A Selfish Generation?

This post has been in my mind for a long time. May be about 4-5 months. I usually try and put only positive stuff on this blog, but somehow, I have been observing stuff around me which makes me take it out on the blog here.

Random incidents I witnessed around me, and made me feel so worried if we are becoming a generation so self centred that we have forgotten basic manners. And if we are like this, what about the next generation?

I am going to just state the random incidents I witnessed personally. I am not judging anyone here!

1. I walk down the stairs to the first platform. A train has just arrived and I am walking towards the ladies compartment. I see a huge crowd of young students between 8 to 14 years, getting down from the physically handicapped (differently abled?) compartment. A small portion of a bogie in Mumbai locals is usually reserved for the physically handicapped, folks suffering from cancer and very pregnant women. Why are school kids in that compartment, I know not. May be they cant get into the other compartments. I refuse to form a judgement. Until, I see these kids, push a man who is on crutches with only one leg, down from the train. Literally push him in their rush to get off. He falls on the platform. Some of us rush to help him. The kids pay no attention to him. They just rush away laughing at some joke. I am appalled. I am not kidding. I am so shocked at their behaviour. I mean

firstly, you shouldnt even be there
Secondly, you shouldnt push when you know the man is struggling to get off
Thirdly, lets say you do it by mistake. At least HELP! APOLOGISE!!!

They just walked away. Each of them. Must have been at least 20 to 25 children. Not one looked back!

2. Over the past few months, I have noticed that no one..absolutely no one seems to offer seats to pregnant women. I have seen them standing in the bus for almost 20-25 minutes and not one lady gets up to give up the fourth seat in the bus usually reserved for them. No one. Infact, a couple of times, I have noticed guys get up and offer their seats. But not ONE single lady. Never! Isnt that weird? Havent we been taught to get up and give seats to people who really need them. Similarly for old people. If the old people’s seat is reserved, no one actually gets up for them. Ever. I agree everyone goes home tired after a day’s work. But isnt it basic civic sense?

3. Yesterday in the metro, as soon as we got in, a lady (must be in her mid 40s) tried to go and sit next to another lady (in her twenties). It was not a reserved seat for ladies. Just a general seat. The lady in her twenties kept her bag right next to where she was sitting. So the other lady asked her to remove the bag. This lady blatantly refused. The other lady was a bit surprised, until a guy came rushing in just as the doors were closing, promptly sat in the place where the other lady had kept her bag. Apparently, the lady in her twenties had been keeping the seat reserved for her friend. Really? Forget the lady part. We dont need reservations, but how can you keep some seat reserved for someone who is hale and hearty!!! I was shocked at this lady and guy’s attitude!

4. A heavily pregnant lady was walking down the stairs of the station very slowly. These two girls, come, brush past her, almost making her fall, and then just go ahead without a backward glance.

Such small incidents. Incidents which may seem totally irrelevant when you look at the millions of issues going on in the world. But incidents, which perhaps could have been handled better. Incidents which perhaps if handled correctly, may actually make this world a better place.

Sigh! Blame it on the Mumbai weather. There is pessimism in the air!

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to A Selfish Generation?

  1. Sapna says:

    Seen some incidents like that too and agree on no one offering pregnant women seats in Mumbai locals and buses. This is where India lags behind – civic sense and consideration for others. All our talk of great India sanskriti is crap until we develop some basic sense.

  2. Arch says:

    RM, I hear you! such folks are everywhere! Here in SG, its encouraged to give up seats to elderly, challenged and pregnant women. There are signs, even videos to promote! Yet, people don’t. They hog seats until they please.

    Next time around, politely chide the person to give up, apologize. Most times, these people continue because no one tells them about it. The lethargy is annoying!

    • R's Mom says:

      Really Arch! for me its pretty surprising that things dont work out in Singapore..I thought only India lacked civic manners to be honest with you!

  3. Deboshree says:

    I can so relate to your state of mind over the incidents you have described. I see similar things happen around me in Delhi and it saddens me each time. Little children abusing at the top of their lungs, the elderly getting pushed about by people who think they will forever be young. It’s not even sad, it’s distressing. 😦

  4. I can only one comment after leaving this, RM – A Selfish Generation ! (Just replaced your question mark with an exclamation mark); We all deserve better πŸ™‚

  5. Uggghhhhh! This appalls me to no extent! I agree we are turning absolutely selfish with no consideration to other people, animals, plant life or Mother Earth. Selfish selfish selfish!! Ughhhhhhhh. I want to scream!

  6. Rekha Baala says:

    Go ahead! You can totally judge these kind!

  7. anisnest says:

    we should teach this generation to be considerate of others.. I saw this excellent video recently where the kid just reciprocates what the parent does in different situations from throwing garbage on the road to picking up a fight to apologizing for the mistake.. I would blame it on their parents RM, most part of it.

  8. This just makes me feel sad, RM. Each man for himself seems to be the theme on all these incidents and there is no place for the weak- pregnant, old, disabled. Really sad.
    On the other hand, I have been pleasantly surprised off late in NYC. Strangers see me struggle going up 3 steps leading to my apartment with a massive stroller with a child and opening the locked door , and come rushing to help either handle the stroller or the door. Totally unexpected in Manhattan. And usually people hold elevator doors open in subways and stores when they see you with a child and have even given up their seat in the crowded train a few times though I refuse as I am fully capable of standing. I just reciprocate by helping other struggling moms and the elderly when I can. So there is some kindness in the world and hopefully it will show up around you soon!

  9. No, you are not being pessimistic. Even I have been feeling, for quite some time now, that good manners, politeness and basic courtesy are fast disappearing.

  10. Bikramjit says:

    I think more than the weather it is US who are to be blamed because the younger generation picks this from us who are grown up.. we probably don’t do exactly what incidents you have told.. but we do other things ..

    like how do we treat others, so in my eyes kids pick up and learn from us ..

  11. The scary part about these 4 incidents is that they involve educated children, women, and men, in other words, people like us.

    Yes, we are selfish. It’s high time we accepted that and tried to do something about it.

  12. Scribby says:

    Aah! The absence of civic sense and humanity is what you are talking about right? What are these words anyway RM these days? Not all think like us the way we don’t think like them… it is not the changing times or generation gap, maybe earlier also we have people like this but we never noticed.. today also we have good people and bad people and these will always exist…

    the best part is we are sane and are maintaining what we are πŸ™‚

    Hugs!

  13. srividhya says:

    Incident 4 is really scary..
    who to blame? Parents or the kids? We can see these people all over..
    Last year me and vaandu were in the mall and I was pushing the cart. The mall was jam-packed and an old couple who were going in front of me were stopping every now and then before shops and unknowingly I stepped upon them. Before I could ask sorry, they started shouting telling that am I blind or what and I don’t know how to push a cart. I was so shocked and I started arguing too.
    Last month while buying groceries, vaandu was running between the parking lot. And one lady without noticing him, opened the car door and I rushed and stopped vaandu. But I did tell her, please look for people before opening the door. I agreed it was my mistake to let vaandu run but people parked parallel has to go that way only so mentioned this to her. But her husband created such a chaos that how can I advice his wife. I had to argue back in this situation too.
    I wasn’t sure if my reaction was right or wrong and what my kid might have thought about me. I want to apologize but but but???According to them, I was showing my attitude and according to me before I could react they judged me..

    • R's Mom says:

      Nah..I wouldnt blame you on either incidents….it wasnt really your fault..and all your teaching your son is that stand up if you are right…thats a good thing!

Leave a Reply

