Of Living My Life As Read In Books

As a kid, one of my favorite author was Enid Blyton…actually I am lying, even now, one of my favorite authors IS Enid Blyton..yes, as I grow older, I have issues with the way females were portrayed in her books and all..but I still love reading her…I love Famous Five and Secret Seven and the Malory Towers and St.Clares and Naughtiest Girls and all that…One of the things I always read about, in her books was camping..and for me, that became a dream come true yesterday..I ACTUALLY lived like how I have read in books πŸ™‚

Our friends were camping at a place near us and asked us if we wanted to join in..they have a camper van and hence had a spare tent which they said they would lend us and teach us how to put up and all..

So RD and I agreed…

We met them at about 3 PM on Saturday, after a hectic morning of going to an Indian couple’s grahpravesh and followed by an Indian lunch. We had packed up air matresses, bed sheets, food (by the ton), water , a torch..(Which RD felt was not needed because our phones have lights, but hey its CAMPING..needs to be authentic eh?) and all that…

We reached there at 3 PM and our friends had set up their camper van…the kids and RD went to the pool with my friend G, which her husband and I set up the tent. Well, he did 80% of the setting up, I was just helping him…but it was so much fun..we talked physics and mathematics and weather and bush walking and what not..we had so much fun! He taught me how to set up the tent, step by step..put in the pegs and then secure the tent and this tent was a TWO ROOM TENT! I kid not..but it all came out of one single bag as big as R2 hehehehehe πŸ™‚ Β I must admit, the setting up was one of the best parts of the camping trip for me..

Then we joined the kids and the spouses at the pool and the kids and the fathers had fun splashing around the water..

This was followed by the most amazing dinner of home made pasta (yes yes they had home made pasta, not just the pasta sauce) and pasta sauce, with the leftover pav bhaji which I had taken, eaten as masala pav…We ate chocolates, and chips and khakharas…oh it was a fun filled dinner with conversation about everything under the sun, with the kids dipping this and eating that!

RD and our friend S started with a game of cricket, with R supporting S and their son supporting RD..we did get a bit too loud and got told off by an old uncle (who later apologised to us in the night!) I bowled a couple of bowls and got S out (S by the way is a sports teacher at school and is good at ALL SPORTS!) so getting his out was like the yay! moment for me πŸ™‚

We then lazed around the swings for the kids, and went for a walk in the camp site (Which was cut short for me, with R2 deciding to do potty in her diapers!) and then went to play a game of 8 ball at the pool table, which I did not even understand..I was just randomly hitting balls while RD and S and G were trying to teach me rules..hehehehe πŸ™‚

We tried putting the kids to sleep and while their son slept in like 10 minutes, R and R2 just could not get used to the ‘loud’ sounds of the birds….I was laughing so loudly when R told me ‘Amma, these birds are so noisy..how do they expect to sleep’. But sleep in a sleeping bag, nice and cozy as the weather got cold, is one of the best experiences ever!

After about one hour of trying, they finally slept..and the four of us spend a couple of hours under the stars, eating almond biscuits (which my friend had made at home, yummmm) and talking about everything under the sun..yaa yaa πŸ™‚

We slept through the night and got up to go for a walk to eat amazing breakfast at the village nearby…

G and I dismantled the tent along with the kids, while S and RD went for a run πŸ™‚ We got the camper van dismantled as well and then went to pick strawberries on the way home..

All in all, a wonderful day which I will remember for a long time to come..and once we get some money, RD and I have agreed (yes yes..one of those rare things which we both agreed!!) that we are going to invest in a tent and spend time camping…

Few things :

  1. With a young kid, it is a challenge with diapers and new place to sleep and all, but the more we go, we hope R2 gets used to it..
  2. After your kid is completely toilet trained and used to making new friends, like how R is at this age, (may be after the age of 5 is great), camping is a great way to relax and let the kids bond with nature
  3. If you are not fussy about using public facilities and are okay eating any kind of food, camping is definitely for you
  4. Like us, you can start one night at a time, and then go for a couple of nights, if you are comfortable doing it
  5. Sleeping in a tent is an experience of its own, and while it was fun in the sleeping bag, the hard ground did take me time to get used to πŸ™‚

Go for it and it will be fun πŸ™‚

img_3321

The tent beneath the trees

img_3322

Our friend’s camper van and our tent and you can also see R’s cycle πŸ™‚

img_3325

The pretty sights by the evening

img_3329

The old quaint village where we had breakfast

img_3330

Running towards the breakfast place!

img_3332

Pretty flowers by the campsite

img_3337

Fresh strawberries which we plucked πŸ™‚

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Of Living My Life As Read In Books

  1. shaktii says:

    Nice that you had fun with camping
    Two things that bother me when we live abroad is no house help which we are used from babyhood in India and next is some day if you are dead tired from work and no single arms an to prepare chai for you after a long day

  2. shaktii says:

    I meant to say atma not arms πŸ™‚

  3. I wanted to write for yesterday’s post itself-enjoy the Enid Blyton camping β˜ΊπŸ‘Œ
    I like clean toilet and clean bed…and i am ready to go camping πŸ˜‰

  4. Seema says:

    ‘Living the dream’ – is the statement for the life we are leading here. Hugs RM. Such a happy post this is. When we come to Tas, we’ll go camping together okie?

  5. I refused to camp for a long time since I thought I NEED shower and bed and such luxuries. But I did it for the first time in Utah at a national park, and I am a convert. My grad school friends and I meet up quite often now for camping weekends on a beach in Malibu. I love how families abroad are so connected with nature and so enthusiastic about being outdoors on weekends. My dad was also mighty impressed by that when he visited.

  6. pixie says:

    so nice RM! πŸ˜€
    So glad you had fun..:) πŸ™‚

  7. anisnest says:

    isn’t this an awesome experience? I have done camping once and absolutely loved it..

  8. Boomerang says:

    Hey, can I borrow your friends family? Home made pasta, biscuits, tents, camps and a sports teacher!!

  9. Jo says:

    I also wanted to go camping for the longest time. And yes.. finally it is gonna happen in another month. Counting days now πŸ˜€ This post just pumped up my excitement πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

