The One in Which We Want To Be Dinosaur Teachers!!!

The absolutely talented Shruti of ArtsyCraftsyMom wrote a wonderful post about her daughter, Miss P, on what she wanted to be when she grows up. Do read what Miss P wants to be, its awesomely cute and really sweet.

So I decided to ask R what she wanted to be when she grows up.

I ask her at the bus stop.

R, what do you want to be when you grow up?

R: Nothing

RM: But, how will you earn money? you need to work na

R: oh, if I do nothing, I getting no money?

RM: no

She thinks a bit.

R: I will get into the TV and do work

RM: you mean you want to be an actor.

R: no dancer

RM: Thats awesome

R: no, but my friend H says she doesnt want to be into the TV anymore, so I will be going to office.

RM: oh like Amma

R: yes, and I will go to office

RM: What will you do there?

R: Work, aur kya? Aap wahan kya karte ho Amma? (better she doesnt know what I do in office eh?)

RM: errr..work work

After 2 minutes

R: Aapko hamesha big hoke office mein jane ko tha?

RM: No dear, I wanted to be a paleontologist and then a journalist..

R: hmmmmm acha

after 2 seconds

R: Amma, yeh Palen kya hota hai?

RM: Palen…?

R: Arey woh aapko jo ban na tha na..palen

RM: oh paleontologist…that person studies the dinosaurs and stuff

R: but dinosaurs are dead na?

RM: yes, but we study the fossils, their bones, their imprints on rocks and stuff..

R: Toh woh kaise karte hain

RM: Well, you find out their locations, read about them, study about them, and then go to sites, dig again, get the samples, and then finally know whether that area had a dinosaur or not

I doubt she understood too much but she nodded her head very knowingly.

After she finished her dabba of khakhara she says ‘Amma, I have decided’

By this time, I have lost the track of the conversation after mentally telling myself to write to Shruti and tell her that R doesnt know what she wants to be!

RM: What decided?

R: That I am going to be a dinosaur teacher?

RM: WHAT???

R: Woh dinosaur hai na, I am going to be dinosaur teacher. I will tell people where to go and dig for dinosaur…like how Barodu thatha teaches in college, I will do teaching of dinosaur…

RM: Whatever!!!

So there Shruti, the brat as of now, September 2013 at the ripe age of 5, wants to be a dinosaur teacher 🙂

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to The One in Which We Want To Be Dinosaur Teachers!!!

  1. Smita says:

    Awwwww!!! The innocence of children….I remember I always wanted to be a teacher (like everyone else) as a kid. But thankfully I never chased that dream nahin to right now I u wud see 100s of students chasing me ;P

    BTW Right now even my brat is asking a lot of questions about dinos!!!

  2. My dear R ki Amma.. It is not ‘dinosaur teacher’ that R wants to become. She is meaning to become a Professor of Paleontology! Hmph! And you are laughing at her for choosing such an intellectual profession. Hmph. 😀 😀

  3. chaitali says:

    LOL, such a innocence.. loved it

  4. Shweta says:

    LOL…R’s so cute!!! 🙂

  5. Sapna says:

    Finally she found her calling 🙂

  6. ashreyamom says:

    awww.. so cute.. at age of 5 i have seen most of kids telling they want to become teacher.. but Dinosaur teacher is very sweet.. just coincidence tat me and bunty watched Jurassic park yesterday, from then she is pretending to be a dinosaur and make all weird noises trying to scare me.. :).

  7. Aakanksha says:

    Cute R..!! atleast she knows what she wants to be..
    I guess, I was not aware of this things when I was of her age.

  8. Ashwathy says:

    A paleonto-teacher, if you may! 🙂 Keep this post safely. One year down the line I am sure you will be writing about something else 😀

  9. You wanted to be a paleontologist? Wow, I am sure this never crossed my mind as a kid!
    LOL at dinosaur teacher 😀

  10. Swarna says:

    Wow, How fast she decided 🙂 Wish we could . your conversations with R are always sweet. Brings a smile on , what ever the situation may be. Keep writing.

  11. Pepper says:

    Lol! I’ve been hearing so much about dinosaurs from kids in her age group. Almost every blogger makes a mention of the dinosaur fascination. Wonder if it is part of the popular culture now ..

    And waise, journalists also go to office!

  12. haha!!! 🙂 I knew this contest will be fun.. Give R a tight little squeeze from my side 🙂
    LOL.

  13. Amit says:

    For a second I thought that she will make all the dinosaurs sit on benches and teach them ABC. 🙂
    That will be a sight.

  14. Scribby says:

    this muwaaaah girl wants to be dino teacher 🙂 R you’ve got a really brainy and creative kid there… I’m telling you 🙂 look at the way she put logic in everything and joins the dots… amazing!

Leave a comment