Of Having Faith

Its October…Its Navratri..but more importantly its the start of summer in the Southern Hemisphere..for a person like me who loves the sun, this means I get up feeling happier, I am not cranky by the time its 4 PM because the sun is still out and I look at life’s sunny side most times:)

(I am trying hard to ignore the fact that its been raining non stop for 4 days now!!)

So daylight savings started yesterday in Australia..which means I lost one hour of my life! Honestly I will never understand the concept of daylight savings..but hey, like I said, I am not complaining πŸ™‚

So RD took a couple of days off from work since R’s school was closed for term break. But the rains ensured we could not go where we wanted to go..but RD being RD came up with loads of place we COULD go so that R enjoyed her break πŸ™‚

Anyways, so yesterday we went to this place called Hastings Cave. Its one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen in my life. RD clicked a lot of pictures but I still gaped around the cave listening to the guide, stunned by how nature can create such miracles and cursing myself for not continuing that geology course. It is so beautiful that it almost hurts to see those wonderful formations.

Anyways, this post is not about the caves. 

So we were driving along the most scenic sights when we saw a sign which said ‘Apples’. Both RD and I love to buy local produce and when we saw the sign, RD was like lets buy it. 

We stopped the car and he jumped out with his wallet. It was a small shed outside someone’s house. So RD goes and stands outside the shed while all of us in the car are eying those apples greedily. And then he goes ‘ahem ahem’. No one around. He checks at the back of the shed. Still no one. He looks at me and shrugs trying to cough loudly. No one yet. He again looks at me and I am like ‘darn we cant have those brilliant looking apples’

Then he turns around towards the side and his eyes light up! 

He sees this! 

That’s it! No one to mind, no one to check! RD and I were astonished and surprised that the fact that people have so much faith in others.

It just taught me a lesson that having faith in mankind is so important. May be I have grown cynical with age. But yesterday I learnt my lesson. I learnt that when you have faith in people, you just spread that faith. Trust and faith is what makes this world go around. For every unpleasant person in this world, there are people like this apple seller who make it a better place to live in!

Thank you, That Apple Seller, who ever you are! You restored my faith in mankind for sure πŸ™‚

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Of Having Faith

  1. That sounds and looks so good – faith in human kind restored, indeed. πŸ™‚
    But then, I have heard of similar things abroad – they do work there, not sure if it would work in India, but then, it might work too. Sorry to sound all cynical all over again!

  2. Smita says:

    We have such stores in our office as well…read this

    http://books-life-n-more.blogspot.in/2016/07/the-trust-shop.html

    Such things makes us believe in the belief of people πŸ™‚

  3. MR says:

    We have a vet univ close by that raises chickens and sells eggs, int he same honor system. no one mans it. i hear them say at the end of the day they usually have 15-20$ more πŸ™‚ than the calculated amount. … mankind is indeed kind

  4. RM, this is such a beautiful post πŸ™‚ I love that apple-person too, such reminders are needed time to time πŸ™‚

  5. Trish says:

    OMG! OMG! OMG! I started reading the post and realised you are in Australia!!! WHEREE??? I AM sooo excited!!

  6. Greenboochi says:

    Not easy to find such people πŸ™‚

  7. Sangitha says:

    Saw a lot of these in Sikkim – fresh veggies, small stores, prices written on a blackboard and a collection box nearby. Seems to work – people are making money, their perishable products are being used and these small farmers with no extra manpower to (wo)man the shops are saved the effort. And the ID trust shops starting up in Bangalore and other cities – there’s hope and faith to be had in people, alright!

    Those apples look awesome!

  8. anisnest says:

    And thank you for sharing it here and restoring the faith in all your readers..

Leave a Reply

