And We Saw Snow For The First Time

It was Sunday morning. The weather has been totally in love with Elsa. Her magic has spread all over Tasmania, I think. We witnessed snow in our backyard..well not snow really but more of raindrops which had thickened enough to fall as fake snow. R and I tried to catch the fake snow drops on our tongues. We both pretended that we caught it but I doubt she did and I am sure I didnt πŸ™‚

Then Sunday morning, just as I sit cribbing about how cold it is and we should get the fire going, RD says lets go see the snow! What, what, what, I say. Are you mad? Its so darn cold there. I will freeze. I go on and on but he has bundled up the girls, got me my 7th layer to wear and is already pushing us into the car.

Amma, quips the elder one, stop cribbing and start enjoying. I shut my mouth. 

Off we go up the hill. We see cars coming down with snowmen on their bonnets. I can hardly contain my excitment. I am ready to park the car halfway and walk up. Apparently the whole of Tasmania wants to see the snow too. R says “why is everyone coming to see the snow? They see it every year no?” 

And then there is a jam. RD being RD, the intelligent guy just takes a u turn, parks the car and says lets walk.

So we walked. And met miracle. I could not believe I was seeing snow. Not only seeing it, I was touching it. R was enamoured. R2 looked around her and shrugged her shoulders at our excitment! The grand old lady isnt too impressed eh?

R and I built a lopsided tiny snowman. RD hit me with snowballs. R defended me. We would have played snowball war if R2 didn’t make a fuss everytime we hit RD. She is such a daddy’s girl πŸ˜‰

It was half an hour of sheer joy. I was drenched since RD hit me on the back of my neck with a snowball, cold snow trickling to freezing water, down my back. Surprisingly, I didnt complain. The sheer joy of being in snow just made up for everything. R2 fell and drenched her bum! ( Thank God for diapers)

We had the best time ever! Sometimes, I am glad RD insists we listen to him πŸ™‚

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to And We Saw Snow For The First Time

  1. Bikramjit says:

    Blisssssss. .. I remeber yhe excitement the first year I came to uk and it snowed.. I saw snow falling for the first time in my life…

    Where are the pics…

  2. The Bride says:

    Awww sounds lovely! V has been tantalising the kids with the prospect of snow whenever he wants to get them to do something. One day he’s going to have to deliver, that is, buy plane tickets to a place where there is actual snow. Maybe Tasmania?

  3. Boomerang says:

    Wow, that sounds like real fun!! Enjoy the snow till it lasts!

  4. Your older one is a smart gal. (Amma stop cribbing……….) πŸ˜›
    It really is a magical experience! Took my parents at the closest snow-stormed spot to super sunny San Diego, Mt. Jacinto and witnessed adults being kids again.

  5. sanityvows says:

    Haha I could feel the excitement while reading the post πŸ™‚

  6. Bhavani says:

    The first experience if snow is truly thrilling. We experienced the same when we drove about 3 hrs from where we live to experience and see the snow!!

  7. Smita says:

    πŸ˜€ Sounds so exciting πŸ™‚

  8. Comfy says:

    Oh RM! We are like that every year, year after year. The kids excitement for the first snow of the season is something else. I am so glad, all of you had such a good time. And yay R for helping save you from RD πŸ˜€

  9. freakyveggie says:

    Haha, the last line was a good one πŸ™‚

  10. I can never forget the first time I saw snow. πŸ™‚ Im sure R must’ve had fun – Sam has already been asking again – when is it going to snow and I am hoping not for a looonnng time yet πŸ˜›

    Where are the pictures of the Tasmania mountain top snow? and the lopsided snowman? Those pics are for keeping memories….

  11. Sahasra says:

    I missed your posts, RM. Welcome back!!!

Leave a Reply

