These Moments

RD has gone to Sabarimalai. I get to sleep in the night between my girls with on hand on each of them.

Its 1 AM. I finish R2’s hour long feed. I undertake the difficult operation of transfering the brat from lap to bed. It needs the precision and accuracy of a spinning machine which churns 1245 threads a second. One wrong movement and its back to feeding. And I manage the transfer three times at night, night after night. *gives smug look and does not reveal the misses*

Then I realise I need to use the bathroom. I slowly cross R, get off the bed and open the bathroom door softly. I come out, switch off the light. As my eyes adjust to the dim darkness…

.I see that R’s left hand is on R2’s chest. R2’s left fingers are curled around R’s right thumb and there is a hint of smile on both their faces.

I feel a lump in my throat.

I think, let them sleep like this.

Three seconds later the elder brat is in the process of putting her leg on the 2.5 month old!

Nah! I think. Sentiments can wait, eh? Sometimes a mom needs to be practical!

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to These Moments

  1. Swaram says:

    Heee heee heee, but still awww my darlings πŸ™‚ I love them! Muahs πŸ™‚

  2. I’m trying to picture how adorable the two of them must have looked! πŸ™‚

  3. Shweta says:

    Touchwood…. For the moments… 😊

    Idea for night time feed… Lie down on your side n feed … The baby dozes off n u slid out slowly without moving the baby… I had gone through all that u mentioned above… Then my husband searched YouTube for various styles of feeding b showed me the video… Its much easier this way… Try once … If it suits u n R2..

    Disclaimer- this technique Might get tough for your back sometimes… Also babies don’t feed for hour long… They r just using the mother as soother -that’s what doctor told me…

    • R's Mom says:

      Arey…I used to do that with R..but after she turned 6 months..I dont have the guts to try it with R2 yet…may be once she is a bit older…I agree to what the doc says..guess I should start outside food perhaps..lets see

  4. greenboochi says:

    Thank you for making my morning so bright with this post! πŸ™‚

  5. Smita says:

    lol!!!!!

  6. Scribby says:

    i loved reading this, made my day πŸ™‚

  7. Sentiment vs. Practicality…tough choice…I know you r having sleepless nights and all…but did u take a picture?

  8. Beautiful. Know what you mean by shifting the sleeping baby. Oh and I started feeding bandar lying down around 4 months or so, much against what my mom told me but it resulted in way less movement and crying each night.

  9. Ah moments which combine cutesy+frustration inducing, hair tearing acts – only parenthood πŸ™‚
    I fed my second one almost entirely lying down..ull get used to it re.

  10. Comfy says:

    Oh my! Cuteness overload, even if it was for a few precious seconds. Wait till R2 is a little older and you start telling these back to them. The look on their face with be worth it πŸ™‚

  11. Deepa says:

    Lol!!! my soon to be 11 year old and 5 year old like to camp out in the guest bedroom which is very cosy and has a log home like of a feel (wooded walls), once a week they are allowed to use that room and I see them curled together and it is a big mush moment for me. I wish they were this loving when they are awake (they are after each other’s throats) sigh!
    On very rare occasions my son also calls his sister akka mummy.

Leave a Reply

