Life Right Now!

– The brat passed her Sr. KG and is official in primary section now…class 1 student…*Please pass me some kerchiefs to blow my nose* Cant believe I have a child who is going to turn six next month end!

– I was astonished to see the brat’s answer sheets. Neat, not a single mistake and she even remembered to put full stops at the end of her sentences. RD gave me the usual smug look.

– I loved getting the brat’s new books. She has proper subjects from this year, English literature, grammar, maths, science, moral education, hindi, marathi (RD and I are wondering who is going to teach her marathi, we both can speak a bit and understand everything..but writing!) and I loved the smell of the new books and read through her English literature book..she has lessons from Roald Dahl and Ruskin Bond πŸ™‚ How super is that :):) my favorite pass time in my summer vacations was to read my English book back to back :):) I know, I am weird that ways πŸ™‚

– I am astonished at the amount of money which our family spends on a monthly basis. And trust me, we have cut out on eating out completely or to about once a month, we never go for movies, we have stopped taking the car out for long rides, we dont seem to spend any money on clothes except for R..and yet…I dont know how we end up with nearly zero balance at the end of every month..does anyone else have this problem? RD has this really sophisticated system of tracking money on excel..something I dont want to get into because it only gives me tummy aches and heart burns 😦

– The heat is killing in Bombay and I have started resorting to the Mapro Lemon Barley water which RD got for me the other day.I drink a glass everyday and feel so much better…I guess I should have done what Amma used to do every winter…buy lemons by the kilo and make lime juice and store..I didnt and now am repenting…yesterday we asked, the cost of one lime is RS. 5 here 😦

– For the first time , I completely forgot about a meeting with the IMC folks yesterday. just completely forgot..and they had even sent me reminders…darn! old age is catching up..am still feeling guilty about it!

– I am doing such mundane work at work that I have been wondering for the past week why am I being paid money for such work 😦 and this is from someone who loves data entry :):)

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Life Right Now!

  1. Smitha says:

    R is a smartie pie! She’s done so well! Well done to her!

    ‘ my favorite pass time in my summer vacations was to read my English book back to back :)’ I used to do that too! I would read, re read, until the teacher taught it. Then I would lose interest in reading it. So the short stories which were at the end of the book, I would know by heart:)

  2. The Bride says:

    Congrats to you and R. “I was astonished to see the brat’s answer sheets. Neat, not a single mistake and she even remembered to put full stops at the end of her sentences. RD gave me the usual smug look.” I guess some credit goes to mommy for all that prepping? Wow Roald Dahl in an English textbook, how cool!

  3. B. M. says:

    First of all..wait hold..
    YAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY

    Well done to the little one..Awesome ..

    5 rs a lime. .very veryyyyyy cheap. . Ask me 😊

    I remember the day we got the new books etc..Wud sit all night to make sure they are covered with brown paper an D then that salophine paper (forgot the name) the plastic thing..

    God bless R. lots of love to the little one..

  4. Santulan says:

    Congratulations to R πŸ™‚

  5. Maya says:

    Hugs to the little big girl, R! And tell her that auntie Maya is really proud of her work! πŸ™‚

  6. Maddie says:

    Class 1 has Hindi Marathi too? I remember we started it in class 3. What board is this? I was planning to ask my parents to get books over here. Are books available for purchase in stores? I heard that books can be purchased only through the schools nowadays and they are not available in the market.

  7. Lemons are way too costly here too, thanks to the summer heat. Almost 155 rs. a kg. 😦

    Here also, it is too hot. 😦 No rains of late. Hope it cools down soon. Old Bangalore weather, I deeply miss you!

    Lemon barley water sounds great – I think I will get some too. πŸ™‚

    R’s English textbook sounds awesome re! I used to read through my English textbooks during the summer holidays, back in my school days, too. So, you are not the only weird one. πŸ˜€

    Congratulations on the brat passing her exams! πŸ™‚

    • R's Mom says:

      hai yaar…darn darn darn..I was cursing myself for not buying them in winter..

      yep..heard this time that Bangalore is super hot!

      chalo good to know that you me and Smitha are similar πŸ™‚

  8. Deeps says:

    R has Roald Dahl and Ruskin Bond books in the school syllabus?? Wow! Can I go sit in her class pls pls pls!

    Ayyo, don’t get me started on hot weather RM..you know the situation my end don’t you? :(. But the good thing is that there is a huge watermelon waiting in the fridge to be consumed! It refreshes and cools me like no other fruit in the summer! Namnam and I both love it πŸ˜€

    • R's Mom says:

      LOL πŸ™‚

      yaa…hot hot hot..

      RD got a big watermelon yesterday..somehow *dont kill me* I am not a big fan of watermelon…I prefer mangoes :):)

  9. srividhya17 says:

    Congrats R!!!! And all the best for the primary section πŸ™‚
    Smell of new books mmmm.. πŸ™‚
    Zero balance, it happens to us too. Try mint.com. It will help you analyze your spending and do a comparative analysis.

  10. iwrotethose says:

    Congratulations are in order πŸ™‚ To both R and R’s mom. Let;s give a little bit of credit to RD too. Hot weather – no tips apart from lots of fluids and maybe watermelon. Keep cool

    • R's Mom says:

      RD ko no credit okay..the guy didnt even bother to figure out what exams she had..Gah!

      Yaa…buttermilk is being consumed by the gallons here…I am not a watermelon fan..but I do eat it..to keep cool πŸ™‚

  11. Even I would finish reading my english and hindi textbooks before school would even start properly! And then I started reading books of mom’s tuition students when I left school. Haha!

  12. RM – Yay to R! She is such a cutiesmartiepie all rolled in one πŸ™‚
    That was the way my summer became thrilling too – smell of freshly bound books (my father would get them calico bounded) and reading english textbooks and literature readers. Similarly, the stories from second and third language books (Kannada and Hindi in my case).
    I just tried Mapro kokum and khus a couple of months back from a friend who got them from Mumbai – I loved kokum so much! S’pore is pretty much hot and humid all through the year, so I think you have a reason to rejoice that you have a winter! πŸ™‚

    • R's Mom says:

      Kismiiiiiiiiiiii how you doing…long time…hope things are fin!

      oh yes..the kokum is great..but better than Mapro is a brand my parents buy in Goa..and yep..the khus is great…I think next time will ask RD to get khus..thanks for reminding..

      singapore hot eh?

  13. R is a smart cookie, give her a tight hug from me please.

    I hear the cost of living in India is increasing way too much. I was shopped when I visited India last time. I had a bg shopping list but when I saw the prices I just couldn’t buy it.

  14. Rachna says:

    Wow, so she will be going full time to school now. Good, no? And the heat. I am currently in Hyd. Every day I contemplate killing myself :).

  15. pixie says:

    Hugs to little R! She’s going to be six?! Wow!!
    I used to read my English textbook too during summer holidays!! πŸ˜€ hehe!

  16. Comfy says:

    What? You doubted our R? She had to do well – but of course! You could have asked any one of us and we would have told you.
    *psk* No pressure R darling, this is just for Mom. Oh and can you pass me your books. I need them for say a day or two. I promise I will be done by then πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

