I Survived

..the brat’s bday party..

As usual, us being us, over did the food, so much that we gave away pav bhaji to
the neighbours and watchmen and still have pav left to make pavizza for dinner
the next day..

But that not withstanding, I think the kids did have a great time!

Venue: Our house

Number of kids: 12

Age range: 1.5 years to 10 years(mostly from the building, two of R’s daycare’s
close friends)

Games played:

Throw the ball into the tub
Pick up the straws which are scattered (thanks to Mon for the idea)
Passing the parcel (stopped halfway due to dance demand)

Menu

Cake (Dora cake from Monginis – dont ask the cost, I have fainted thrice already)
Pav bhaji made at home
Chips store bought
Orange juice

Return gift

One packet of gems which comes in that ball (yes yes yes, I am trying to stop
this trend of giving expensive return gifts!)

TimingĀ :6.30 to 8.30 officially (but guests arrived only at 7.15!!! and left at 9.15 PM)

=========

The morning was spent going to the temple and then the market to pick up veggies
for the pav bhaji (RD and my FIL got enough green chillies to last 3 lifetimes,
but we shall not dwell on that)

We spent the afternoon decorating..unfortunately, I had got horrid quality
balloons (kanjoosi says RD, but I pretend not to hear) so we used crepe ribbons
extensively..R decorated a bit of it herself!

We spent the later part of the afternoon making the pav bhaji thanks to our cook
who helped out a lot!

We spent the evening in the party..one of the mothers who had come along was
great help..she handled the kids when I was doing the food inside and she made
them dance and have fun…

In short, the kids had a lot of fun, R was very happy and RD managed to clear off
his tiredness by going for a beer with friends AFTER clean up! Some people are
really supermen!

In laws were immense help from arranging to decorating to putting the last plate
in the shelf!

======

Drawback of such a super party – Amma, we will do it next time also okay???

Sometimes I wish I drank alcohol!

 

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

54 Responses to I Survived

  1. LOL on last line RM šŸ˜€
    Glad the party was a hit & everyone enjoyed…
    looking forward to reading about same party on R’s next birthday as well šŸ˜› šŸ˜› šŸ˜›

  2. LOL @ the last line of your post.

    Glad the Brat had a super awesome birthday party!

    How exactly do you make the paavizza? It sounds interesting. šŸ™‚

  3. Maya says:

    WHERE ARE THE PICTURES?!

  4. Tharani says:

    Pictures RM pictutes.
    The party sounds so much fun. Glad R had a super time.

  5. Smita says:

    Beer drinko!!! U will float šŸ˜€

    And I loved the fact that u cooked the meal at home….due to time constraint people order from out but I miss the fun that we used to have in our birthdays…how the house would be abuzz with activity suhab se….good old days!!!

    Next time cake ka order mujhe dena….utni sundar nahin hogi par sasti hogi šŸ˜‰ hum cake lekar reach jaayenge šŸ˜€

    And mirchi’s extra?? Send them to me!!

    • R's Mom says:

      LOL on that…

      Actually if you lived nearer, I would have pakka told you…theek hai..next time, we will plan in advance okay???

      mirchi send karu :):)

  6. Yaay!! That sounds like a fun party šŸ™‚ I remember I used to do the same thing, the moment the last guest steps out of the house I used to run to my mom ask her the menu for the next year party šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚ wishing a very very Happy year ahead for R :*

  7. Bikramjit says:

    oooooh I can already dream of the cake and GEMS.. my favourite sweet šŸ™‚ PACKEt of Gems.. want want want …….

    yayyyyyy the kids had fun thats the best thing always and ooooh yesssssss next year Same day, Same Time , same place DEALLLLLLLLL MOMMY………..

  8. Rahmath says:

    :). Sounds like R had fun and you too:)
    What is pavizza by the way?????
    I am so happy to hear you gave gems as return gift. I have never understood the concept of return gifts. My birthday , I get the gifts; your birthday , you get the gift, simple no? When I was a kid I was pretty happy to go have the awesome cake and the wonderful stuffs and play games. weren’t we all???

  9. ashreyamom says:

    cleaning the mess after the party is the headache.. ;(

  10. The Bride says:

    “Amma, we will do it next time also okay???” So cute. Yes, alcohol helps, but after Benji’s party I was too tired even for that.

  11. Prachee says:

    Lol @ your last statement..
    Good that the kids had fun
    I did had a similar experience last year on lil champ’s 3rd birthday (add noodles to the menu and birthday boy’s crying during the event). Then realized the truth behind my mom’s statement, “kid’s birthday = Mother’s WORK day” šŸ™‚

    • R's Mom says:

      oh nice…next time I will just make maggi..garama garam..sab khayenge…thanks for the idea…

      Aiyo guys at the crying…3 years is small no?

  12. summerscript says:

    Hahaha on the last line RM. Your party sounds simple and awesome. Pics please…

  13. kirti says:

    heey. nice to learn the detailed account of R’s party. Tomorrow we have a similar party for kid#2 . Same pinch for the menu. Anyday kids enjoy home parties than Mc do/Pizza hut parties. The effort is worth it .You are giving her a wonderful time and memories . Hugs to R and many happy returns.

  14. srividhya17 says:

    Cheers.. Glad you survived.. Congrats and good luck for next year. šŸ™‚
    Have some red wine šŸ™‚

  15. Bingo's Mom says:

    That’s great RM. Loads of love to R. Don’t deny her wish that she wished on her birthday šŸ™‚

  16. Sushma says:

    Belated Happy Birthday to R!! Wow 6 is a big number šŸ™‚

    I know the kids enjoy the party but setting up and cleaning up after drains you out.

  17. anisnest says:

    really? you title the post of my cute girl’s party updates as I survived? I will give you a kick when we see next time.. kudos RM for all that effort.. take care

    • R's Mom says:

      hehehehehe! I am not a pro da…you are a pro at bday parties…you even cook so much and stuff..have themes..*falls at feet*

      and welcome back to the blogging world…you have been missed šŸ™‚

      Waiting for the kick really šŸ™‚

  18. anisnest says:

    by the way breaking my break from blog world by commenting on this post šŸ™‚

  19. Comfy says:

    My sweetheart turned 6, party to banta tha na šŸ˜€ And next year will be big 7, so will have to do it next year also šŸ˜›
    Now I remember there was a reason I don’t do birthday parties for the kids.. he haaa haaa haaa!!!

    • R's Mom says:

      Abhi phir aap bologe..8 is the multiple of 2 AND 4, so party banta hai..I know you masis…khoopche mein jaake you talk to R and then keep supporting her šŸ™‚

      Wait till I meet Buzz n Bugz..sab pol khol doongi šŸ™‚

  20. The party took me back to ones of my childhood in the colony where we lived..the games, the decorations,the pav bhaji! So glad R enjoyed!!

  21. Rahmath says:

    You guys share such a beautiful relationship with each other online and offline, that when i read this post, i remembered you.Thought you would like reading it. Sending it your way….

    http://www.blogher.com/dont-tell-me-theyre-not-real-internet-friends-are-real-life-friends

  22. Maddie says:

    Belated Happy birthday to R!!!

    I survived my son’s party too! Never imagined it would be so much pressure!

  23. Deepa says:

    See, you did good girl!!! I’m planning to go on spiritual pilgrimage around V’s Birthday next year and as we all know during a spiritual undertaking revelry of ANY kind is strictly forbidden until mind and heart have cleansed themselves of all moha-maya related thoughts.

    I love, love Paav Bhaji on any party menu but I’m envious that R actually had it on her birthday menu. Yum, yum.

  24. I have a birthday party this weekend .My head is already spinning !!

Leave a Reply

