Randomness Returns

1. The brat’s exams get over today. After four days of Hindi, English, Maths, EVS, yaada yaada, today evening, I am going to let her just be. Yes,I did sit after her to make her ‘study’.

2. She has discovered a new friend in the building. A first in 5.5 years. The girl is one year old to her, in the same school as hers and an year older class wise also. But both the girls seem to hit off very well. Infact, both of them look alike also. As if they are twins or something. A couple of folks in the building have confused them for each other. They play together in the evenings from 7 to 8 after the brat returns from daycare. They fight equally and love each other equally.

3. The days in Bombay are getting so hot, that I think eventually by May the roads are going to start melting. I heard Bangalore is no better eh?

4. My Amma is here for a while so life is a bit easier. She cooks in the mornings and takes care of everything else.Β I am getting totally spoilt.

5. Amma is on a cleaning spree, getting the cobwebs out and the windows polished. I am contributing nothing to the entire clean up process.

6. Its summer now and am remembering the mangoes of Baroda. The chundo and the panna and the aam ras and the junagadi kesar..sigh! I miss my childhood

7. I had this sudden urge to eat jhal muri. I called up RD asking him if he could get it from somewhere. He was like ‘there is no place nearby I can get you jhalmuri, lets make at home’ We made a pseudo jhalmuri that day evening and we enjoyed it. The next day, he got me sukha bhel from work, and at the risk of sounding conceited, I liked my jhalmuri better.

8. On the food note, we are have been living without eating onions and garlic for about 2 weeks now. The brat and RD plan to go to Sabarimalai inΒ MayΒ and RD is on with the vratham. R is barely affected, since her daycare gives jain food and she is not a fan of onions anyways! I am missing the taste of garlic but am too lazy to cook for myself separately πŸ™‚

9. Everyone seems to be doing 100 days of happiness and A to Z challenge in the blogworld. I can barely think of any happiness to write about honestly. The daily routine gets cumbersome. That doesn’t mean I am unhappy. It just means I am plain lazy to write about the happy things in life

10. I read this post on ‘real’ things by Bride. So so agree to a lot of things she says.Β And organic food in Mumbai is verrrryyyy expensive eh?

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Randomness Returns

  1. Comfy says:

    Buzz has a week of vacation going on. I figured I would let her be, do what she likes, watch TV if she likes. You know what she does? She continues to follow the same schedule as usual. Every evening she wants to do homework. There is none to do so she forces me to make some up for her!!!! Can I cry now RM??? πŸ˜₯ πŸ˜₯
    This is what I am doing to my kid and I don’t like myself for it :sob: :sob:

  2. Maya says:

    If Bombay is getting too hot for you, may be you can relocate to Chennai?! **runs**

  3. Ashwathy says:

    You survive without onions and garlic BOTH? Garlic, okay. But onions? Not possible by me!

    Awww at R’s new-found friendship πŸ™‚

    Haha Amma’s cooking is the best eh? Honestly it’s such a relief when there is someone in the house who can take care of everything.

  4. Scribby says:

    I’m so waiting for that moment when Chirpy would call someone her friend πŸ™‚

    having ma around is so much bliss in life hai na?

  5. Visha says:

    I read EVS and for a moment thought..oh, that must be Environmental Science, quite a time since I heard of that acronym πŸ™‚

    Erm..reading a post of yours only makes readers happy ok πŸ™„ so you are indirectly writing a ‘happy post’ for your readers whenever you publish something πŸ˜€

  6. ~ How do you make jhalmuri at home? Please to share the recipe. Would love to try it out.
    ~ I have been on a spring-cleaning spree at home, too. Feels good to purge stuff that you don’t really need, actually.
    ~ I am missing ALL the things they make out of mangoes in Gujarat. 😦 Was just talking to the OH about all of that, the other day. I miss matke ka paani, too. 😦
    ~ Good to hear about R’s new friend. Reminded me of my childhood friend who used to stay in the same apartment as me. We used to look similar, too, and used to gel well though she was 4 years older to me.
    ~ Bangalore received rains yesterday! Yay! Totally unexpected! It has cooled down a bit after that. πŸ™‚

    • R's Mom says:

      Aiyo…my jhalmuri was just muri, some khakhara broken down into small pieces, tomatoes, cucumbers, corriander, chaat masala and a dash of lime…thats NOT the way its made okay…. πŸ™‚
      four years older..wow…thats really nice you got along so well!!
      Yayay on the bangalore rains..enjoy the coolness now

  7. Shed the laziness, R’s Mom! and Join in πŸ™‚

  8. D's Mom says:

    Aww…the joys of childhood friendship.
    Mom’s cooking is always the best (not D’s mom’s though πŸ™‚ )
    Love chundo…recently we bought a jar and managed to polish it off in four days flat πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

