Being Joey

I have been a big fan of the sitcom ‘Friends’. I can random watch any episode I come across, re watch like 20 times and still laugh. In one of the episodes, they show Joey, getting very overwhelmed by the talk the other friends carry out. And so he decides to buy an encyclopedia and then he trys to steer the conversation to that particular topic he has read about. Unfortunately, he is not a big success.

I have these Joey moments very often in my life.

Like go to a get together. Until the cake cutting everything is fine, and suddenly everyone starts talking politics. I follow a bit of politics but when people start going to specifics, it all goes above my head. At this stage, you will see me either trying to steer the conversation to how Prof Dumbledore was one of the most political person in the HP universe but never seemed like a politician or you could see me nodding my head to everything and everyone without opening my mouth.

Or lets say, I go to a conference. I rarely agree to go, but if I HAVE to, I am fine till the conference involves listening to presentations of other people. When it comes to networking, I am a total failure. But if I actually get the courage to join a group of people discussing the improvements in the economy of the world, and put in my two piece, I realise that eventually the topic has moved to whether Siberia really needs ice making machines in bulk or not. And I am Joey-ed as usual. I have no clue what people are talking about. You can either find me trying to get the conversation to discuss on whether the HP universe really needed a finance minister to keep track of the kind of losses the Dementors caused to the muggle world, or you could see me nodding my head to everything and everyone without opening my mouth.
Or lets say, I am discussing something with a person of academic background. For a while, I can related to all the one million equations I learnt in my engineering including Bernoulli’s equation. But suddenly they start talking about how the Ramanujan prime and function needs to be reworked in mathematical as well as physical terms or something in those lines. At this stage, you can either find me steer the conversation to why pi is actually not related to life of pi but is a number which has a lot of fascinating implications as given by Dan Brown in Da Vinci code, or you could see me nodding my head to everything and everyone without opening my mouth.

Or lets say, people tell jokes. I have no clue what the jokes mean, and then since everyone is laughing you end up smiling with absolutely NO clue what the joke mean. I feel so ‘Joeyish’ then. In most cases, I just ask RD to translate it for me. Him, being him, who married me in sickness, health and joke explanation, just teaches me what the joke means. And after that also I dont laugh 😦

And then there are times when I go to meet a friend with RD. and then RD and this friend and everyone else in the room starts talking football. Now I do get a bit of football thanks to the years spent with RD, but I have pretty much superficial knowledge. Like okay, there is defence and there is attack and stuff. Then people start taking random names, and discussing why Rooney is a better player than Randolf or something like that. Some discussions become so passionate that I feel, even if I started dancing on Chikni chameli, people wont bother looking at me. In these cases, I just remember Joey, sympathise with him and keep quiet.

Or movies. Honestly, thats a topic I can hardly contribute to. Yes I can identify an Irfan Khan from an Aamir Khan but in most cases, my only contribution to such conversations is, ‘Really, so who did you say is the hero? Oh wait, I think I have heard of that heroine? Is she the same in Hum Aapke Hain Kaun? Oh no! okay sorry, got confused’ or something in those lines. And if its a discussion on Hollywood movies, I JUST shut up!

And then books. I tell people I am an avid reader. But my reading is pretty much restricted to fiction. So imagine a room full of people (virtual room) discussing the latest writings of a write say Mr. Ihaveneverheardhimever and telling how they enjoyed ALL his books and since I read a lot,I must have read Book number 22 of his. I stare at them and confess my lack of knowledge. They look at me in surprise, shake their head in despair and CONTINUE to discuss book no. 62 now 😦 I feel so so Joey-ish then.

Any other Joeys out there in the blogworld?

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Being Joey

  1. Prachi says:

    What a hillarious post….Ha ha ha….
    *reads again* “why pi is actually not related to life of pi” ha ha ha….

    Well, I am also the same kind RM…somehow if you find one more person in that virtual room nodding her head to everything and everyone, that will be me..!! Though I am better in bollywood.
    but I know few people who knows everything about..well…everything…*sigh*

    PS: You have done engineering…*same pinch* which stream…?

  2. Me, me, me, me, me! I am a big-time Joey. πŸ™‚
    I live in my own universe, and do only my kind of things. So, I am at a loss when put in the midst of a group of people discussing things out of that universe. πŸ˜›

  3. Smita says:

    Every body has a Joey inside him/ her because nobody knows everything! OK!!!

    Matter finish chapter closed!!

  4. Smita T says:

    Me me complete joey…. can hardly relate to anything u mentioned like football economics politics etc etc…. so my best option is shut up…. and just listen…. or if the talk is too boring drift off to something nice…

  5. Tharani says:

    LOL at hum aapkae hai kaun. You have some brainy people around you huh? Most of the people I know are dumb as me, so no worries πŸ˜‰

  6. VJ says:

    Me ! Me ! Me !
    I was nodding all through this post.

  7. greenboochi says:

    I am a complete Joey when it comes to Politics and Economics – oh yes books too! While I can add some points, I cant make my presence felt. But its not right to take it too hard on ourselves RM.. Most of those you mentioned are such vast areas.. like books for example. One has to be a mobile wikipedia, if he/she has to contribute to everything πŸ™‚ Thinking of wikipedia, these days I just search about a topic I dont know right away in wiki – smart phones are a boon in this regard πŸ™‚

  8. Almost every person has Joey moments quite regularly.
    Many people don’t speak about these Joey moments, during or after the moments.
    Some people handle their Joey moments very bluntly. For example, though I read quite a bit, I’ve never read Harry Potter. If a conversation about HP goes on for over a few seconds, I openly admit that I’m totally lost.
    Some people handle it with humour. A friend of mine is absolutely not interested in sports. Whenever a passionate discussion about cricket goes on for more than 5 minutes, he gets the subject changed by saying loudly, “Boss, Ronaldo plays football very well!”

  9. anisnest says:

    yes yes yes count me in RM.. acting like Joey most of the time..

  10. Bingo says:

    I am … I am … at least you have HP and Da Vinci to talk about. I haven’t read them 😦 and I don’t watch friends too 😦 😦

  11. Well, I have my Phoebe moments with Rachel moments splashed in.
    So, I get you. Haha

  12. “in sickness, health and joke explanation”…I am sooo including that in my wedding vows! I feel Joey-ish in so many of the same situations as you RM! Politics, sports, and any music that isn’t Hindi are topics I have nothing to contribute about.

    Although, politics in the HP world, I’m sure both of us could weigh in on. I also thought the Lucius Malfoy-Fudge politics was very fascinating. Maybe we can discuss that instead? πŸ˜€

  13. Smitha says:

    I am Joey in so many situations too. I’m clueless when it comes to movies although politics I can work with. Even books, although there is nothing I like more than reading, I read all sorts of nonsense, so and up missing a lot of books that are considered intellectual, I guess.

  14. Hehe πŸ˜€ I love that episode! Remember he will try to steer the conversation to Vesuvius cos he read V? Too funny!
    Anyway. I am Joey at times, but as I proclaim and confess, I think i am a pretty clever Joey. Not an oxymoron. I can explain. So lots of times when i am in a no clue about something situation (esp Politics, ugh!) I pick from one place and use it confidently elsewhere, and it works! I am not kidding how many times I have used picked up info like this is in conversations and it totally looks like I am a knowall! Hehe πŸ˜€
    I also dislike sports discussion. I think I am good at steering it all to books, movies, music. πŸ™‚

  15. MR says:

    oh yes there are πŸ™‚

  16. kaj says:

    I am such a Joey that everything you wrote about seems like Ross speaking.:-) I can’t even quote HP to help out in conversations.:-)

  17. Archana says:

    I am a complete Joey in case of English music, apps, wifi games… basically anything a person with taste should know about!

  18. techie2mom says:

    LOL!! One more Joey here…

  19. kash says:

    I’m a Joey when it comes to english music and used to feel kind of embarrased about it in the initial days of college coz it used to be such a converstaion starter that i felt if people in my college even know of bwood songs . But gradually i realised that there is nothing to be embarrased about it , well u cant follow or like what others do.So now whenever people start discussing about a new song or comment on me being so “musically challenged” i just IGNORE them.

Leave a Reply

