Dish of The Week #2 – Undhiyu – Blogging Marathon Post 12

The undhiyus I have tasted in Baroda and in Bombay have always been full of oil. In some cases, oil was floating all over the dish! I guess thats the way its made. But I got this really nice recipe from a friend who is an expert cook. While this may not be treated by some as authentic (read oil filled!) undhiyu, the taste is pretty decent.

Ingredients

Kand (purple yam), Sweet Potato, Potato, Tuver, Papdi (This is what I used, but you can use raw banana (split into 4 pieces), small brinjals (again cut into four pieces but should retain shape) and any other vegetable you think you want to add (avoid greens and bhindi and stuff!) I know of people who even add cauliflower to it, I would avoid it!) – 100 grams each

Traditionally, the papdi has to be the surti papdi, but I used the normal ones

For paste:
Coriander leaves (one big bunch)
Coconut (1/4th cup)
Sugar (to taste)
Ajwain (2 tbspoon)
Salt to taste

If you want to make it with garlic then try and get the green garlic which you get in winter season, or use the normal garlic like how I did, or you can avoid garlic all together!)

Method

Add all the ingredients for the paste into the mixer and grind it to a fine paste. You can add some water if you wish

Then cut the vegetables so as to make slits in them so that you can fill in the paste as shown in the picture. While some people add oil to the kadai and let it heat up, I just add this directly to the kadai. Then I add 2 spoons of oil to the kadai just before putting it on the stove. You can add the paste to the tuver and the papdi with your hand so as to coat the vegetables with the paste.

Add all this and put the kadai on the stove with low flame. Then take a plate and cover the kadai and add hot water on the plate which serves as a heating agent from the top providing even heating to all the vegetables. The veggies and the paste will slowly change colour. Keep adding hot water everytime you see the water evaporating. Stir the undhiyu once in a while. Its done when you can slit a spoon easily into the kand because it takes the longest to cook.

Some people add green chutney and sev on top of the undhiyu before serving but since I was making a low calorie version makes no sense to add the sev. So we just had it like that with fulkas ๐Ÿ™‚

PS – take only 100 grams of each vegetable that itself will give you a substantial amount of undhiyu. If you are more than 4 people in the family, make it 150 grams each.ย 

All photo credit is the brat! She patiently stood by me to take pictures at every step!

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Dish of The Week #2 – Undhiyu – Blogging Marathon Post 12

  1. anisnest says:

    I never heard about this before.. will try someday.. no onion, tomato or chillies? how will this taste? sweet?

  2. Priti says:

    I have devised a way to make healthier versions of methi muthias without frying which taste delicious! My family loves them, I had to find a way as an undhiyu without muthias was unimaginable for my loved ones, they dig in for the muthias first! ๐Ÿ™‚ so what I do is I chop lots of methi, add besan, salt & spices and knead a dough using yogurt instead of water and at the end add few tsp of oil to make it non sticky. Then I make small elongated balls of this dough and simply drop it in boiling water ( like one does for making ‘gatte’) and when they are cooked they rise to the top and I spoon them out. You can also steam them instead in a pressure cooker or microwave. Then I slice them in half and add them to the tadka while making undhiyu and let them brown on the outside before adding other vegetables. Cook undhiyu as usual and enjoy guilt free! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. So this is what undhiyo is! I had heard its name ever so often but never got to see what it looks like. Thank you for this healthy recipe. And the brat did a great job with the camera!

  4. Looks lovely! I’m drooling! ๐Ÿ™‚
    This is pretty much the way I make undhiyu, too. I use garlic in the paste, but don’t add ajwain to it. I use til and ajwain in the vaghar, and I make it in a pressure cooker. I normally don’t stuff the vegetables, just coat them with the spice paste. I add methi na muthiya too.

    • R's Mom says:

      yaa..you can use garlic or you can make it without it ๐Ÿ™‚ I dont pressure cook because I think it changes the taste..*mental state!*

      Methi na muthiya is deep fried na..thats why didnt add

  5. Santulan says:

    making food use of the smartphone ๐Ÿ˜€

    I will be making some undhiyu on vaasi uttarayan too.. Some of the best that i have had is on the higway from daman to bharuch.. You have many roadside stalls where they heat it with coals and clay pots..

  6. techie2mom says:

    I want Undhiyu and I want it with kand ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    We don’t get kand in Noida and after muthiya that’s my favorite part in undhiyu…
    R sure has some patience..Hugs to her….
    Traditional undhiyu doesn’t have to have lots of oil.. The one that my mom makes doesn’t have oil floating on top…

  7. chattywren says:

    Like your recipe, sound simple. I am a Gujju who has never made Undhiyu at home. Here I don’t get half the ingredients.

  8. Jayashree says:

    That’s a lot of work, RM…..but I am sure the results must have been worth it.

  9. DI says:

    I have never had Undhiyu! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ Now I am hungry. Bah.

  10. kirti says:

    wowwoowwooowww. The pics look awesome. It does not look like a lot of work (I am into cooking for 2 decades now) just that I am waiting for the hubby to be back in town. my brat 2 is committed to eat only unhealthy stuff .

  11. Fem says:

    I live in a Gujarati area and recently tried this from one of the local shops. It was too sweet for my taste. Do you have any idea how to reduce the sweetness in this dish? Apart from not adding the sugar, that is. ๐Ÿ˜€

    • R's Mom says:

      Come home and I will make you a non sweet version..well the shop guys do add sugar to the food…if you make it without any sugar it will just have the natural sweetness of sweet potato which is good…skip out the cheeni when you make it..or just let me know by email…last undhiyu of the season is left to the made..you can come home for lunch one weekend eh?

  12. RM, I followed this recipe yesterday and made small steamed muthiyas too.Overall v successful. Used only baigan and alu as I dislike all the other veggies in Undhiyo normally. Came out well, except a tad too garlicky. Used cloves of garlic instead of green ones . Oh and my sense of proportion sucks so quantity was huge! Have tons left and have had it for 2 meals already and it is a heavy meal too. Oh well, I will just learn to make less next time. Will pucca be making it again soon.Thanks so much for this healthyish recipe:)

    • R's Mom says:

      ooohhhh nice..undhiyu tastes better the next day ๐Ÿ™‚ I always make zyada because proportions arent my cup of tea either ๐Ÿ™‚ glad you enjoyed ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

