The Jolt!

On Wednesday night, RD and I were discussing the possibilities of buying a new cycle for the brat. Her current one has side wheels and she still doesn’t know how to balance a cycle. Unfortunately, this cycle of hers is getting too small for her and RD and I were thinking of getting her a new cycle.

RM: Oye R, Santa Claus will give you X’Mas present as cycle. You can ask him for one.

R looks at me for a second

R: Amma, Santa Claus hota hi nahi hai (Santa doesnt exist)

I almost fall out of my chair and choke on my food

RM: What? who told you that?

R: I know.

RM: But how?

R: A bhaiya told me that (A Bhaiya is in her daycare hmpf!)

RD: Of course he is there, dont you remember seeing him in the mall last year?

R: Oh those are real men and women. They wear the Santa dress and act like Santa.

I didnt know what to say.

RM: Well, who do you think gives gift to children if they behave well?

R: you and I go and buy gifts.

RM: Matlab?

R: Matlab mummy daddy give gift and they say its from Santa Claus. Kuch bhi bolte ho Amma!

And my heart just broke into a million pieces. Already cynical?

========

And then I read today about Nelson Mandela’s death. I really liked him. He made me feel that Gandhi was a real person who helped us get freedom through non-violence and not some fantasy character. I am really upset about Mandela’s demise for some strange reason 😦

I hope the weekend turns out to be better!

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to The Jolt!

  1. Prachi says:

    Children are losing the innocence faster than required…. 😦

    BTW, Nice Header of R’s baked stuff… πŸ™‚
    I also liked the earlier one, where 4 kids where peeking out of the window, and I used to wonder which one is R πŸ™‚

  2. ashreyamom says:

    arey RM kuch bhi bolte ho.. kids grow up fast.. :)…

  3. Sri says:

    OMG! She already knows Santa doesn’t exist!

    Sad how fast kids grow today..we had such a carefree childhood!

  4. Shweta says:

    A child today knows much much more RM…
    I still sometimes the need to actually believe in Santa tales….but kids today are pretty rational πŸ™‚

  5. Aw that’s sad that she doesn’t believe in Santa…although, having said that, I don’t think I ever believed in Santa but definitely had a vivid imagination and liked to believe there were fairies and elves and other Enid Blyton creatures in the world. πŸ˜›
    Nelson Mandela’s death is a great loss to the world even though I guess we all knew it was coming given his recent health issues. Such an incredible man.

  6. Ayyo! Too much maturity too soon, eh? 😦
    May Mandela’s soul rest in peace!

  7. Santulan says:

    It is a good thing that R doesn’t believe in Santa. It will save her a lot of heartbreak later. Ok, so maybe that is my past experiences clouding my judgement here πŸ™‚

    Is she excited about a new bike though?

  8. The Bride says:

    Oh dear, but I guess it had to happen at some time…

    I loved Mandela too. I guess he was the Gandhi of our time.

  9. Tharani says:

    She already knows about Santa???? 😦 😦

  10. garima says:

    hey bhagwab R aap itne bade kab ho gaye…trust me beta santa cluase hote hai
    RIP Nelson Mandela.

  11. Nidaa says:

    Awesome gift. Hope she’ll enjoy the gift and and ride until it rots.
    I hardly see kids in cycles these days. But I do see a lot of young professional and uncles in those expensive sports cycle. Imagine riding a 25k cycle!!!

  12. Ayyo she alreday knows that. I wish she didn’t know for few more years. I wrote about Chucky, she still believes and its absolutely cute to play along.

  13. Comfy says:

    erm.. raising my hand up and asking the question in a very low voice — why is it important for kids to believe in Santa Clause? I always wonder when people around me talk about it.

    • R's Mom says:

      Okay, thats a completely new thought process..and yes you are right..WHy should they know about it..I think even RD wondered in the same lines when I told him I was upset that R discovered Santa is not for real…Thank you Comfy, you really give me a new perspective to parenting…thank you

  14. Neeli says:

    I belong to Gen Y but that’s a forgotten era.. this Whats App Gen is much more faster n smarter than us… they are losing their innocence… dont know what future has in store for upcoming generations.. 😦

  15. Ashwathy says:

    Daughter teaching the mommy now! Already??

  16. It is good that R already knows that Santa is nothing but her parents. Don’t you feel proud that her real life parents have taken place for imaginary fairy world Santa Claus.
    Some times our child grow faster than we can grow as a parent. Grow up RM your daughter is bigger and stronger than you think of her! My daughter told me one day…mama do put some money under my pillow on behalf of tooth fairy..and take back my fallen tooth πŸ™‚
    Nelson Mandela???I am sad too…

    • R's Mom says:

      Like I told Comfy, I never thought about it in these lines..so thank you for opening my eyes to a completely new perspective of parenting πŸ™‚ and yes, what you say is very very true!

  17. Rachna says:

    Oh yes, kids hardly believe in fairy tales anymore. They are much smarter, I guess to believe in these tales. Yes, I was upset with Mandela’s death too and resolved to tell my children more about him as a person.

  18. Vibha says:

    I am reminded of an incident from my childhood. I was telling my parents about some story where Santa left gifts in stockings and they got the idea that I believed in Santa (I knew he wasn’t real). So they took great trouble to buy an Amul candy bar, hid it somewhere and woke me up excitedly on Christmas to show me that Santa left me something. I felt bad telling them I knew and had to play along:-)

Leave a Reply

