The Sound of Silence

One of the things I am still getting used to about Tas is the silence. And its not silent silence, its this ABSOLUTELY SILENT SILENCE where you can even hear the typing of the fingers even if the phone’s keypad sound is off. Do you get what I mean?

Its so silent that I can hear the next door neighbour’s oven going ‘ting’ after they finish baking whatever wonderously fantastic cake or cupcake they have been baking (the aroma is intoxicating!)

When we first moved here, we had got accomodation in a service apartment. And do you know Tasmania has no ceiling fans!!!! (not that you need them, its freezing here) But for an Indian, who is used to putting the fan on 5 even in peak winter and going underneath 2 blankets in the non winter Bombay to avoid feeling cold, it is sheer torture. How does one sleep really? The ceiling fan is my lullaby! It reminds me of the warmth which I felt in my mother’s womb and the safety I felt in my father’s arms…errr you get the drift, eh?

So imagine no ceiling fan!!!! The girls and I just could not fall asleep in the first few days. There was no noise to make us sleep, you see. RD contributed the lack of sleep to jet lag, but we know the truth, eh?

Then we shifted to this rented house. Its an old house built in the 1950s with wooden flooring and wooden ceilings. So you can imagine how it feels. Since the R family knows only how to stomp and walk (all four of us are elephant sized!) you can well imagine the amount of sound we generate! Plus we are loud when we talk. I am hoping that these houses are sound proof or else the neighbours in the third house on the left will know that R keeps forgetting to wash her milk glass in the morning or that R2 throws all the spoons and forks out of the topmost drawer by climbing on a chair, every morning!!

And its so silent when we go to sleep. Do you know old wooden houses often creak? How do you think people come up with ghost stories? They just come to Tas and live in old houses for inspiration. Trust me, the first one week, RD and I always woke up with a start hearing some creak here or there, though both would pretend not to be petrified, until one day, I confessed to RD that the sounds scared me and he admitted they unnerved him too šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚

And then there are mice which run underneath the wooden floorings and birds up the roof..On cold winter afternoons when R2 and I are alone at home, we can hear all sorts of creaking, squeaking sounds šŸ™‚ R2 is not really bothered šŸ™‚

And the mornings…when I get up early to have a bath and cook, I can hear the occasional car on the main road which is half a kilometre away..I can hear the roosters from 5 houses away and I can hear the cat next door, slowly move over our fence in search for food..I can hear the water boiling in the kettle and our old fridge’s compressor resetting itself, giving me assurance that it is always going to be there with me šŸ™‚

Its so silent that I can hear RD turn in the bed and the girls whispering to each other as they wake each other up. 

Its very silent here. Throughout the day, there are barely 10 people and 3 cars which pass our house. Sometimes the silence scares me, sometimes the silence makes me feel lonely, but most times I can hear the silence speak volumes to me and take me to a happy place! 

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Sound of Silence

  1. Oh man. That’s why I must have my table fan running even if it’s the middle of winter. I will make it face away and take fat comforters. But I need the hum and the circulation wala feeling. Plus the window has to be open a crack for oxygen wala feeling. Ceiling fans are mostly in dining room only in US apartments. Get a table fan or tower fan from a Walmart or something.

  2. shaktii says:

    yeah i can understand your point….and from the person from mumbai he he
    yes it is like that abroad for what we experienced in india…for me its chennai traffic all the time i can relate to what you say…
    btw do you remember me??
    i still remember your caring words for me in your email reply long back about my query on caring for my baby…keep in touch…

    • R's Mom says:

      Awww hugs hugs re…hope the little one is fine šŸ™‚

      LOL on the Chennai traffic šŸ™‚

      • shaktii says:

        Nice to hear from you dear…my daughter is fine…now iam in dilemma about no 2..whether to go or not?? As you have been there done that…how is it?? actually me n hubby dont want but she is asking all the time so guilty a lot…:( šŸ˜¦

        • R's Mom says:

          Nah! Never have another kid because someone else (even if its your own daughter) tells you to have one! Thats my two bit..have another one only if YOU and your spouse want it..because trust me..kids are a lot of hard work..hugs hugs hugs to you

          • shaktii says:

            oh really…first time iam ever hearing this from a mom of two šŸ™‚ seriously dear…all other advises were otherwise…sorry im not comparing but its a initial thought that came to me….i know its hard work but i want to know whether it solves the purpose of giving a sibling to my daughter…bcos sometimes i see other siblings plays with their own age group and not so mingle with their own siblings..is it only outside or even at home they are in their own world of work…if they appreciate and adore having a sibling all the time..i am up for the challenge i would say…like in a situation of real need what would they want as a elder sister?? will they help us in sharing as a babysitter at times?? sry for too many q’s

            • R's Mom says:

              Ah well! I am of the firm opinion that have kids for yourself..I know many siblings who arent close at all! In my case the girls have a huge age gap so dont know how close they will be to each other šŸ™‚ At home they do play with each other šŸ™‚ about helping..well R does help when we really need help with R2..but it is not all the time šŸ™‚

  3. sanchthewriter says:

    The silence is interesting. I live slightly close to a main road so it’s not really very silent here. However, when I go camping or hiking or weekends away, I love the sound of silence. I’m moving up to the Central Coast in October and I gather it’s going to be quieter there so it’ll be interesting to see how I adjust after Sydney.

Leave a Reply

