Takeaways from an Open House

The brat’s school started a week and a half ago. All of a sudden the school decided to have a parent interaction on the first day. Unfortunately, working parents like us, had no clue about it until the brat came to me and said ‘Amma, sab ki mummy aye the, you were the only one who didnt come to my class’ I must admit I was a bit upset to hear that, but I took a half day the next day and went to her school and inquired with her teacher.

Anyways they had an open house this Saturday,and here are my observations:

1. I am at awe that our children actually are disciplined. EVERY parent was busy chit chatting with each other and talking even as the teacher was giving instructions..really? How do we expect our children to listen to the teacher 😦
And yes, some parents had got their children along. So what are you teaching those kids!

2. The teacher seemed to be such a paavam, but R tells me that she manages the class pretty well πŸ™‚

3. The Hindi teacher reminded me of my mother. She came she stood, when no one stopped talking, she just hit the duster against the desk twice, said I want perfect silence when I speak, and anyone talking can get out of the class. There was a stunned silence and then everyone listened to her.

4. I was the one with the most questions. And may be silly ones. but 5 people copied the notes I took!

5. The lady sitting next to me, nominated me as a parent teacher association member, which by the way no one wanted to be! Not a single parent. 6 other mothers also told me to stand for it. But I confessed, I was a working parent and may not be able to attend meetings 😦 Finally one guy’s FATHER..yes father!!! agreed to be one! I was so proud of him!

6. The lady sitting next to me, was laughing at me for all the notes I was talking. I just shrugged, smiled and said ‘I guess the training as an analyst!’ She laughed at me again, but I did my work. Then she copied my notes, Gah!

7. The mothers have formed a whatsapp group. I was a bit hesitant to give my number, but then I gave. And oh my God!!! What nonsense people are sending 😦 RD showed me how to mute a group :(:( And then there are some advantages, like what was the homework given etc is discussed, but but…people are also asking questions like what books to send to school today, despite the teacher giving timetables :(:( I mean really!!! and the jokes and the forwards and the good morning messages and the 10 mb weird videos..and adult jokes 😦 Gosh!

8. BTW, the PTA member who is a guy is NOT in the group. The wife is a part of the group. Apparently this is a mothers only group. Why, RD asked me perplexed. I refused to even consider that why. The lady who formed the group told the wife of the PTA member, that we will do all ladies talk in the group, your husband will be out of place, so putting you in the group!!!

9. Parents literally need to learn manners. They went and practically manhandled the teacher with their problems even as she was explaining stuff to everyone, until a parent stood up and said please let her talk, I have to go to my older child’s class for such a thing as well..!!! and parents walked in at 11.05 when it was given that everyone should assemble at 10.30 :(:(

10. And finally, parents are upset that the extra circular activities have reduced this year (till last year, every Friday there used to be some sticking, pasting, colouring, drawing, some competition, etc etc) except one parent..guess who???

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Takeaways from an Open House

  1. Maya says:

    Thanks for the Monday morning laughs, RM.. at your expense, though! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ You took notes at an open house?! **falls at feet wonly** And, I would say I don’t use a mobile phone if I am ever asked to join a mommy-whatsapp group. No, seriously!

    We had a parent-teacher meeting too on Saturday and were given a big note on the evil effects of technology on small children. Thassall! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  2. 😦 😦 😦

  3. Bikramjit says:

    Ha ha to the lady who took your notes…
    And good of the father ..

    Loved to hear the teacher banged the duster..made them all shut ..good..hopefully they would learn for next time. .

    All the bedt with whatsapp and hey how do you mute a group I don’t know how to.. need to know. . I am also in a group of weirdos who send this stupid messages. .and I am sick and tired ..dont want to leave the grouo as it has some of my old school friends …

  4. Scribby says:

    hahaha RM, your posts are a delight πŸ™‚ thanks for sharing these pointers… my day is coming closer now πŸ™‚

  5. ashreyamom says:

    wattsapp at times is really becoming a non-sense.. teachers have real tought time managing kids and then their parents too.. 😦

  6. Rekha says:

    Every single PTM is like this. And imagine people like me who have to go and meet every single teacher of both my girls. It takes an entire day. But fortunately the school schedules the PTMs on a second Saturday only, saving my leaves.

  7. iwrotethose says:

    *shudders at the thought of having to go for a parent teacher meet for his toddler. Probably will be told that his son is a right brat*

    But I accompanied my sister to my nephew’s PTA and everything you said holds true for that. Including the Hindi teacher. Probably because when my mom used to teach in school, that’s how she’d get attention πŸ˜›

    Another enjoyable snipped from the R’s πŸ™‚ I love you guys already. And we dont even know each other. Awesome πŸ™‚

  8. srividhya says:

    Whatsapp groupa?? Andava. Till now, I am only in kiddo’s play date group email. As he is starting KG, I am not sure what all groups will be there.
    Copying notes? Again what are the parents teaching here??

  9. pixie says:

    Goodness!! what a bunch RM!!
    Mute notifications or leave the group with the polite message that Smita told you. πŸ˜€

  10. Laughing at the whatsapp group excluding the dad! So immature

  11. Rm I am laughing loud. I know you write a serious post but the way you write is totally sweet. I love you. πŸ™‚

  12. Rachna says:

    I tell you, R’s Mom, I was nodding sagely at all your observations. Oh yes, I have to write a post about PTI meetings. Whatsapp groups — It is best to stay away from them. What is wrong with people these days? They want to chat so they will take any crap. Last point of yours, I am raising both hands. I hate all the stupid projects they give our kids that we have to do :(.

    • R's Mom says:

      I am waiting to read your posts πŸ™‚

      LOL on the projects…actually the contribution of kids is so less…I do try and involve R as much as I can..but the neatness level sinks to nothing!! but I dont care *heheheh*

  13. Vidya says:

    Arrre amma is taking notes! I must learn. Btw, there is a google group for varun’s class. Fortunately no BS (sorry!) discussed. Helps irresponsible moms like me for info on projects etc πŸ™‚ Good luck R and RM and R-appa and… well!

Leave a Reply

