Weekend Updates

So we went on the picnic on Saturday. I think the lesser I talk about it, the better, because I dont want that to remain a memory on the blog. All in all, R had a good time, and I read a good book. Chapter closed.

=============

We played Holi yesterday in the building. The folks of the building had organized lunch (Dosa, chutney, sambhar, upma, for those who are curious) which meant I spent the morning making molagapodi and dhaniya jeera powder. Yes yes, I do utilise free time very effectively :):)

And then we went down to play. RD came back from office early and he took R down while I finished cleaning up the kitchen which had been podified thanks to my grinding abilities!

WE played till about 2 in the afternoon. Like crazy. Super fun it was.

As soon as I went down, RD drenched me to the bones with cold water. I threatened him dire consequences, but the guy didnt seem to care. And to top it off, he put colour purposely on my hair…Grrrr..which meant I had a tough time cleaning my hair. But honestly, we really enjoyed. I think I had a good time with these kids who are in class 7 to class 12 where I let them colour me, throw balloons on me and generally fool around with me. One of them said ‘Aap bahut cool hai’ Ah well, I hope R finds me cool when she is older 🙂

We ate and talked and chatted and generally had a good time.

=========

I was thinking of an alternate career and one of the things I love doing is data entry work. You know mundane copying from one place to the other. I think I am going to search for some data entry jobs to do once R gets older and doesnt need me too much!

========

I was cribbing to Amma about going to the picnic. The wise mother of mine says ‘Well, now R is asking you to accompany her, wait for 2 more years, she wont even like you going to her school’ Ah well, didnt I mention my Amma is super cool!

=======

RD had gone to Shirdi on Saturday. And he came back with a ring *rolls eyes* for R. He slipped it into her finger and that got stuck. I mean literally got stuck. R couldnt remove it. We tried soap, oil and what not. Nothing. R was worried, she cried, I screamed at RD and he kept apologising. Finally we took her to a jewellery shop. And asked the guy to cut it. She shouted, screamed, squirmed and what not. But the assistant there managed to cut it open. Phew! What drama. I tell R ‘You are not going to wear rings till you turn 18, do you get it?’

R looks at me straight into the eyes and says ‘I am NEVER EVER going to wear rings ALL mera zindagi, okay?’

==========

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Weekend Updates

  1. shail says:

    Haha. I love that last punch line from R! 😛 *still laughing*

  2. Data entry work? Isn’t that pretty mind numbing?

    Glad you enjoyed holi…was never a fan…

    Lol at R never wearing rings…saves you a lot of money 😉

  3. ashreyamom says:

    acho. surprise gift lost its effect and int urn became bad.. i am just wondering what if somebody proposes me with the ring, the ring doesnt come out.. i just say bye to him just because he didnt know my size properly and runaway with the ring.. 🙂
    amma ‘s are generally intelligent than us na.. no wonder they managed us and now grand-kids.. 🙂

  4. Your Amma is super smart, as you already know, and R is super cute. 🙂 Loved her comment on the ring. Good it finally came off. What a tension-filled moment that must have been na?

    He he… I could already sense what your reaction about the picnic would be, from your last post. 🙂 Anyways, glad that R had fun.

    Oye, lady, do you ever rest, put your feet up and just relax and do nothing? 😦 Gah!

    Your Holi sounds like fun. 🙂 And you are ‘so cool’. Wah! 😀

    • R's Mom says:

      Aiyo her ring was super scary 🙂

      I simply cant rest my feet..I should start doing it…yaa Holi was fun

      Wait will write you an email on that data entry thingie 🙂

  5. You know – if you REALLY like data entry jobs, there are loads of them available, many even freelance and work-from-home. That’s all I found when I was looking for jobs for myself. You can seriously think of them, if you are keen and want to de-stress a bit. That said, I don’t think one can do such stuff for a very long period of time. There is no productivity. 😦

  6. Bingo's Mom says:

    here, we always have to pay for what we eat, in any function 😦
    Data Entry? why? More work at office?

  7. I am NEVER EVER going to wear rings ALL mera zindagi, okay?’

    That’s what I said! I’m terrified of rings getting stuck in my fingers. Happened to my mom, and her finger had swollen up a little. Gah! I can’t imagine how it must have been for R. Glad you got it out.

  8. Maya says:

    LoL, R! And, of course, you ARE cool, RM. Don’t even doubt it!

    There are times when I think I can do data entry work too. Nothing earth shattering to go wrong with it. So, yeah.. why not?! 😉

  9. Swaram says:

    I have a lot of data entry work to be done RM, and I hate how monotonous it is?:P Game?;)

  10. Ashwathy says:

    The last statement proves she is your daughter through and through 😛

  11. I wonder what R’ll say after threading her eyebrows for the first time! *wiggling my perfectly shaped eyebrows*

  12. Just curious – did you ask your dad about those Goanese blue tiles?

  13. Pepper says:

    Ditto RM! I would totally love data entry work. Never had a chance to do it, but I think I will like to not use my brain for a change. Many people tell me it will be monotonous and I will be bored after a point. Perhaps they are right, but I would surely like to experience working in a place where I just do things mechanically and get done and paid for it in the end. If not for a long time, I would like it atleast for 2-3 months to see how it is 🙂

    Aur aap sach main bohut cool ho. I am sure R will agree and think you are cool too, just like you too agree that your amma and appa are cool.

    • R's Mom says:

      Hai na Hai na…kitna cool job rahega..use minimilistic brains and get money..you are the only one who understood what I am trying to say :):)

      Awww..thanks for calling me cool Pepper, not many people do that 🙂

  14. Still laughing imagining R actually delivering that punch line. Thank heavens it came out!! And what’s with data entry???

  15. Vidya says:

    Aap bahut cool hein ji!

Leave a Reply

