Of Blue Buses and Cheese Platters

I did two new things in the second last weekend of 2013.

1. I sat in an open air double decker bus for the first time in my life
2. I actually saw what a cheese platter looks like!

and thanks to RD for both the experiences 🙂

On Saturday, we went to R’s school who had some major exhibition ongoing for older children and they said the offices are closed and so the fee book matter is still a sword hanging in the air 😦

Anyways that evening, RD had this super plan in place which he wanted to surprise us with..now the thing with RD is, he plans a surprise, and then he gets so excited about it, that he really cant hide it..and then he will keep dropping these not-so-subtle clues all the while and when I really refuse to figure out what it is (arey surprise hai to rehene de na) he is like you are not excited *rolls eyes* Anyways, so what we did on Saturday evening was

We got a train and reached Churchgate. Walked till Gateway of India and boarded a Nilambari bus. Yayayayayyayay!

For those of you who haven’t tried it, PLEASE DO! Its totally worth the Rs.180. Whether its the cold breeze blowing, or the tree tops kissing your head or the sights and sounds of Mumbai. Its worth everything. I know its a tad bit expensive for an hour, but I think its totally worth it.

The lady guide in the saree, was really giving such awesome history about Mumbai, though I would have loved if she was a little more dynamic..she spoke in the same monotonous voice, but that apart, I think it was a fantastic ride…so many things I didnt know about Bombay, the origin of Walkeshwar and BanGanga, and the fact that Bombay was given as dowry to the Portuguese by the British who gave it back and the history of the highcourt and the fact that Eeros Cinema as a dancing hall with springs attached (did I hear that right?) it was an awesome experience.

R and RD sat together and R was a bit disappointed by the fact that the bus wasnt going fast 🙂 But she enjoyed the views, the breeze, the touching the branches of trees and the experience on the whole.

After the bus ride, RD took us to this awesome place for dinner known as ‘Indigo Deli’ He didnt tell me in advance because he knew I would otherwise crib about the expensive place and all that. But the place was awesome. Amazing food and nice service.

R went off to sleep in the middle of the meal, but RD and I had a good time. And he got me cheese platter. You know that big plate which has like different kinds of cheese which you can eat. I have NEVER EVER seen a cheese platter in my life.

While growing up, cheese was this rare entity in the house. It was expensive and whenever we got it, Cousin K, RMB and I used to say its ‘gold’. We used to save EVERY bit of it and use it judiciously. We used to wipe the grate CLEAN so that not even a speck of the cheese was lost.

So imagine my state when I saw an ENTIRE PLATE OF CHEESE. I just couldnt even eat it :):) I was staring at it for like 5 minutes :):)

Anyways, that and the yummy tomato soup and the awesome pasta, pretty much made the SAturday evening memorable. We even got a fast train back home 🙂

So now I can proudly say that I have had a CHEESE PLATTER..yayayayay!

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Of Blue Buses and Cheese Platters

  1. You’re are way too cute! Loved how your enthusiasm came through with the cheese platter in particular. My biggest weakness is cheese….absolutely love my cheese! And cheese, crackers and wine are the best combination ever!!! You really should get on to Instagram and share these moments with us through your pics! 😀

  2. Wow, an open-air double decker bus ride sounds awesome! I haven’t ever done that. I haven’t even been in a normal double decker bus. 😦 Pity, no?

    Indigo Deli sounds awesome. We’ll try to visit whenever we are in Mumbai! 🙂

    I haven’t had a cheese platter ever. 😦 If one appeared before me, I am sure the expression on my face would be similar to yours. 🙂

    RD sounds so cute when he has a surprise planned. I am the same. 🙂 I will plan some fun thing, then not be able to hold it in my stomach and almost spill the beans out – I drop hints that are not at all subtle. 😀 The OH, on the other hand, knows how to throw a real surprise. 🙂

  3. shail says:

    RD sounds like me 😀 😀 I could never keep surprises without it showing on my face, though I am way better now. And I hate when people talk about a place being expensive instead of sitting back and enjoying once you are there.
    Ooh and that bus ride seems awesome. Wish I knew about it when I visited. But then that had been rainy season, not that I would have minded getting wet 😛

    • R's Mom says:

      Yaa RD hates that about me…I always look at the price list before seeing the food..he is like..we do it once in a blue moon..cant you just stay back and enjoy 🙂

  4. Tharani says:

    I always wanted to go on the open double decker buses. I think there is one running in chennai which takes you in the ECR route. Not sure though. Glad you enjoyed. RD is super cute 🙂

  5. Bingo says:

    Cheese platter??!! My stomach is growling now. Glad that you had a awesome weekend !!

  6. ashreyamom says:

    super super.. so ask RD to surprise you once in a while.. :).

  7. Nidaa says:

    I dont need to see a picture. Can just imagine the cheese platter. And this is the first time I have heard of something like a cheese platter though I can empty amul cheese spread pots like this.
    I too am the kind who crib about place being expensive… I learned to keep the exclamations low :D. Dont know why, but spending so much on one meal comes with guilt galore for me. My friends find this exceedingly annoying 😀

  8. Santulan says:

    Did you have blue cheese? it is awesome! You can make a cheese platter at home for the family in like 500 Rupees.

  9. anisnest says:

    you should have taken a pic of cheese platter and shared it here.. we also would have proudly claimed that we have seen cheese platter..

  10. Ashwathy says:

    I need to try the bus out. Definitely. Thank you for telling me. BTW you would speak in a monotonous tone too… if that’s what you said 6 days a week… the exact same sentences over n over again 😛

  11. Veens says:

    Umm; you know 1st Jan is our Anniversary and my Hubs has been “thinking” on what to do; I think I really know what I want! Not exactly on Jan 1st, but may be some months later (once the new babe is in town) we will do this! It is been on my wishlist from the time we hit Mumbai like a bunch of slacked bananas:D and Excelworld and Imagica and Elephata caves and that hiking and that….grrrr! the list goes on! when will we conquer it 😀 Cheese Platter?? **nom nom! No thought can keep me away from food! never 😉 I am at a 3 digit weight (no really!!) what can a couple more do to me 😀 (thats my pregnancy hormones talking, not me! I swear)

  12. The Bride says:

    Oooh must tell my sis about the bus for when she’s in Mumbai next. She is the enthu types who goes to town and all. I, on the other hand, struggle to exit my house when the kids are with me. Though they would love the bus, I’m sure.

    Indigo was one of my favourite places., though I frequented Busaba next door more.

  13. Prachi says:

    Thanks RM …for giving the details of Neelambari bus. LIke most of the others here, it is on my to-do-list since longggg….!! Will definitely do it before leaving mumbai….
    On cheese platter- No comments….I am not a cheese person…though i like grilled veg cheese sandwiches…but that is the max I can take..:-)

Leave a Reply

