How I Failed Trying To Raise a Reader

reader

I adore books. They are my favorite only next to food and sleep. When my daughter was born 7 years ago, I wanted to raise her to be a reader. You know someone who reads and reads and reads and doesnt even bother answering anyone. Someone who picks up any book and sits in a corner and reads all the while. The one who needs no one else but books for company. The one who wants books for her birthdays. The one who is okay going anywhere as long as she has her book along with her. The one who gets excited on seeing new books. The one who thinks that books are the best friends one could have!

…………………………………

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to How I Failed Trying To Raise a Reader

  1. Varsh says:

    Couldn’t comment on that page…it was taking too long to load…

    I think you’re being too hard on yourself RM. You can do all you can but results are never guaranteed right?
    Hats off to you for doing all that you did. I have never gone to a book reading till date with my son. Yes, whenever we go to Landmark/Crossword we have a deal that I have to get him something. He has graduated from activity books to Chhota Bheem comic books to easy readinf novels now. He picks up something to read whenever he’s free, even newspapers at times.
    I did read to him, but not as a ritual everyday. God knows I don’t have that much patience. I did try to make it interesting for him by explaining through pics first and then reading the story.
    There are so many distractions for kids now. You think it could be a case of over-exposure? Kids (even us) don’t value something that’s easily available. She knows she can come to you for books if she wants right?
    Cheer up girl! She’ll come around. She has reading genes from both jer parents. In our case, A doesn’t like reading at all….not even my blog. Hmpf! πŸ˜€

  2. Deboshree says:

    Let’s hear more on this when she’s older! πŸ˜‰ That aside, even if she doesn’t eventually become a reader, don’t fret too much. We all have our own interests after all. I am sure she will develop other hobbies you will be proud of. πŸ™‚

  3. Scribby says:

    you know what ? It is a reader parents’ wish that their child should be a reader too… I always wished for the same, my 4YO does read and feels excited to go to the book store, picks her book on her own and enjoys them… but this still not confirms that she’ll be an avid reader when she is a grown up.. I always fear what if she stops liking books!

    So I guess what you are feeling is natural and there’s time. From my own experience, I only started reading when I was in 8th std.. what age are we at that time? 14YO? so all these years while my mum and dad always read, we had so many books at home and all that, I never touched them… and now I’ve my own library at my home, I buy books every month like grocery and I read every day like breathing πŸ™‚

  4. SS says:

    Dear R,

    I had exactly the same experience with my kids. With a kid in college and a kid who will be in college next year – and both of them are very good at what they do, this is the conclusion I have come to.

    Reading is just another hobby and not everyone is going to like it. Just because I love reading and I read to them a lot I was kind of stupid to expect them to automatically fall in love with it. Also today kids have so many things to do for fun. In my younger days books were the most fun thing readily available. My parents never read to me or asked me to read but I read every piece of print including the The Hindu every day. I think it was only because of a natural interest. I am finding out that this is true with healthy eating, exercising and other things. As parents we should introduce them to all good things and be willing to accept their choices – which is easier said πŸ™‚

    My 2 cents!

    • R's Mom says:

      Thank you thank you and thank you so much..I so agree to your last line…as parents we should introduce them to all good things but willing to accept their choices..thank you for that

  5. Varsh says:

    Aing! I had commented….where did my comment go!?

  6. Comfy says:

    They are all different and it is fine RM. Buzz loves to read now but for the longest time she would not read in front of me because I would stop her and ensure she sounded out every word correctly. I left her be for a while and things got much better. May be R just feels a lot of pressure to read, with all the books and book readings etc. Give her some time and I am sure she will reach for books at some point. If not now then as she grows older, I know I did πŸ™‚ In fact I found my love for books much later in life and now I can’t stay without one πŸ™‚

  7. Can’t comment on that page..not loading on my browser. So guess this is just a lesson to accept that kids make their own choices and have their own interests. Like you I am desperately trying to raise a reader.I was read Enid Blyton from the age of 2 and did the same for Bandar. She loves books at almost 3 but who knows if she will ever go and pick up one by herself at R ‘s age to read. It would upset me too but guess it’s just something I have to accept. Maybe R will change in a few years.

  8. I always thought it was a nurture thing, if the parents are voracious readers, the children will automatically be too. This post proves that it is not. But like you say, R is going to be fabulous at something else and you never know, she may just become a reader at a later stage:)

  9. Oh my deae R… may be it is the overload! I’ve often felt that kids of voracious readers end up taking up books later since all they encounter are books .. let her have her chocolate.. πŸ™‚ let her enter her teens and then you may see her reading cloak on!

    I am just loling here, you had another kid for ….. reason! πŸ˜›

  10. Violet says:

    My two cents –‘Be careful of what you wish you for!’ I have a sworn reader at home, and it is not exactly fun all the time.. there is so much more to the world than just books, and it saddens me to see my little girl losing out on so many other things just because she is glued to books so tightly. Again, it takes one to know one – she is so much like the younger me. However, there are 25 years between us, the world has changed drastically and has so much more to offer now. I would say moderation is the key, and so R may just be the perfect child for this time and age πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

