Just Married Please Excuse – Review

I participated in the Just Married Please Excuse Contest hosted by the author Yashodhara Lal on her blog and I won a book..and she was kind enough to send me an autographed copy…I mean, boss, here I am in Bombay, and she is so sweet, that she couriered an autographed copy to me…yipeeeeeeee..and this is my first autographed copy of a book *ahem ahem*

Anyways, so here is what I did…I read the book and I must admit I liked it a LOT.

Why?

Because

1. its conversational
2. it has a nice sweet happy not yet the ending, kind of an ending (What I am a sucker for happy stories)
3. It tells the story for almost every new couple
4. I could totally relate to many many many incidents in the book
5. It has a subtle sense of humor which didnt go over the top and yet made me chuckle to myself while I was reading it
6. I finished the book in two gos..first 25 pages were spent reading in the bus just as I was nearing my stop and for the first time kind of cursing, why I didnt stay further away from work πŸ˜‰ and the second half staying up till 11.30 that night waiting for the spouse to return home from work/party/get together πŸ™‚

I would have loved a little more detail on how Y and V met, how they go to know each other before V popped the question to Y…but again, the book starts right where the question is popped, so I guess…its just the romantic me who wants to know more πŸ™‚

I liked the way, Y is honest about her feelings as a new mother…I can understand the feelings of the new parents who are living apart from each other, because thats something that happened to RD and I because of my delivery complications I had to stay back for 4.5 months at mom’s place…RD coming in every weekend, and trying to do everything for R…

Would I recommend reading the book?

Yes definitely, if you are a new parent, just married, about to be married.. or just want some respite from reading intense books or emotionally draining books…

Here is a book which leaves you happy, givesΒ  you small anecdotes of married life and leaves you with a smile on your face as you finish it at 11.30 in the night after the spouse is back home πŸ™‚

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Just Married Please Excuse – Review

  1. are baba…lekin what is the name of the book? or am I that dumb to not get the title? πŸ˜₯

  2. Congratulations!! πŸ™‚

    Glad you enjoyed the book. It does sound interesting and a simple, pleasing read.

    BTW what is a nice sweet happy not yet the ending, kind of an ending? :O

  3. Sujatha says:

    Congrats for winning the contest !!
    I want to read this book.. let me check in flipkart for its availability

  4. Autographed copy? Wow!!!

    Sounds like a fun book. All the reviews I’ve read of this book so far are complimentary, so I am tempted to check it out

  5. My Era says:

    Congratulations on winning the contest and wow you read the book real quick πŸ™‚
    Your excitement about the book tells itself how much you enjoyed reading it πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  6. deepM says:

    I think i should read this book. Btw nice review for the book RM. πŸ™‚

  7. Smita says:

    Had liked the book save for the filmy climax with the misunderstanding and all.
    Other than that totally readable & relatable book.

  8. ashreyamom says:

    congrats on winning.. so RM when r u going to write a book?? πŸ˜›

  9. Arch says:

    I so want a light-read now. This sounds fun. Shud get my hands on it sometime soon.

  10. Sreetama says:

    Hey congrats! Thanks for the review, have added to my wishlist!

  11. metherebel says:

    Congratulations RM πŸ™‚

    Let me buy this book!

  12. Amit says:

    I too got a signed copy and I am halfway through. It is a nice read and I did laugh at a few places. πŸ™‚

  13. Swaram says:

    I got the book delivered today too. Been good so far – exactly what I wanted next – light and breezy πŸ™‚

    Err in the little that I have read, I also wanted to read more about how they met etc.. lol πŸ˜‰

  14. Bikramjit Singh Mann says:

    I never win anything 😦

    now i am sad tooo …

    but the books seems to be goood

  15. Ashwathy says:

    Yet to receive my copy. Awaiting it. Let me go bug Yashodhara now!

  16. chipmunk2890 says:

    kudos πŸ™‚ show rolls eyes to ji and tl him you didn’t give a hug in marriage but i got a uber cool book as a gift πŸ™‚ is that book availabile as online reading or any sort like that

  17. Yashodhara says:

    Thanks very much, R’s Mom πŸ™‚ …much appreciate! And you know what? I might just do a post on ‘how the two met’ on my blog sometime soon – since you and your friend have said you’d like to know more. Or maybe it will be included in the sequel to JMPE!

  18. Hey! I’ve got a new book out ‘Sorting Out Sid’ – and am currently running a contest on my blog around ‘Beer and bloggers’ πŸ™‚ – would love to have you participate. Take a look? It’s up at http://www.yashodharalal.com

Leave a comment