8 Things About Australia I Am Still Getting Used To…

1. The scenic beauty

I must confess, I really can’t get enough of this place’s beauty. I couldn’t thank God more for giving us these years in Tasmania. Everything..I mean it..everything is so gorgeous! Even my backyard and frontyard πŸ™‚

Whether its the quaint houses, the picket fences, the roads, the trees, the mountains, the valleys, the plants, the water, the flowers…I could go on and on! I just can’t put it in words on how pretty this place is!

Everywhere we go, I keep turning my head so fast to keep checking the prettiness that I am surprised I havent developed a neck sprain till date! 

The walk to R’s school takes us through a waterfront, with the mountain casting a beautiful background! And R’s school is this sprawling big campus! Its so wow!

2. The Library

The LINC of Tasmania is easily the first place I am ready to live in. Its unbelievable how they have such amazing libraries. And its free. yes FREE! You can pick up to 15 books in one go! Its so astonishing! The first time I went in there to register myself, they said I could even register both the girls and each of us is entitled to 15 books each at one go. It was I had landed in heaven. Apart from that, they have sessions (Free) for kids every week and special craft activities for kids during school vacations. All you have to do is pre register your kids.

Their collection of the kids story books is so so amazing…R2 has a ball of a time there throwing all the books down there.And no one tells her anything! 

3. The Up And Down Roads

I will never get used to the roads of this place. They go up and down and up and down all the time πŸ™‚ Driving here is like going to Pavagadh everyday or something πŸ™‚

4. The Road Rules

And the fact that everyone follows them! There is a book of the road rules I am studying. Having driven in Bombay and Baroda, I drive like a typical well…you know what I mean eh? So for me to follow road rules is very difficult πŸ™‚ I am still learning.

When I was talking to someone in R’s school  about being  scared to drive in Tasmania..she asked me twice, Where are you from? I looked at her and said India. She look at me and laughed so loudly so loudly that everyone started looking at us. What is funny? I asked. She was like you drive in India and you are scared to drive here! I admit its the road rules that scare me πŸ™‚

5. The low volumes of the people

I think I am personally very loud. Plus when you live in a country of 1.25 billion people, you just tend to speak loud to make yourself heard.

When we shifted here and I took R2 to the rock and rhyme session in the library where they sang rhymes for kids ( from birth to class 2) or something..it just astonished me that the mums AND the kids sang in such low volumes. I was the loudest andI didn’t   even know the rhymes! The kids were so well behaved that R2 was a rowdy in front of them!

6. The manners of the school kids

R’s school has assembly every Friday. I don’t go for obvious reasons. Taking R2 there is letting a mad enraged crazy bull into a china shop and all that. She makes more noise than the 400 odd kids in R’s school. And I exaggerate, NOT!

I went to attend it twice. Once when her class was reading some poetry and the second time when she was saying some poem she had written on rain. (which I did not understand At All since she was mumbling into the mike like some bumblebee!) Anyways, I digress.

The point is that when I went to the assembly the kids were so so well mannered and silent! Not one kid murmured or talked or whispered for 45 mins. They were so silent and sat in rapt attention listening to whatever was going on!! And these are kids from class 1 to class 6.

Wow is all what I can say!

7. The cool moms!

Growing up in India, I have seen new moms not coming out after a baby delivery for a minimum of 45 days. This included me πŸ™‚

I take R2 to a concept called B4 in R’s school for one day a week for 2 hours where the kids play and dance and stuff. The parents have to be with the kids. There I saw 2 ladies visibly pregnant.

Then the B4 closed for 3 weeks. After that when I went back I saw one of the ladies. Like a duh, I exclaimed ‘oh my God, your baby came out!’ She laughed and pointed at a tiny being asleep in a small crib. I stared at her and said ‘but but the baby was inside you 3 weeks ago!’ She said ‘I delivered 15 days ago.’ I was like an you are already out!

She seemed to be a bit confused by the question and looked at me weirdly. I hurriedly went on to explain to her about the Indian concept which I had followed. And to be honest, even if I wanted to go out in 15 days, I doubt I could have. The mere thought of having a bath used to tire me at that time. And here is a mom who comes after 15 days of delivery absolutely fit and looking perfectly in place! And she is not a one off incident. There are loads of moms with babies I see doing this here!

8. People have more than 2 children

Well, most folks I know have 2 kids in India. When we joined B4, I met this mom who had a baby a bit younger than R2. She was asking about us coming to Tas and wheb I mentioned R, she said she had a daughter in grade 3. 

RM: Oh great! I thought we were the only ones with such a big age gap among kids! Guess you guys also have a huge gap between your kids

She: Errr..actually our first born is in grade 3, we have two more girls between the first born and the one here

RM: You have FOUR kids????

She: yes

And I just shut up after that. But here it is so common to see folks with 3-4-5 kids.serious respect!

Jeez! This turned out to be a looonnnggg post eh?

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to 8 Things About Australia I Am Still Getting Used To…

  1. Nithvin says:

    Point no.8..I want to know more about that..that’s one thing about foreigners that intrigues me a lot. Multiple children! How do they manage..work, finances everything..how do they do it??

  2. Since you are in that country anyway, maybe it’s time to follow a bit of their culture – like the last one πŸ˜›

  3. Such an honest post, RM! I have heard the very same things about life out of India, and these things amaze me too, to no end. πŸ™‚

  4. Moving from Chennai to the US, the road “rules” terrified me at first. And the speeds at which people drive on the highway! I’m slowly getting used to it now. I totally understand what you mean πŸ™‚

    Please do post pictures of the beautiful scenery you live in! πŸ™‚ Enjoy your time there πŸ™‚

  5. Boomerang says:

    I am slowly falling in love with Tasmania, through your posts! **White angels swaying to Ilayaraja’s music in the background**

    • R's Mom says:

      hahaha πŸ™‚ yes it is a beautiful place and I really cant thank God enough for giving us this opportunity no matter how much I crib about the lack of a job

  6. Ah yes…I’m not surprised you’re surprised. Some of these got me too. The scenery is breathtaking everywhere you go and of course, Tassie is just amazing! I love the beaches here in NSW — Sydney, the south coast, the north coast. It’s awesome. R’s school must be great…due to my work, I see not-so-respectful kids so my view of that is skewed. The libraries are amazing, aren’t they? I love it! I still buy a lot of books but also get to the library often. And as for parents with more than 2 kids — that surprised me too. Especially given the low population, it’s amazing how many families can have more than 2 kids! I’ve had clients where they have 4 kids under 4! No wonder they were accessing mental health services πŸ˜› Tassie is great for lack of traffic…in that regards, Sydney traffic is shit. People still follow road rules, but I’m personally over the traffic congestion here. Still not as bad as Bombay!

    • R's Mom says:

      Yaa re I have heard about the horrible traffic is Sydney..To be honest, I don’t go out much during weekdays but here too
      people complain about being stuck in traffic for 20 minutes..I toh laugh when I hear that hehe

  7. Nodding my head here for a lot of these points πŸ™‚ Please do post some pics from Tas. I’ve always wanted to visit Tas. My husband visited Tas when he was in Uni and has great things to say about the place.

  8. And we are still thinking – 2nd one or not and the first one is already 6.5yrs old 😦

  9. Jillian Sullie says:

    I really enjoyed reading this, it’s interesting to see how people view others when they move to a very new place. Great post!

Leave a Reply

