On that 52nd Rejection…

Has been lying in my drafts for ages…Had a talk with Maya and I thought of just publishing it during the Blogathon 2017

 

..Coming to Tasmania has taught me one thing…I have learnt to take rejections in my stride…

For someone who was always a ranker, good in sports, a decent dancer and who did well in interviews, it came as a shocker when I got my first few rejection letters here when I applied for jobs.

Since the industry I worked for does not really exist here, I started applying for different roles. Anything to be honest. Every other day I would get a rejection letter. Whether it came by post or by email, it hurt. Same tone, different ย words conveying the same meaning.

We are sorry to inform you that…

We went through your resume, but we…

In short, I became an expert in receivingย rejection letters. Everytime a rejection would come, my mood would plummet. I felt I was a failure. As if I did not have the capability to even get selected for an interview. Trust me, it hurts.No matter what people tell you about ‘Oh something better is in store’ or ‘its just a job, dont worry, you will get something soon’

Eventually, I started to apply just for the sake of it. I was like ‘Big deal, what is wrong in applying..maximum just another rejection, eh?’

I have cried to my mother, to my MIL, shouted at RD, fought with him when he tried to reason with me, had R tell me about how having a job is not everything in life and all that, but somehow, I find it tough to believe that I have survived an year without a job…I find it difficult to believe that I have spent an year, without a 9 to 5 job…I have done some freelance work, written for a few publications, done some research work for a research company, created content for some folks and kept myself busy, to be honest…but somehow, I miss a 9 to 5 job…

I have had some wonderful blogger friends (you know who all are!) who have been such an amazing support system to me. I don’t think I could have remained so positive without their constant chats with me and I thank God everyday, that I started blogging and made such awesome friends…

Guess,ย I am a creature of habit..and I have realised that working freelance does not really work for me…I like routine. I like having a monthly paycheck. And I like having my evenings free, without worrying about how much work I need to do after my girls go to sleep!

This year, I have decided to have a positive approach to life. I have decided that perhaps, if I want to continue living in this wonderful place ( I genuinely love it here) I have to look at changing careers. I am looking at options to study, some short courses, which will provide me the initial platform to get my first job..

RD has been very supportive and has told me to take it easy. Its just that, I am so much used to working that I find it very tough to sit at home. The fact that I have managed to get some online work does make me happy, but I am not satisfied.

I am putting this down on this blog, just to remind myself, everytime I get a rejection letter, that it is not the end of the world. It is just another door shutting for a new door to open.

Sigh! Sometimes, I wish life was easier…

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to On that 52nd Rejection…

  1. The Bride says:

    I know the feeling. It is really hard being the ‘trailing spouse’ so to speak. I was lucky to get a job quickly but I also went through a phase of applying non-stop when trying to change jobs and no matter what people say, rejection is always hard because when you put yourself out there, it’s hard not to feel a glimmer of hope even though you tell yourself not to expect anything. The retraining idea sounds good. I totally sympathise with wanting a 9 to 5 gig.

  2. summerscript says:

    Wishing you all the best RM !

  3. Greenboochi says:

    Big hugs, RM. I think I am a creature of habit too. At times I wish I could take a break but then I know I will go mad sitting at home. And I can so understand how it feels to get rejection letters. So big hugs to you. I love your positive approach and wish you only the best ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Shashi says:

    Sounds like it was a tough year for you career-wise..hope this year brings you new opportunities and new beginnings…good luck ๐Ÿ™‚
    (Appreciate your courage in putting this out.)

  5. Prachee says:

    All d best for the course RM. You are a brave girl for taking the decision and moving along. I have experienced this phase too and backed out at the last moment for the fear of getting crazy sitting at home. Long way to go..wishing you all the good luck ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. anisnest says:

    Hugs RM.. you have all the support and there is no pressure so take it easy. You have many other reasons to stay happy. Focus on them and take baby steps with job. Hugs re..

  7. Maya says:

    Hugs, RM. All the best with whatever you do!

  8. Hey RM! You have done so much already. Maybe not just a 9-5 and for us, who are used to this 9-5 and being on our toes all day long, it might not feel much, yet! If you do get freelance and can work from home, that would probably work best?

    You wrote about the PR – so with that and the new year good luck. I am sure you will get it ๐Ÿ™‚ and soon

  9. raji says:

    You can do anything that you set your mind too. Go for it RM….

  10. Dee says:

    This seems like my story 17 years ago when I came as a new bride to US. I had always held a 9 to 5 (more like 9 to 9) job, first few months were great, but, after 6 months, I got so bored and depressed. No friends, no family close by, this took it’s toll on me. Husband always told me to go to school, I did not listen. Then finally met a fraudulent indian couple who were also my neighbors. They hired me to to work for that guy’s sister’s company based out of california. They said they would pay me once I get my work permit (H-1 visa). I worked for them, put in 12 hours without pay for 6 long months, finally when my H1 came, they laid me off. No pay nothing. I realized in my quest to land a job, I had lost out on a lot. We had cancelled so many vacations, I was unable to spend lot of time with my husband, this had led to fights. Those 6 months were the most depressing period. Later, I decided that I will go to school. Thanfully, I got a very good score in GMAT, I also had very good grades throughout my school and college. Landed an MS seat in a good business school and finished my MS in 18 months and landed a gig at a good consulting firm. Since then, I haven’t looked back. I am sharing my story with you to let you know that anything is possible if you try for it. You seem like a go-getter and very smart and intelligent and passionate about anything that you do. I am sure you will land a great gig soon. Sending you best wishes all the way from USA :).

    • R's Mom says:

      I LOVE YOU!!! Thank you thank you and thank you so much for writing this comment..this just made my resolve to join a course and learn something new much stronger..really thank you!

  11. Rejection letter suck. Before I got my first job here after being registered as a psychologist, I got 32 rejections before I even got my first interview. Didn’t get that one but then got a second interview for a part-time psych position and since then, haven’t looked back. It is tough and it sucks! But yeah, studying even a short course through TAFE might be a good option. Good luck RM and please know that I’m just a phone call away if you ever need to talk!

Leave a Reply

