Dear Food Bloggers Of This World

Thank you for being you. And thank you for what you are doing. I personally think it take a lot of effort, dedication and love to come up with recipes and pictures and giving step by step instructions and everything and sharing it on the blog. I, for once, can never ever ever do it! 

But here are few things, I think, you can perhaps do to help hopeless-in-the-kitchen-but-will-experiment-to-show-off folks like me!

1. Please cross check if you have used all the ingredients in the ingredients list in the recipe method. More often than not, I realise I suddenly have not used the slice of lime anywhere in the recipe and scramble about to grab my phone (which would be hidden under the cloth covering the microwave) and by that time my dal would have burnt to bit because I am still trying to find out that stupid piece of lime which was in my hand all the time! You do get the drift eh?

Or that time when I attempt to bake a cake and follow each step listed to the T (thats important while baking,no?) and then realise that my cake looks more like a hapless lump of chapati dough which has been beaten by R2 with the belan! And I realise I did not use that baking powder anywhere in the recipe. 

Or the time I baked a pumpkin cake without the pumpkin. Don’t ask me the details. I am still reeling under the shock of it.

2. Please let us know whether the oven needs to be preheated or the onions need to be finely chopped BEFOREHAND!

Like I said, I always follow instructions to the T ( That I dont get the desired results anytime shall not be dwelled upon!) So you need to tell idiots like me in the first step to preheat that oven before telling me to pop the cake mixture into a preheated oven because my oven has not been preheated in the first cake and is as cold as a block of ice in Antartica!

Or chop that onions finely before hand because my onions are chopped as big as the head of a squirrel with a cold! And then my curry has this strange pieces floating in the gravy which R looks suspiciously and asks ‘When did you start cooking chicken, Amma?’

You do get the drift eh?

3. The Difficulty levels

I am not a big fan of this difficulty level thing really. So I pick up a recipe which has an easy level. As I proceed step by step I realise it says fold the egg whites (I dont even know what that means and who can separate the eggs whites from the yolk really!!!) into the flour taking care that the sugar gets added bit by bit,while stirring the mixture in a gentle clockwise direction. By the time I finish the entire procedure I have concluded that I need five hands and three legs to even attempt that ‘easy’ recipe!

4. The Masterchef pictures

All I have to say is I AM JEALOUS!

No matter what I try I can’t get the food to look as wonderful as yours. 
Thank you again for putting up recipes on the blog. I can’t thank you enough really.

Much admiration

RM

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Dear Food Bloggers Of This World

  1. Sumana Gv says:

    Hey RM u r back, glad to see ur posts. I swear on the same with the food blogs, though I love those dishes. Anyways read a few posts of urs need to comment, will just say hi for now.

  2. I’m turning into a sort-of food blogger, so I can relate very well to this post. Would like to know if you faced any problems with any of the recipes on my blog, assuming of course that you found them good enough to try out. πŸ™‚

  3. Don’t worry about the pictures please. Many food bloggers, read most, use high-end cameras for photography and fancy plating to make the pictures more appealing. I don’t think real, actual food served in homes ever looks like that! Most of it is just getting the camera settings, the lighting and the angle of the photograph right!

  4. Rachna says:

    haha Will remember those points when I put up my next recipe.

  5. Smita says:

    Dear Food Blog follower

    1- Read the full recipe pehle and then start chopping or baking….step by step following does not mean read also step by step πŸ˜‰
    2- Google “Cooking Blogs for Beginners” might help iron the issues you have raised πŸ˜›

    All in good fun πŸ˜›

  6. Boomerang says:

    That’s something I can relate to so well..

  7. My Era says:

    Though I do post recipes once in a blue moon but I have noted all of the points you made in the years of my searching recipes on the Internet. I have to agree most of missing out the ingredients, that happens many times and even in established food blogs too.
    Though, I have to say, I agree with Smita’s comment 100% too πŸ™‚
    Happy cooking RM πŸ˜€

  8. Greenboochi says:

    RM.. I have been food blogging for a while and I guess I can relate to this as well. At times when I am referring to some recipes, I have found some missing ingredients or sudden call out for ingredients in the steps. I make sure twice to check if I have got all the ingredients and are used in the steps but then mistakes do happen, especially ‘cos cooking and writing a recipe are not one and the same.

    For sometime now, I have been thinking if I should include a set of pre-requisite steps. But then, how much detail is sufficient detail? Few people get irritated seeing the long number of steps while some want much detailed steps. So, there is no satisfying everyone. I usually read through all the ingredients & steps (even for my recipes) before cooking.

    The difficulty level again is very relative. Something simple for me could be difficult for a beginner. When I decide on the difficulty level, I try to put myself in the shoes of the blog follower but at times it could differ from person to person πŸ™‚

    I am still trying my best to come up with better food pictures, mostly because I am passionate about it. At the end of the day, good food and taste is all it matters πŸ™‚

    I dont know if you found any of these issues in my blog, but if you do, let me know πŸ™‚

    • R's Mom says:

      hahahah! I love you GB πŸ™‚ I guess like Smita says I need to read through the recipe properly instead of just skimming through it πŸ™‚

  9. That’s why I prefer pic to pic tutorials or videos. My thick skull needs baby steps. Reading everything just confuses me. I find vegrecipesofindia very convenient. Lately I am spending a lot of time on these FB pages called Tasty and Tastemade and 12 tomatoes. Even this home decor page called Nifty. Quick tutorials. Have to sift through for veg though.

  10. I hear ya! Which is why I do not follow recipes from all these famous chefs – just read them once, and then do it my way – ofcourse, all the ingredients I will try to use…
    As for the onion – I hate cutting onions, so avoid those recipes πŸ˜›

  11. This is fantastic for so many reasons! One of my greatest fears as a new food blogger is that I’ll miss a step, or forget an ingredient, or be unclear somehow and frustrate my readers. These are actually super helpful things for me too keep in mind. When I have time, I actually try my recipes by following my own instructions “to the T” but since I wrote them, there’s always room to deviate and not even realize it. Thanks for sharing!!

    Also, the pumpkin anecdote is killing me. πŸ˜‰

    RM

Leave a Reply

