Of Being A Proud Mother

I am very reluctant to praise my kids. Not that they are not praise worthy, but somehow, I think I would rather have them know that I am proud of them, than let the world know that I am proud of them. So we have instances like me telling R that ‘Hey you did a great job girl, I am proud’ instead of me telling a friend ‘Hey, my daughter is really good at reading, etc’

It may seem a bit weird, but hey that is the way I am. However, today I will make an exception. Today, I want to announce publicly that I am very very proud of being R’s mother.

Folks who know me well, will also know how I used to visit a Ganpati temple every day near my BEST bus stop, when I was pregnant with R. and I would pray for a child who is healthy and has hair which is as lovely as her dad’s. Seriously. My mom still laughs at me. “RM, you pray for a kid with lovely hair, ahhahahah”. Well what does she know? It is such a pain to have curly hair, hmpf!

Anyways, when R’s hair turned out to be exactly like RD’s – soft, silky, jet black, I was so so thankful… When R2 was born, we insisted R to cut off her hair, because I was finding it difficult to manage her hair and R2 and stuff.

Then we came to Tasmania, and for an year and a half, we did not cut her hair. Which made this like this!

IMG_3442

The picture does not do justice to it really. IT was long, straight, silky and absolutely gorgeous looking!

Then our friend L came over for tea to our house one day, and we started talking about cancer patients and how some kids lose their hair due to the chemo sessions and they need good hair for wigs, etc etc. R was not really a part of the conversation, but she has this habit of eavesdropping once a while (hmpf!)

I am not sure what triggered this really, but she started asking to cut her hair. I was not ready to let her do it, especially since it was growing so well. RD put his foot down and said ‘no cutting hair’ She let it at that, but she started once again, a few weeks ago. About how, I never let her keep her hair open (who has to fight the tangles, eh?) and how she finds her long hair a pain during the swimming session (what rubbish!) and all that.

We had a long conversation and I warned her at least 10 times (no Amma, you wanted me at least a MILLION times, she says) that the hair cutting was HER decision and I will not accept any crying after that. She came back from school one day, and said let’s go.

Now, I firmly believe, that at the age of 8.5 years, a child’s view should be respected, as long as it is not something devastatingly wrong. If a child needs to be independent, letting them take some decisions is a first good step to it. And this girl wanted to cut her hair. Nothing wrong with it. When I weighed the pros and cons, I realised that

  1. Hair grows
  2. She is so young that it will grow back anyways
  3. Cutting her hair means no more morning fights of you-dont-know any hairstyles and stuff
  4. She gets to sleep 10 minutes extra

All in all, it was a win win situation. So I agreed. She called up RD and told him. RD was like NO NO NO! I told RD to chill and let her take her decision.

So we went to the salon and asked that lady to cut her hair. R had already asked me to speak to the lady on whether her hair was good enough to be donated and if she could do the cutting the right way. I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised! I asked her ‘is that why you want to cut your hair? To donate it?’ She pretended it wasn’t and it was just tired of having long hair. I was so proud secretly!

Anyways, so the lady agreed to cut it the right way so that it could be sent for donation and she also gave us the right place where we could post the hair. Midst all this, RD left office early and met me at the salon in hope to dissuade his daughter from chopping off her hair ehehehehhee! But he came too late. Of course, he was so so proud that she wanted to donate it, that he went from NO NO NO to I am so proud of you girl!

So she ended up with this!

IMG_3493

And RD was kind enough to post her hair. And two days ago, this arrived by mail!

IMG_3492

I must admit, there are times when I feel like spanking the girl, but then there are times like this, which make me realise that she is turning out to be a generous soul!

So proud to be her mom πŸ™‚

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Of Being A Proud Mother

  1. UmaS says:

    Big hugsssss R1…such an awesome thing to do (y)
    Bless you girl…may your soul beat for others always…shows some great brought up there!
    Love to you mommy for such good job there with the girls ❀

  2. Shailaja V says:

    Lump in my throat as I read this. You have every right to be proud of her. Hope this inspires more kids to do the same πŸ™‚ ❀

  3. Comfy says:

    She is such an gift. How can you even think about spanking her???!!!! So very proud of the big girl that is R! That she thinks so deep and cares so much, is something that you should be proud of RM. After all it is your values and your teachings that are grooming her to be this wonderful, thoughtful and kind hearted girl. For her big heart, huge hugs to R!!!

    • R's Mom says:

      Comffyyyyy..thank youuuuuu πŸ™‚ Errr..she is a typical 8 going on to 18 kid, driving me crazy all the time..but she sure has her heart in the right place πŸ™‚

  4. aarti says:

    Wow, kids do the darndest things and leave us speechless.. proud of you R <#

  5. Garima says:

    R thats awesome dear…hats off to u..proud moment indeed

  6. Laksh says:

    She does have lovely hair and yes so proud of your daughter. Love this age when they are discovering themselves and being all things naive and pure.

  7. Smita says:

    She is a good girl with her heart at right place and you have all the rights to be proud of her πŸ™‚

  8. sigdijan says:

    Hugs and blessings to your daughter!!! Somehow, this post gave me wet eyes….

  9. Maya says:

    Awwwww RM.. One big tight hug for this sweetie pie girl! So so proud of her! πŸ™‚

  10. Aww…we are all proud of her and the crazy mom too. Way to go you beautiful little soul.

  11. OMG! RM, I have goose bumps and tears in my eyes. Tell her that its a wonderful, great,awesome thing she did and we are all soooper doooper proud of her! And I pray that the sensitivity continues as she grows older.

  12. Dee says:

    Such a wonderful daughter you have R! We learn so much from our kids everyday. The other day I was mad at my SIL and went on and on about her, my 12 year old came over, stroked my back and said, “Maa, pls get rid of these negative thoughts and move on, this is not helping you”.

    On another occasion, a few of my aunts were commenting about a girl’s dark complexion and how that girl would not make a suitable match to another aunty’s US returned son. My then 10 year old goes up there and takes them on, she was like ” what makes you think that fair complexion is everything? How can you decide on the character and personality of a girl based on her complexion?”. These aunties were dumb founded. I feel very lucky to have her in my life. Now she wants to work on finding solutions to problems faced by girls in third world countries. Where did she get this wisdom? I wonder sometimes..

  13. seema3Seema says:

    Awwwww, what a generous thing to do..Super Duper proud of her, pls pass on my message and let her know that her hairstyle now is simply super too πŸ™‚ —Seema

  14. P says:

    Its ‘anyway’ and not anyways!!!! **eyes roll
    And then you say you get trolled! obsession!

    • R's Mom says:

      Dear P whose email id is friendindisguise@yahoo.com

      Thank you very much for telling me that my English is wrong…And I have never told anyone that I am getting trolled..because honestly you are the first troll I have seen..or wait..are you the same as the one who commented about my writing style earlier? It actually does not matter.

      Just to let you know

      1. This is a personal blog and you don’t really have to read it and get perturbed about my English. Seriously there are some amazingly superb English blogs which you should read and you wont have to waste your time correcting their English. Please go ahead and read them and let my horribly written blog be left here!
      2. I am an Indian so my English is much influenced by the local ways of talking and writing..which means ‘anyways’ is how I would write what I want to write
      3. I thank you for teaching me the right way of writing anyways..from now on, its anyway!

      Much regards
      RM

  15. anisnest says:

    Awwww… why oh why RM you make me cry back to back with your posts? or rather why oh why I decide to bulk read your posts today? I just now wiped off the tears from the dance post and now this.. muaahhhhh to R darling.. give her a big hug from me okay? whatapp me the hug picture.. I demand it πŸ™‚

  16. Sahil says:

    Hi, Really you posted such good article, Thanks a lot for sharing.

Leave a Reply

