Yesterday Night!

We got really late going home yesterday. RD had warned me in the morning that he will be late from work, so I had to pick up R. Unfortunately, struggling to get a rick from the station to the brat’s daycare took me a while and by the time we reached home it was 8. R pleaded to me to let her play down for 10 minutes, so I went up.

We had missed our househelp and all, but R and I had been wanting to eat chilly cheese toast for a long time. So I prepared for that and went down to get R. I was a bit tired with all the travel and all, but R proved to be an exemplary child yesterday.

She came up without a fight, we didnt even have our usual evening argument, she took a bath by herself, changed her clothes, took out the clothes from the machine, helped me hang them, fold yesterday’s clothes and even keep her clothes inside her shelf. All this without me asking her to do so!!! And then she helped me wash the patrams and also keep them in the shelf…Okay big kala tikka to this because its not going to happen often..

Meantime RD called up and informed that he will be really late. May be come in only at 1 or 2 AM.

Anyways, so we go to sleep after this, reading her usual quota of three books etc etc.

Then I get up at about 12.50, suddenly remembering that I need to take R to the loo. I wake her up. But before that, I call up RD asking when he is coming. He is said he will come to me soon. I keep the phone down and get back to waking up R. I take her to the loo and then come out to shut the bathroom door and then I see there is a light beneath the closed door of the bedroom. I am very sure that I had shut off all the lights before we went to sleep since RD was going to be so late. I try and peer from beneath the small gap of the door if I can see the thieves. But I cant see anyone. My heart is thudding. I dont want to scare R, so let her drift back to sleep.

By now my mouth is dry and I am wondering how I can stop the intruders. I dont have any weapon in the bedroom when I suddenly remember R’s chair and the mosquito bat. But how do I stop them from hurting R?

I quickly decide the best way for me to escape is to lock the bedroom door from inside and then pretend to go back to sleep. This has to be a bad dream. And to be honest, the previous night, Pixie had made me read Sid’s story on Indireads  (Go read it, its awesome!) which just added to my already vivid imagination.

It didnt strike me once that I had my phone and could have called RD. I just went near R, hug her tight and then pulled the bedsheet over our heads and didnt really breathe.

In 3 minutes there was a loud on the door. I am now in terror. The door pounds again. R gets a bit disturbed.

And then I hear the reassuring sound of the man I married.

RM, RM he called from outside.

My hero, I thought getting up, he must have combated the intruders by himself. As I opened the door, I realised wait a minute, he is no hero.

RD: Why did you lock the bedroom door?

RM: It was you kya?

RD: What was me?

RM: The lights about 10 minutes ago, it was you isnt it

RD: yaa, who else rey

RM: but..but…I thought it was thieves

RD was dumbstruck for a moment…theives?? he asked in the most astonished tone

RM: arey chor chor

RD: But RM, why would thieves come in and switch on all the lights of the house???

Well, it was only the love of the 8.5 years of marriage which stopped me from banging his head against the door..I mean really, here is your wife all tensed and worked up and scared and you are being practical!!!! Tell me, which man, can be so practical in life Gah!

After we lay down, I asked him

RM: Wait, you were at home when I called you werent you?

RD *sheepishly* yes

RM: Hmmm

RD: I didnt tell you because I was sticking the pictures in R’s Hindi book. She needs it tomorrow na. I thought let me finish sticking and then get to sleep so that she doesnt have to take tension about it. But if I had told you on the phone that I was already home, you would have got disturbed and come out and told me to do it later on and all that. So I thought let me just finish it before sleeping.
Okay, for all you folks wanting to go Awwwww…now is the moment!

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to Yesterday Night!

  1. srividhya says:

    Great Dad 🙂 As you said awww 🙂 Remembering those days when my appa used to put covers to all my note books and stick labels 🙂 Between I do lock my bedroom door when me and vaandu are alone even though we have this so called alarm system. Will ask hubby to call me before he comes 😉

  2. For you, an Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwbhushan ! (Who needs a padmabhushan anyway …:-) )

  3. awwww… really awww… 😀 😀
    Love R family 🙂

  4. Smita says:

    HA HA HA HA HA HA!!!! Really RM why will he turn on all the lights *where is the crying & laughing icon of WA*

    You are totally hyper I am telling you! You worry on the drop of hat! kucch bi!!!

  5. Bikramjit says:

    The man of the house has a point …

    As i was reading i thought oh no..but the ending made me smile yes awwwwwww indeed..

    God bless you all..

  6. Ah our imagination does run wild at times. I am so guilty of that! 🙂 Glad it all turned out well and there is no way you can stay mad at someone who goes through those lengths to help out! 😀

  7. greenboochi says:

    Awwwwwwwwwwwwwww 🙂 🙂 RD is super awesome 🙂

    RM, I can totally understand how you would have felt.. been there too 🙂 Hugs 🙂

  8. VJ says:

    awwww for R and AWWWW for RD 🙂

  9. Deboshree says:

    Awwwwwwwww! 😀 🙂
    I can understand how you must have felt. Though the why-would-thieves-switch-on-lights logic makes sense in hindsight. 😀

  10. Actually aawwww only for RD for being an awesome Dad and such an amazing husband.

  11. Maddie says:

    This is so cute! :))

  12. Scribby says:

    how sweet is RD, 3 cheers for the daddy 🙂

    and ROFL RM, seriously why would thieves switch on the lights? 😛

  13. Three Cheers for RD!!! Yay! And a special cheer for you for reading my story (and for Pixie for making you do so)

  14. smdeea11 says:

    Awwww! Such a caring husband you have! Totally awww..some:-)

  15. awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww!!!!

  16. Smitha says:

    Awww!! RD is the sweetest!!

  17. Love this!!Everything about this post. Stay blessed, RM:)

  18. pixie says:

    I have to stop laughing first before commenting!! 😛 :mrgreen:
    RD has a point re! LOL!!!

    And thank you for sharing Sid’s story! Muah and hugs to you! 🙂

    And R is such a cute and adorable baccha! 🙂 ❤

  19. Awww indeed 🙂

    And RD’s question is very correct, RM. 😀 Why will a thief put on lights?! 😛

    BTW, the OH can be disgustingly practical when all I need is reassurance or just some nonsense talk. So, I know exactly what you mean. 🙂

Leave a Reply

