™‚ They make the girl in me feel warm and happy. πŸ™‚

  8. Sapna says:

    Agree with you on the long and elaborate scenes. Here’s my take on the book: wp.me/pxvOG-qk πŸ™‚

Leave a comment