Dear R2

Day before yesterday, Appa and I took you to your millionth doctor visit thanks to the never ending cough and cold you have…while coming back, we thought we would pick up R Akka from the daycare. Since we were a bit early, RD suggested taking a short walk from the main road to her daycare, so that you could get some fresh air as well.

As we were walking, we saw an autistic child who must be about 15-16 years old walking with her father. Her father was holding her hand and she was walking looking at the road. Just then she saw you in my arms and her face broke into a smile.

She looked at you and you looked at her. And then you gave her a grin. She got super excited and came to us. RD was a little behind me. I said hello to her.

Her father tightened the grip around her hand, but she came towards us. She looked at you and lay her hand gently on your cheeks. You continued to smile.

Her father looked at me hesitantly, as if wondering if I would object to it. I didnt. Her father told her not to touch the baby but love her from a distance. She didnt pay heed.

Haallooooo she told you. You went heeeeeeeeeeeeeee. This made her very happy. So she pulled you from my arms for a kiss. Her father now was really worried. I gestured to him to let her be. Appa was watching all this from a distance.

She gave you a kiss on your cheek. You gurgled back and touched her on her cheeks as well. Chotu baby cute hai, she declared to me. Thank you I said. Welcome she said, and caught her father’s hand and said okay bye bye.

I said bye bye and you gurgled again. She walked away with her father, whose eyes were thanking me silently. I smiled back. She turned around and waved to you and me and turned to her father and said ‘Chotu baby cute hai’

The whole interaction didnt take more than a few minutes, but what I learnt was that we have a mental block against any kid who is physically or mentally challenged. They are as innocent as they come, and they are smart enough to realise how to behave. I am so thankful to my parents who taught me to treat everyone with respect and love.

What I also realised that only when we grow older do we start having prejudices in life. Look at you. You didnt care two hoots about the girl’s appearance or physical features. What you cared about was about the abundant love she showed towards you.

I am writing this post to let you know that you have been much loved by folks everywhere. Whenever you feel low in life and want a boost, come back to Amma’s blog and read this post and know that you are much loved after all 🙂

Love
Amma

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Dear R2

  1. Smita says:

    🙂 this one brought a genuine smile on my face and reminded me of a similar incident….wait will post

  2. pixie says:

    Awww! This made my heart-melt! Hugs to R2 and you 🙂

  3. My Era says:

    What a very beautiful letter with a powerful message this is.
    Kudos RM! you are sensational & inspiring beyond words 🙂
    Sending loads of love & get well soon wishes to the ‘cute baby’ and positive vibes to your family. Take Care.

  4. The Bride says:

    I once attended a party where there was a girl who was mentally challenged and a baby. The mentally challenged girl was soooo into the baby, but the baby (probably a year or so old) was not that into her, especially all the cuddles. However, yeah, the baby did not even register that there was anything ‘different’ about the other girl.

  5. Varsh says:

    How true. Kids’ life is so simple. You look at someone and smile. Even if they don’t respond, you smile. 🙂

  6. R’s Mom, I so agree 200% with everything you have written…. !

  7. Sahasra says:

    Can you believe I read all your posts? Not missed even one!! Took me several days to finish. Now I feel bad that I have to eagerly wait for your new posts. You are a great narrator, making little day-to-day life aspects interesting. While reading your blog, I learnt – how sweet little things of a mundane weekend (which we ignore) can bring joy to us. Kudos to your patience when it comes to your commute and packing all those dabbas!!!
    I will ensure that none of your posts will be missed AND if/when I am low, I will come back to your blog to read some posts to bubble up!!!

  8. Jo says:

    You are a wonderful person RM 🙂

  9. summerscript says:

    I LOVE YOU
    I LOVE R2
    I LOVE R
    I LOVE RD

  10. Raji says:

    What a post….. You are so right RM. Prejudices are unnecessary acquired evil. I know you are so busy in life with two kids right now but I have to say that I shamelessly still wait for you to post everyday. Your narrative skills are amazing, you are in the wrong job RM, you should take up writing as a job with tour jobs of skill.

Leave a Reply

