The New Year Party – Blogathon Post 2

Pointers from the New Year Party arranged by the building

1. Kids have fun. They need nothing to let their hair down literally. In R’s case, it even means leaving her slippers behind to run bare foot!

2. Mothers either socialize or get bored (read RM). Funnily no women in the building I know went down to have drinks with the fathers (read point 3 here)

3. Fathers either talk, or go down in pairs to have drinks, leaving the kids with the mothers, or just generally stand doing nothing or stare into their smart phones with such intensity that they could bore holes in them with their eyes

4. Grandparents seem to have no fun at all 😦 they are just up to eat the dinner and take care of the grand kids occasionally

5. Women don’t dance until one woman (read RM) gets up to move her body

6. Women always dance in pairs or group. I think the men of the building are more comfortable with their bodies

7. People prefer junk food like pani puri, bhel puri, pav bhaji, chinese noodles and stuff as compared to puri subji etc

8. Parents seem to be cool giving their little ones aerated drinks!

9. The countdown to the new year, is different for different buildings..the one next to us, did the countdown 2 minutes before ours

10. People love noise in India. There were crackers bursting till 2 in the morning

11. Children just like running around. R ran in circles till I got dizzy! I know its a repeat of point 1, but seriously she did a lot of running!

12. I got so bored in the party that I left at 10.30 and then went back at 11.35 to usher in the New Year

13. R got super cranky at 11.35 and refused to even let me dance. She was just in a daze. Wont come down to sleep, wont let me dance 😦

14. I think I go to parties only for the food. That’s the only thing which allures me

15. Next year, I am going to usher in the New Year snuggled up in a blanket with a nice romantic book in hand. I had enough of these pseudo celebrations!

How was your party?

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

62 Responses to The New Year Party – Blogathon Post 2

  1. summerscript says:

    hehe… Slept Slept Slept peacefully 😀

  2. simple girl says:

    no party for me.. I was in the cozy confines of my bed and I like it that way .. 🙂

  3. This was one of those years where I boycotted New Year Party and spend at home with my loved ones.

  4. Sapna says:

    This year I decided to skip the pseudo-celebration and as if TVwalas knew my wish, this year no good programs to watch on tele either.I did just that – snuggled up in a blanket and read a nice romantic book.

  5. Nice observations!
    We brought in the new year, snuggled inside a warm blanket, holding hands and watching TV. Some silly show, but it was fun for a change. 🙂 Then went off to sleep at about 1.30. went for dinner yesterday to avoid the crowds on 31st.

  6. Jayashree says:

    Loved point no 15. Kids really need so little to have fun and be happy, na?

  7. Maya says:

    Our party was pretty awesome.. We were under a cozy quilt through the new year’s eve, while the husband had his party with work! 🙂 🙂

    Considering point 13 alone, managing 2 cranky kids, even food doesn’t allure me anymore! Yes.. I am lazy! 🙂

  8. Smitha says:

    You had me nodding away except the dancing part, I can’t dance for the world:)

    But yes, noise and chaos is not exactly my favorite style of celebrating either. This year we went to an Indian restaurant and it was so loud and annoying that we left early. Next time, we either call friends at home or just stay home and relax.

  9. Bingo says:

    Here we have to pay for the food that too over priced 😦 so we had dinner at home and went there to enjoy the rest 🙂

  10. Shweta says:

    We celebrated it with loads of dancing, fun, careless banter, food, cards and FRIENDS!!!
    But the 1st year of 2014 saw me in a daze all day long! I guess night outs are reacting the bad way and my body seems to be telling me ‘you are getting old!’
    Nonetheless, the night and all the partying was great! Although I love your idea of snuggling up in a blanket with a nice romantic book in hand. *ponders over*

    • R's Mom says:

      hahaha! its fun to do it friends rey..in my case, I am not very comfortable with the ladies of the building, my wavelength doesnt match with theirs, And I really dont have any friends who would spend their new year eve with us 🙂

  11. DI says:

    Ooh, I would tell you but I cant waste blog content on comments na 😐
    Bah! Pressure!
    Also, really? No women went with their husbands? I wouldn’t leave The Dude , would cling! 😮

  12. techie2mom says:

    Haha… welcoming new year with a romantic books is the best idea!! I welcomed the new year by dozing off 😉

  13. Maddie says:

    hahahaha….you go only for the food! That’s what I do too if am in India, first get to know the menu and then decided whether I want to go 😀

    We were at home. Kiddo slept early and hubby and I watched The Lunchbox. Then we watched the fireworks on TV 🙂 The Edinburgh fireworks and Hogmany celebrations are one of the best and it’s a shame that in these four years that we’ve been here we never once went to see them. Hopefully this year. Adding that to my resolutions 🙂

    • R's Mom says:

      What fun..

      Is lunchbox a good movie? Heard so many good reviews…need to watch it!

      I hope you get to see the fireworks..but it would be very crowded no?

  14. greenboochi says:

    Loved no.15, what else can be the better way to celebrate new year than the way you love it?

    I spent the last few minutes of 2013, deep in sleep with S next to me watching his favorite movie 🙂

  15. shachi18 says:

    Never did parties except once. This year, we met at a friends place to play poker (without money, friendly games) – although, we were mostly trying to stop the kids from shoving the cards and poker chips into our shoes haha. It was great though – lots of chatting and laughter, kids playing (mine slept early), wished new year to each other at midnight and parted.

  16. ashreyamom says:

    Bunty was awake till one it seems.. I slept by 11.30.. :).

  17. Nidaa says:

    Happy New Year RM, RD & R 😀

  18. Nur says:

    Now listen to my version…We heard lot about the grand fireworks on River Thames being one of the world’s first one involving all seneses.News media told us in addition to audio, visual effects, we would be able to get smell seven flavors of difffrent fruits.

    Thinking that I have never been to this grand event in 7 years, I decided to take my 3.5 year old ( he just loves fireworks) along with my parents at 11.00 in the wintery/rainy night throuough a 40 min train journey and then 25 min walk only to find ourselves in a mob of drunk and rough people all over.There were quarter a millon people in London that night. There was no sight of any fireworks from a safe place where we manged to find (behind tall buildings overlooking the river).

    Just cursed myself for getting overexcited by the visuals and news reporting about the event.
    You need to live outside India to know these psuedo celebrations are not that bad !

    • R's Mom says:

      Aiyo I cant believe you did this!!! Darn darn darn! Was kiddo disappointed?? I hope not! He is already 3.5! Gee…growing up no?

      I hope 2014 is the time we get to meet each other 🙂 Plans to come to India? Mail me 🙂

  19. Archana says:

    And I am super-jealous of you for being able to dance in gay abandon without waiting for other ladies to start!

  20. Tharani says:

    I went to church and welcomed New year like a good girl and come morning, friends came home and you know what we did na.

  21. Pepper says:

    I go to a party only for the food too. It is perhaps my only true motivation. Everything else either annoys, bores or scares me.

  22. Veens says:

    we went to our parents society to usher in the new year. And as usual we (me and Hubs) were to eat and scoot lol! My mom and sister and Dad stayed back. My Hubs went and got a Happy New Year cake which we cut when my family came in and then came home and slept lol! nothing major. Next year, I think I will be more in a physical shape to dance, but for some reason- there is no motivation to dance, i do not have friends and it seems so artificial- all this set up :o/ When I was young we spent the 1st 15 yrs in the same place, ushering in the new year the same way with family friends – and that used to be so much FUN! Now it is just slim (or i – think – i – am slim) and fit mommies, in there knee length frocks trying real hard to manage there dresses, there hair, there tots and there dances lol! It is all so artificial, where is the damn fun?

    • R's Mom says:

      Cake..thats a good idea..should try it next year!

      I guess you are right about the artificial part…I did feel it this time when I was up in the terrace!

  23. Haha! I can totally get R’s crankiness. You should see me when I am sleepy or tired. I have a ‘me against the world’ scowl on my face.
    About the food, atleast they did not have pizzas and burgers and cheesy stuff. Our Desi fast(?!?) food is wayyyyy healthier! Pav bhaji has all veggies, bhel n pani puri has no oil. I realized this after moving to the States and seeing the junk people eat. I sometimes make a big bowl of pav bhaji ka bhaji and eat just that for 2-3 days with brown bread or roti n lil cow ghee. Less potato and more cauli, peas, carrots and bell pepper.

    • R's Mom says:

      Arey aisa kuch nahi rey..you should have seen the butter oozing out of the pav bhaji and bhel and pani puri have sev nad puri in it na..woh to deep fried hai no?

      I love that idea of big bowl of pav bhaji..should try that at home 🙂 thanks for the idea 🙂

  24. Ashwathy says:

    Ouch!! That’s a little sad… considering it would have been a lovely party if people mingled more and generally chilled out. I sometimes feel women are too conscious that way.

    I guess you may not very familiar with the other families living in the flat…which is when it gets uncomfortable. Hopefully next year is a bit better for you. Happy 2014 sweetie! 🙂

  25. Chattywren says:

    I can imagine building parties can be boring and awkward! Food would be the only lure for me too! Though I do enjoy garba or ganpati festivals as community celebrations, very contradictory, I know 🙂

  26. Great post and yes this is the same thing that happens in our society as well, so I prefer to stay indoors with Prince A and hubby and cook something special or order it out. Yes, even I have seen that parents are ok with kids having aerated drinks and then run later to the dentists saying that the teeth are decaying. Anyway the idea of snuggling in a bed with romantic book is indeed worth thinking over, so next time I am going to try that only.

  27. hitchy says:

    No party! I have given up! I sleep early as 1st is a holiday and we plan an outing early next morning when most people are sleeping and so where ever you go you can own the place… like we owned the bird sanctuary we visited the next day.. no crowd and lots of fun 😀

  28. anisnest says:

    no party here.. just watched NY ball drop on TV with Adi and then went to bed!

  29. telugumom says:

    We did not have any party. I used to like to be up until 12:00 and call people to wish them But, I guess I am growing old. These days, I like to have a quite time at home with S and it is even better if the kids are asleep 🙂

Leave a Reply

