A True Vacation

Finally after 9 years, I spent 3 weeks at my parents place, if I dont count the 3 months I spent when I delivered R. This 3 weeks have been truly a vacation for me. I would have called it a perfect vacation if RD was around, but he was enjoying his bachelorhood in Bombay while I enjoyed in Goa with my parents. While I had started work from home, I decided to take 10 days off to spend time in peace. And I am glad I did it! Though I am low on leaves now (we really need to change this 84 days maternity leave thing, its just too short!) I am glad I took these days off! I have piled on 20 kgs (this is after what was left after delivering R2) but I have truly enjoyed myself.

I ate what I wanted with no inhibitions, I took long walks, I drank coffee in the mornings my with parents looking at the pigeons come and peck the grains from my parents garden. I have shopped for clothes (which I never do for myself) I cooked whatever I wanted and made my parents the scapegoats. R and I cooked the dinners first few days, while my amma made all my favorite food (the list is pretty endless actually!) Appa got us the usual tons of fruits and we had pineapples, and mangoes, and chikoos and bananas and guavas, and tender coconuts and watermelons and apples. I binged on junk food big time with no care of anything.

I realised that R loves going to daycare because she started insisting on going to the daycare near my parents place, and I even managed to wean R2 off morning feeds completely as I plan to start work soon.

Its been an amazing three weeks, and I doubt I will ever be able to have so much of leave all my life again, but am so glad I came. I am glad that RD insisted I take days off to spend time with my parents.

Here are a few glimpses of our stay

Took swimming lessons

Took swimming lessons

made a lantern rangoli on Vishu with hindi Alphabets (check out the ulta la!)

made a lantern rangoli on Vishu with hindi Alphabets (check out the ulta la!)

Saw Vishu kanni and earned a lot fo money

Saw Vishu kanni and earned a lot of money

Climbed trees with Thatha

Climbed trees with Thatha

Saw pretty foilage

Saw pretty foliage

Plucked fresh brinjals and cherry tomatoes from Thatha's garden

Plucked fresh brinjals and cherry tomatoes from Thatha’s garden

Played scrabbles every other night with Thatha Thathi and Amma

Played scrabbles every other night with Thatha Thathi and Amma

Asked chitti to make new hair styles for me

Asked chitti to make new hair styles for me

Saw a beautiful white chapel on top of a hill

Saw a beautiful white chapel on top of a hill

Saw a giant mammoth in the Science Centre at Panaji

Saw a giant mammoth in the Science Centre at Panaji

Helped hang R2's clothes every day

Helped hang R2’s clothes every day

Helped Thathi with flower decorations

Helped Thathi with flower decorations

Sat in the car and snuggled each other

Sat in the car and snuggled each other

Learnt to use a dictionary!

Learnt to use a dictionary!

 

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to A True Vacation

  1. Maya says:

    True vacation indeed! πŸ™‚ R has grown up!

    And we missed you here on the blog. Please write more often. Please.

  2. Prachee says:

    Wow…that sounds fun…glad u finally took the break. You know what RM..this kind of vacation should be taken e.v.e.r.y year…!! You should definitely plan it again πŸ™‚

  3. Bingo's Mom says:

    Don’t know why but I am grinning wiiiide… wait, I know the reason πŸ˜€

  4. mamata says:

    Its always rejuvenating to have a vacation with our loved ones. At times we do need this vacation to pull back our energy levels and get back to our routine. Its so nice to see a happy happy post. Me imagining in place of R doing all those baby things. She resembles me so much…….

  5. Bikramjit says:

    Beautiful pics mam.. and glad you had fun.
    Parents house is a bliss. ..

    84 days only for leave hmmm here one can take almost 5 to 6 months. . Even paternity leave is changing for the fathers..
    God bless the little ones. .

  6. greenboochi says:

    I’m glad you had a wonderful time at your parents. Seriously there can’t be a better vacation, in my opinion. I’m always ready to run away to be with the parents πŸ™‚
    R looks super cute πŸ™‚

  7. I am glad you enjoyed your break. I know you truly deserved it. πŸ™‚

    Love R’s hairstyle! And the fresh home-grown veggies look awesome!

  8. After reading your posts, I feel guilty about not working and sitting and home and eating peacefully while my husband earns. 😦

  9. The Bride says:

    Aw going home to one’s parents’ house is a different kind of relaxation. So funny that R wanted to go to daycare… but now that my kids like school, I see them missing it if we go about five days without it. Hope all of you are doing well.

  10. Comfy says:

    RM, that picture of the two of them snuggling is priceless! Hope you took a lot more at that time. I am glad you got to take some time off. It is hard with two kids and to start work again and honestly breaks are too few and too far apart when you need to handle kids and your own vacation time. Loved all the pictures and seems like everyone had a good time πŸ™‚

  11. Feeling good to read this post RM. You did the right thing by taking a vacation with them πŸ‘

  12. Deeps says:

    Such wonderful moments there, RM! Loved the way you unfolded your holiday through those pics.

    Heres hoping that you get to go on many many more such vacations πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

