The Appam Naizhi

There is Appam and there is Aaaapppam…the later is the white dosa like thing which the Malayalis eat with stew…which is a delicacy in itself…

But my heart is set on the Appam..or appe as its known as more popularly. There is something about appam which makes it special. My amma makes itΒ on the devasham days (Shraadh) of my grandparents. And on special occasions like Karthigai festival or something.

I must confess, I wasnt a big fan as such. I used to like only the ones which my mom made..(Call me a snob!) Appam has to be soft…unfortunately, whenever I have eaten it outside, its been too hard, too sweet, too difficult to bite…

The ones which my Mom makes are soft, perfectly sweetened with a combination of banana and jaggery and when eaten hot can melt in the mouth. And when eaten cold, are nice to chew πŸ™‚

When I got married, I think the only patram my mom didnt give me was an Appam maker. That too because I swore to her that I will NEVER make them. Too much hard work, eh?

But, now as I am growing older and become a mother to two kids, I really want to have an Appam naizhi. You know the one with holes in it, which are just perfect to create the round lovely balls of yumminess!

My eyes are on the one which my Paati has had for ages..for almost 70 years I think. Made of bronze and solid looking, blackened with years of use and it must have created a million appams…but the history it carries definitely makes it so special. It has seen my mom grow older, it has seen my grandparents struggle through independence and poverty. It has seen my grandmother make small ones with less ghee since they couldnt afford too much of it. It has seen my mamas grow up and get married. It has seen my cousins fight about who would eat the last appam which it took out! It has seen my mom’s family grow older along with it. It has seen three generations…

And I want it! Unfortunately, I am not getting a chance to get it. Everytime someone comes or goes to Calcutta, there is something or the other happens and I cant lay my hands on it!

But I am a patient person. I am sure, I will get it some day. And I will create a lifetime of memories with it.

Till then, I continue to dream on πŸ™‚

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Appam Naizhi

  1. pixie says:

    Give recipe re! You made me hungry again! Bah!

  2. Best luck RM! I have a “paali- a serving spoon”of my great-grandmother and simply love it. Hope you get your Naizhi and call us over for hot appams! Yay!

  3. Greenboochi says:

    I love such paatrams that carry a history too. I have a copper pathram with me, that belongs to my Amma’s grandma. Apparently, she gave it to my mom to handover it to her firstborn with the idea that I could make rice in it. I mean, she didnt even know if I would be a girl πŸ™‚

  4. My Era says:

    Okay, for some weird reason ( which is my lack of knowledge about Appams or the cookware used to make them) I read the post’s title as Appam Nazi and midway was confused at what suddenly happened when I reached the line “as I am growing older and become a mother to two kids, I really want to have an Appam naizhi. You know the one with holes in it”

    But all fine now πŸ™‚

    May your patience finally pays off and you create many memorable meals featuring appams πŸ˜€

  5. Beautiful post, RM! I can so relate to this. πŸ™‚ I love such vessels and household stuff which have such a rich history associated with them. As I grow older, I too want to create memories of making delicious stuff in my kitchen for my kids, with my kids – I no longer mind the hard work that requires. πŸ™‚

    Good luck with getting the appam nazhi!

  6. Bingo's Mom says:

    I have my grandmom’s murukku achu and boondhi karandi and kal chattis (utensil made out of some stone).
    And as far as i know, it’s called nazhi (naazhi) not naizhi.

Leave a Reply

