Travel Observations

Now a days the colleges have started and the trains are full of college kids who manage to squeeze themselves and their bags into crowded compartments. When I forget to carry my book to read, I often shamelessly eavesdrop their conversations and look at how they talk and what interests them.

Few observations:

1. Almost all girls wear make up to college. At least, lipstick and kajal. It kind of shocks me even now. I am like, but you girls can look gorgeous even without it! you are so young!

2. Most girls have smart phones. Really fancy ones. Big screens with colourful back covers and all that jazz!

3. Most girls have colourful nail polish. Like you know, a basic colour first and then some designs over it and all. I marvel the fact they have the time and energy to do all this. I dont even have time to grow nails, bah!

4. All girls have an earphone. Sometimes they share one as well. Most of them put really loud music too. Very loud infact. I can hear the boom boom boom boom as I stand squished next to them in the compartment!

5. Most girls wear jeans n tees to college

6. Topics they talk about include

– Boys, boys and more boys

– the cute college prof they miss if he doesnt teach

– which MBA college they aspire to go to 

– boys and more boys

– which movie actor dressing style is good

– what is the latest movie watched and which songs are bad

– boys boys and more boys

-love affairs in building and college

7. A lot of them use the F word in every other sentence

8. Parents are always wrong as ler most of them

9. A lot of them can talk and whatsapp simultaneously with super ease!

I guess its fun to be a college kid! 

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Travel Observations

  1. Maya says:

    ‘I guess its fun to be a college kid!’ Oh.. It’s even more fun to be the parent of the college kid! ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Comfy says:

    Back in the day, we talked about integration problems! Duh, I need to go to college now ๐Ÿ˜€
    RM, in this part of the world, girls start wearing makeup to school in grade 5. I have FB feeds of parents gifting their girls, in grade 3, with makeup kit and professional makeup consultation. I literally have a ticking time bomb happening in my head! These are little girls and they look beautiful as they are. I don’t understand anything, but for the fact that I am getting old.

  3. Bikramjit says:

    Hmm I would not know I don’t look at girls when travelling..:O

    ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Varsh says:

    Can I add something to your list? A permanent bored/ confused/ attitude wala expression that I’ve found commonly on everyone’s face, like the world is stupid enough to not notice that they’ve arrived. ๐Ÿ˜›

  5. Maddie says:

    Sad to realize that no one mentions books these days. So glad that son has compulsory reading everyday and even a diary to note down all books he has read. No wonder we had so less libraries in India ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  6. srividhya says:

    F word has become that commona???

  7. pixie says:

    Arre baba – what else is important in college? If not boys and makeup?!! ๐Ÿ˜›
    Oh wait – studies too!! :mrgreen:

    Well, I am glad and my thanks to those girls for they made you come out of hibernation and write! ๐Ÿ˜›

  8. Smita says:

    ha ha ha boys boys boys!!!

    Observing while travelling is fun!

  9. Aarthi says:

    Wow..I am just thinking about my life in college which was about 10 yrs ago and must admit- I was probably in stone age then and very immature compared to the current gen. While I do understand that the topic of discussion is more of makeup, grooming and the opp.gender, all I did was to just study, go to coffee shops with friends (which I thought was the coolest thing to do *facepalm*), girly gossip etc that I feel like I missed out on so many other things happening in this world.

  10. Pepper says:

    Lol.. It’s been so many years since I left college, but the memories are so fresh.

    1. I used herbal kajal on special days while I was in my last year of college. I totally loved it and it made me feel great. No I didn’t think I was too young to use kajal at 19 or 20. You seem to think so though. So I am curious, what age do you think is okay for kajal? After college, once you start work? Or when? Lipstick and heavy make up I agree is a bit too much for college. You don’t need to be so done up when you are blessed with youth.

    2. Technology will keep advancing yaar. Let’s stop being shocked ๐Ÿ˜› Ofcourse people in college will have smart phones now. Wait for 10 years more and people will use ipads instead of text books in school. I don’t feel very pleased, but I have resigned to it. Just like our parents resigned to the fact that we owned cell phones in college.

    3. College going kids will have time and enthu for doing their nails. It is us adults who don’t have a life. I had a very busy life in college, but I still managed to find time for things I liked. Now is a different story. Sigh.. And what do you mean you don’t have time to grow your nails? I usually don’t have time to trim my nails ๐Ÿ˜› Nails just grow on their own, no? Unshapely and uneven, but they grow. Lol.

    Fun catching up on your posts, RM! Keep blogging..

    • R's Mom says:

      1. Yaa you are right about the kajal bit. I apply kajal to R when she has a party or dance program to go to. So I shouldnt get too worked up about it. But you know Pepper, its just that these girls would look so lovely even without make up. Yaa but you are right, as usual ๐Ÿ™‚
      2. Yep *lips zipped*
      3. Yaa I meant the beautifully trimming part. Half the time I anyways bite them off ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Leave a Reply

