Mostly Madly Mayil – GO BUY IT NOW!

Mayil is back. And what a super duper way to continue the series. It was totally worth the wait ๐Ÿ™‚ For all the Mayil fansย who read my blog, I have only one thing to say – GO BUY IT NOW. And for those who haven’t read Mayil, I have only one thing to say – GO BUY both the books NOW!

When I finished the first book, my only problem was that, it ended. And that’s exactly my issue with the second one too ๐Ÿ™‚

350_cover

Mayil goes from 13 to 14, but her writing style in the diary remains as awesome as ever. From new guys in the class to new piercings, from bra buying to sexual harassment, from dancing competitions to puma shoe wearing patti, from going to parties to parental refusal to go to movies, from save grandpa mission to tribal welfare associations, from loving your brother to wanting to throw him in the zoo, the book covers it all.

I had a wonderful time reading it. I got up early on Sunday morning to finish it off. Yes, its so nice that I actually decided to forgo my Sunday sleep and read the book ๐Ÿ™‚

What are the little things about the book I liked

1. References to gender neutral stuff, like Thamarai wearing tights, or how Mayil writes about her father getting angry at her grandmom who asked her mother to have another child since Mayil was a girl Or how Mayil’s Pa says that the lady asking for a boy deserves a lottu in the head ๐Ÿ™‚

2. The subtle hints to second marriages between the older generation

3. The facebook references both for the older generation and the younger one. About creating false accounts and trying to impress seniors. This FB is such a rage no?

4. The reference to the craze of reality shows! and perhaps, touching upon the truth about them..

5. The fights between a teenager and her parents which every teen and teenamillionyearsago can relate to ๐Ÿ™‚

6. The talks about NGOs and stuff both positive and negative

7. The talk about sexual harassment and how to be honest to parents about all incidents in life..

8. The references to Harry Potter, I personally like Mayil more because she loved the HP series as well ๐Ÿ™‚

I could go on and on and on.ย But I wont.

I loved the fact that the book doesn’t make a heroine out of Mayil. She has her faults, and yet she writes in such an endearing manner. The book deals with serious issues in a very matter of factly manner without making a BEEEG issue about it! Something every teen will definitely relate to. I wish I could be a teenager all over again, just so that I could record my teens for me to read now ๐Ÿ™‚

Its difficult to believe that this book has been written by two ladies who are in their 20s. Its as if a teenager has really written it.

A special mention to the awesome illustrations by Niveditha Subramaniam. ย I wish there were some more honestly! My friends at work were blown overย by the bright red cover page ๐Ÿ™‚

Highly recommended for children 11 and above!

Like Sowmya mentioned when R and I were fighting on whose name the book should be signed – I do hope you continue writing Mayil for the years to come till the brat turns a teen ๐Ÿ™‚

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Mostly Madly Mayil – GO BUY IT NOW!

  1. Sounds lovely! I loved Mayil too, and was waiting for this to come out. Will order it soon. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Bingo says:

    It’s one of my wish list books for a long time, now I will add second part as well to that. BD says I am not a teen age girl to read this book. hmpf. Will show him this post ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. ashreyamom says:

    i loved the book too.. :).. this is what inspires me to become an illustrator.. may be i should give it a try..

  4. techie2mom says:

    I sooo want to read both of them now..will order soon.

  5. Veens says:

    I think I need to wait for aarya to be a little bit older for this series… it is for the 8+ crowd, but I really want to get the monster -book by this author which is for her younger audience ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Thanks, RM ๐Ÿ™‚ We’re very glad you enjoyed the book!

  7. RajK says:

    Not available online. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Where did you buy it from?
    RajK

  8. Smitha says:

    Now, I just have to wait to get to India to het hold of the book:) Can’t wait!

  9. Pepper says:

    Like the sound of it. I should order em too!

  10. Prathma says:

    I loved Mayil will not be quiet! Can’t wait to get my hands on this one ๐Ÿ™‚

    • R's Mom says:

      Well if feminism is stupid, why are you on my blog propagating it…dont do no? and whats the connection between a teen book review and feminism *wonders*

  11. Rums says:

    lov loved the Mayil.. Waiting for my part 2 to arrive !!!

  12. Pingback: Mostly Madly Mayil - Book Review | Indian Moms Connect

Leave a Reply

