Our Car Rides

Dear R

Guess by now both you and I know that we will reach the daycare in one piece despite the fact that Amma is driving the car πŸ™‚

Remember the first time I decided that enough is enough and decided to take the car to drop you at the daycare and park it there to run the the station! 

You asked me ‘Are you sure Amma? Do you know how to drive?’

I said ‘Arey I taught Appa how to drive! Of course I know how to drive!’

You looked at me in disbelief and said you would sit in the backseat with all the bags so that the bags dont fall off. I think you didnt want to hurt my feelings about being scared to sit in the front hehe!

We have been going for a month and a half and surprisingly instead of being scared, both of us seem to look forward to this time together!

We have sung songs together from Salman Khan ones to Senorita! I introduced to the few English songs I know off and now you are obssessed with ‘Country Roads Take Me Home’ and ‘Words’! We both sing the songs loudly as we drive along the 25 minutes journey. 

Sometimes we say our prayers but thats only on days you agree. In four months your Barodu thathi managed to teach you so many small shlokas but you dont want to pray most days. I guess I shouldnt be forcing you too much, at the end of the day you have a mom who isnt much the prayers type herself eh?

Some days we talk. Talk about everything under the sun. You surprise me with your logic at times. Sometimes you bug me with your questions. While going back home my standard questions include what did you eat at daycare and did you finish your tiffin and what homework do you have? While going to daycare the discussions are more fun. Friends school work social situations even Modi discussions dance song TV books comics papers studies eh? 

Sometimes we fight. Big time. I tell you to behave and you tell me I am a screaming mother. You say you hate me and I tell you to find another Mom. Sometimes I spend the time giving you gyaan on the ways of life and how being rude is not going to land you anywhere!

Sometimes we do paatu practice. I sing you sing and we sing together. You put the thaalam and goof up. I tap the steering wheel with my fingers…we both sing and stop together and laugh away πŸ™‚

Sometimes we both are quiet. In our thoughts. I stop at a signal. I look back. You smile. I smile back. You smile again. The signal turns green and you point your eyes at the road. And our silence speaks volumes. Speaks of a mother and daughter who love each other to bits and know they will always be there for each other.

This will change from September when R2 joins us. I may spend most of the time looking at the road and her alternatively while you will have to spend your time entertaining her! Those will be fun days too…

But these are cherished days as well

Yours trying-to-be-a-cool-driver-like-Appa
Amma

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Our Car Rides

  1. Jo says:

    oh oh.. i laughed at “go find another amma” part. cute post πŸ™‚

  2. Prachee says:

    Yay yay RM…I am so proud of you…!!
    In the beginning of year I set a target for myself to conquer the skill of driving a car in mumbai…but alas…a lame attempt on the roads of goa..And I have already surrendered..(almost)
    Great going girl…so proud of you.
    And keep writing..love these updates from R family..:-)

  3. Greenboochi says:

    Awwww have super fun driving RM and R πŸ™‚

  4. The Bride says:

    Wow congrats on getting back into the driver’s seat. I’m not a fan of driving myself, and can’t say I’m a natural driver, but in Mumbai (or India in general?) I think it’s adds to one’s independence to be able to drive. The flyovers are like roads only no? There’s so much traffic one doesn’t have to go fast or anything.

  5. UmaS says:

    Keep driving RM…am feeling so happy that you finally took to the road on your own…hugs

  6. ashreyamom says:

    same with me.. I spend a quality of time with bunty when we are going to school.. we once had mother and daughter day out.. left Arjun with in-laws, and went for a movie and lunch.. it was so much of.. sometimes i feel it is needed to tell the elder one we love them more than the second one.. :)..

  7. Precious moments. Precious, precious moments.
    I have tears in my eyes thinking of this time I had with my mother over a decade ago.

  8. Comfy says:

    Oh those car rides sound so much fun! I am the designated driver for the kids, which means I get no bhaav. That is all for D! They are forever fighting to go place with him. hmph!
    You and R have fun and I am sure R2 will only add to the masti πŸ˜€

  9. Vidya says:

    Way to go mommy and senior R πŸ™‚ It’s been a long time since I hopped over any of the blogs and looks like I’ve been missing quite a lot..

Leave a Reply

