Dear Eastern Brand…

…can you please tell me what is the difference between Sambhar and Brahmin Sambhar?

A friend of mine asked me this doubt. I told her that Brahmins was a brand. (My MIL swears by the Brahmins Sambhar powder making my FIL import it for her from Kerala to Calcutta every time he goes there!)

She wrote back saying ‘No, this is the Eastern Brand am talking about’

And sent me this picture!

  
  
Can you see the two names …two DIFFERENT names?

Okay, the logical thing to do would be to check the ingredients, right?

That is what she did!

Check here

     
Can you see? Its Same to same! No difference at all!!!

“Corriander, Chilli, Gram Dhal, Urad Dal, Fenugreek, Kashmiri Chilli, Salt, Turmeric, Asafoetida, Curry Leaf”

Then why on earth is the name different? What is so Brahminish about one? 

I do know the Tambrams dont eat onion and garlic. But the masala is the same eh?

Can you please tell us the difference and how we can use them to make Brahminish and non Brahminish Sambhar?

Thank you in advance

The confused cook!

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Dear Eastern Brand…

  1. I am amused by the picture..leaf plate for the Brahmin one.So ridiculous.

  2. My theory –

    Brahmin Sambhar spice powder mix had kalasha theertham sprinkled on it probably by a kudumi vadhyaar after doing sandhyavandanam

    Other sambhar spice mix was made by someone like me 😛

  3. Smita says:

    ha ha ha ha I have an explanation…

    When a brahmin person goes to buy the masala he won’t pick up the masala thinking it might be non-brahmin…who wants to read the small font ingredients da!

    But when they see Brahmin Masala they pick it blindly coz they know its Brahmin!

    There I Cracked it!

    Plain simple marketing! 😀

  4. There is actually a difference in the way Brahmins and non-Brahmins make sambar, though I don’t know what they are. That said, I don’t understand why the contents are exactly the same for Brahmin and non-Brahmin sambar powder, and why exactly they are marketed differently!

  5. Varsh says:

    Seems like a marketing gimmick to sell the same thing in two different packets, catering to peoples’ curiosity factor. 😀

  6. Priti says:

    May be…and this is just a wild guess…the quantities of those ingredients differ in those two kinds to compensate for the lack of onion and garlic? I say this because I personally adjust the quantity of certain spices as per the contents, say for example, hing/asafetida is added slightly more if there’s no garlic and vice versa. I just wish the brand would have named the spices a bit differently since it can be misunderstood very easily. They could have labeled them home style and wedding style or something in those lines than this. What say?

  7. Vattu case! That said, the rare time I buy masala from the store, I buy Eastern and just today I saw that the Indian store has started stocking Brahmin brand too. I never knew it was from Kerala….maybe should give it a try.

Leave a Reply

