Digging Out That Treasure

I have been really lazy updating the blog. But its not only laziness..I guess I am at this stage when I am trying to decide what I want in life..when R was born, I was sure I want to get back to my job. my 9 to 5 one. But after R2, I am wondering if I really want to do that. I definitely want to work, but the idea of going back to that office, doing stuff which I dont even like, is somehow making me a bit apprehensive…I joined back full time work thisΒ week, and the very thought is making me sad…Leaving R2 is a bit easier, since I have already gone through the leaving R and going thingie….but lets see…I am very seriously looking for work from home options..my Amma says I am suffering mid life crisis heheheh!

One thing apart from Whatsapp which has retained my sanity in the past six months is IMC. The website is going places and its good to be a small part of the super group….

Preethi gets these brainwaves and one of those has been the IMC Treasure Box on which she worked like crazy and came up with codes and decodes and recodes and all that..anyways, so IMC is launching this treasure box thing…it all started with someone in the team lamenting about trying to find good Indian books for her kid. Then one thing moved to another and it was decided we will perhaps start a library kind of service but will ask the receiver to keep the book. Then the brains behind thought why not add a craft activity to it. We went scouting for crafters and met up aspoonfulofideas and beinggaya3. Both came up with awesome ideas to create crafts around the books we thought we will send across.

We spent many days deciding on the name of this service. I was in Goa at that time and chewed my Appa’s brains until he came up with the name Treasure Chest. We finally settled down to box, because chest seemed too heavy eh? then how to categorize between the age groups…I came up with explosive suggestions like dynamite andΒ catalyzeΒ and what not until Aarti gently pointed out to me that it was not chemical reaction engineering but a box which a kid would want to actually open without being scared..gah! What do non chemical people know about reaction engineering heheh!

Afterwards, the calm and composed Preethi came up with Under the Imli tree for 2 to 4 years and Under the Banyan Tree of 4 to 7 years.…I loved the names, but since my reaction engineering names were vetoed, I took revenge by vetoing these names, you know just for the fun of it..but I lost it 3 is to one..and then finally admitted I loved the darn names eh?

Vidhya who is my current technology guru (Ha, RD, Gah to you!!!) is also an awesome cook. Aarti and I have decided to serve her only maggi if she ever visits us..anyways so she came up with the idea of including a child friendly recipe card which can be indexed away by the kid into the box…

Preethi and I have always had this never ending arguments about allowing technology to children…she always wins but I pretend not to notice…so she came up with an idea of suggesting a curated child friendly app to go into the box as well..

What was started as a casual conversation now snowballed into a big box of things…which seemed exciting and interesting..

Poornima of spoonfullofideas and Gayathri of beinggaya3 came up with such awesome activities related to the books, that I just stood aside gaping with my mouth open wondering how can God give so much talent to folks!

And funnily all these contacts have been through via blogs. Preethi and I are second cousins, but the rest of us know each other via blogs. This blogging world, I tell ya, is a treasure box in itself πŸ™‚

So finally, IMC is launching its treasure box…whats in it?

1 A book which one of us has read and reviewed and recommended
2. A craft related to that book designed by the super talented women Poornima and Gayathri
3. A recipe suggested by the superchef Vidhya
4. An app appropriate to age group suggested by the techo queen Preethi

In short, its a real treasure box.

Get its details here…Go on show some love to our venture and to your kids and subscribe it eh?

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Digging Out That Treasure

  1. Prachee says:

    RM…you echo my thoughts…though I like my work..but this full time thing and travelling time often leaves me wondering..is this the way I am going to spend my entire life…! *sigh*
    And whoa…that IMC Treasure box sounds awesome..I so want to be a part of something like this…do let me know if I can be of any help in the crafts department…anytime sooner or later.
    Awesome work..kudos to IMC team..!!

  2. Nice to ‘hear’ from you after long RM. Hope you’ve been well. Miss you around here. πŸ™‚ Sounds like a great venture by IMC.

  3. The Bride says:

    Sounds like a really good idea, and good that you’re launching during the summer vacations!

  4. The treasure box idea sure sounds lovely! Will look it up for sure. πŸ™‚

    Try looking for something you are extremely passionate about and would love doing day in and day out, even if you aren’t paid for it. Start doing that on a small-scale initially and then you could start doing it on a bigger scale. Slowly and gradually, you will be in a position to quit your job and do what you love full-time. It takes a lot of hard work and dedication, but the results are awesome!

  5. kitchenmummy says:

    good to read u after long! πŸ™‚

  6. Scribby says:

    I hear your thoughts on going back to work or working from home… I’m already on these thoughts, maybe Amma is right, mid life crisis, is it? πŸ™‚ Let’s see what do I opt for, maybe I’ll take some tips from you πŸ™‚

    Treasure Box sounds interesting, taking a look right away, thanks for sharing !

  7. Just came here and found this post. Thanks for mentioning me, am typing this reply from the clouds πŸ˜‰
    Does Mid life crisis come every once in a while? Hee hee, just asking πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

