Darn my Luck!

Its Chaitra month Navratri going on and today is asthami. As in the normal Navratri some people celebrate this asthami too..by doing pooja for small girls.

Now the brat is a popular choice in my building (not too many small girls eh?) which has 2-3 north Indians who call her every year to do prasad. I always always always send R because I LOVE the prasad they send across. The black channa, puri and sheera. And the brat always gets back excess food for me 🙂 (What I am a practical mother, some advantages of having a girl eh?)

Anyways so today morning, at about 8.30 I get a call.

Hi, I am XX calling from X floor

RM: Hello hello

Voice: We are having Navratri pooja at the house, can you please send your daughter for the pooja

RM: Oh, but she has gone to school

Voice: oh..when will she return

RM: We will be back in the evening

voice: oh okay

RM :you have made puri,chole, sheera prasad kya?

Voice: Yaa, was hoping to have her here..but chalega..

RM: Errr…we….

But the phone got cut. And she didnt even ask us to come in the evening to collect the prasad.

Darn darn darn! That prasad is to die for. Absolutely yummmmm and I lost a golden chance to eat it. Just darn my luck!!!!

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Darn my Luck!

  1. lol RM.. I too love that black channa-puri yumm!!

  2. sanityvows says:

    hahahaha aren’t you the cutest 🙂

  3. Bingo's Mom says:

    hahah… agree with you. Last year I had a chance to savor them. Here, in Tamilnadu, no luck for me too. *sending virtual poori, channa and sheera*

  4. Daane daane pe likhaa hai khaanewaale ka naam!

  5. PT says:

    Oh R’s mom! Next time quickly say I’ll send her in the evening. I love love love that prasad and my family used to love it too. I used to be invited at several homes and this was my favorite day of the year (after my birthday ofcourse). After I ‘grew up’ some neighbours would still send us some because they knew how much we love it.

  6. Scribby says:

    lol @ your luck sweetie 😛

    and by the way, ‘some advantages to have a daughter’? there are plenty 🙂 haina?

  7. pixie says:

    😆
    anything for Prasad eh?! 😛
    I’m still laughing!!

  8. Ummm… yes, the prasad is to die for, but wasn’t that rather an odd way of cutting off the call?! She could have at least told you to come back in the evening, to do darshan and collect some prasad. It was as if she was only interested in getting a girl for the pooja. 🙂

    • R's Mom says:

      Nahi…guess she was just in a hurry…its okay…I was hoping she would call again in the evening..heheheeh 🙂 But hua nahi 🙂

  9. Deboshree says:

    Hahaha I got a chance to eat delicious navratri khaana just yesterday. Just felt like telling you. 😛 🙂

  10. thedotingmom says:

    I have made some too and my girls went across to four more houses and brought back some more prasad.Come and share with me..

  11. techie2mom says:

    LOL RM!! To make you jealous, let me tell youI had that chana puri and sheera yesterday as well as today 😀 Actually the prasad has to be given in the morning only. Only after giving it to some number of girls, the men of the house can eat their food. But at least she could have sent it to your place. People here do that, they send it at home. At least my friends do that as Zini refuses to go and participate in the pooja..

  12. Visha says:

    I read this post yesterday night, immediately soaked the chana, had phulka-chana for todays lunch(healthy option 😉 ) and ate laapsi instead of sheera 😀 😀

    Thank you RM for my wonderful lunch menu today 😉 I wish we could have had it together 🙂

  13. D's Mom says:

    I wish I was a small girl living in your building…..sigh….:D

  14. anisnest says:

    lol… anything for prasad is my motto too 🙂

  15. Nidaa says:

    Love that prasad. I had to sneak off and eat them in secret because we are not supposed t eat prasad for religious reasons acc to my mumm. Well… I cant bring myself to care especially when its sooo damn yummy :D. Next year many be???

  16. Veens says:

    We do the pooja For thE Oct Navratras, Send R along then 🙂

  17. kash says:

    Prasad is the only thing that encourages me to attend poojas 😛 😛 and even i love the black-channa with puri combo.

Leave a Reply

