And The 6K Run…

in Pune was done with a lot of huff and puff and so much so that I am still having leg ache

Few points which stand out

1. Never run without practice.NEVER! but if you have to under certain circumstances, run with a partner. I did neither, and I suffered 😦 I took 52 minutes to complete 6K in a great running weather..very bad!

2. Pune marathon needs to be really really more organized

3. Lack of any water station in the 6 K. There was one right at the start (after 1 K) which was giving fanta 😦 So not right! After that there was no water station at all. I really suffered because of that. Didnt carry any water, assuming I will get it (used to the regular water stations and locals providing water in the Mumbai Marathon!)

4. Lack of actual coordination at the start points and end points. No one knew where the race was starting. We had to ask at least 10 people. And the end point was a joke really. No one to tell you concretely where it ended. I entered the stadium. There were 1000s of people there. Some random cartons of water bottles were on the ground. People attacked it like vultures attacking a dead body. Seriously! I am not exaggerating 😦

5. One lady came running after me when I was standing for a rick. Where is this race ending she asked? What? I already finished in the stadium. What stadium. The one at the back I said, pointing out. But they closed the gate and didnt inform thats the end point she tells me. Poor lady 😦 I felt so bad. I mean here you are, running 6K and it ends like this. An anonmymous person tells you you have done it, Congrats! No end point volunteers 😦

6. Traffic among racers. I kid not. Three motorcycles passed me honking to the runners to give them space. And then, when I was returning to the hotel after waiting for more than 1/2 hour for a rick, I saw the 42K runners on the road, trying to dodge traffic. And it wasnt even 3.5 hours since the 42K started 😦 the runners were looking so frustrated 😦

7. As I was trying to cross a road after my run in search of a rick, I saw a 42K man running. He saw the water bottle in my hand (I grabbed one from the end point after much efforts!) half full and said ‘please give me your water, I am really tired’ I gave it away to him and looked around and found no water station at all!

8. The runners were enthused, but few incidents.
– Woh dekh item jaa rahi hai – A couple of ‘men’ on a girl who was dressed in shorts and a sleeveless t shirt 😦
– A mother and her 8 year old daughter, were running. The daughter was being constantly motivated by the mother, who was on the heavier side, but running effortlessly. I heard two guys say ‘jab karna tha tab kiya nahi, haathi jaise ho gayi, ab baache ko training de rahi hai, dekh’ (When she had to run, she didnt run, and now she is like an elephant and she is giving training to her daughter!)Β 

9. The bibs. The 10 K bibs were given at a different location while the 6K ones at a different one 😦 No one knew what was happening!

This post is not to really say that the marathon was a bad experience. It wasnt, just expected it to be a bit more professional!

Loved running through the small lanes of Pune. Reminded me so much of Baroda πŸ™‚

1. The 5 year old kid who raced past me with his dad. Serious salutes

2. Aanya and her mom. Constant encouragement and superb running. I finished the 6K thanks to them πŸ™‚

3. The rick guy who got me to the hotel. Thank you πŸ™‚

Next year, I am running πŸ™‚

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to And The 6K Run…

  1. Jay says:

    Congrats for completing the marathon. I dont think I have the stamina!!

  2. Santulan says:

    Maybe you can start running on weekends.. My boss does a 5K run everyday. EVERYDAY. Humse to nahi ho paata ye sab.

  3. Prachi says:

    Congrats RM for completing 6K….!!!
    The one thing I really admire about Mumbai is Professionalism.
    After living here for few years, it really makes me wonder how unprofessional other Indian cities are.
    Pune used to be one of my favourite places to live…but my recent visit cleared all the myths..:-(
    And “no comments” on how ppl work & behave in cities like my hometown. I still love the place…but I can see the gaps now.

    • R's Mom says:

      Thanks πŸ™‚

      Ah well, I wouldnt really say that..about Mumbai being really professional and all..I have experienced unprofessionalism in Mumbai definitely…I guess, Mumbai Marathon is one of the better ones globally, so to compare it to Pune may not be correct…plus the Mumbai one charges some Rs. 750 while this one was at Rs. 300 or so and they even gave a T shirt free :):)

  4. Maya says:

    Item, it seems! Should just gag these men and slap them right away! 😦

    Congrats on running the 6K! πŸ™‚

  5. Smita says:

    *Claps for RM*
    Last year I had done 3 k run and realised that without practice its a sheer torture!
    And all of this sounds so very unprofessional re!!! I hope they learn with time!

  6. When so many people care enough to run, it is a pity that these events are not well-organised. 😦 And those comments by the ‘men’, they increased my BP! Damn them!
    Kudos to you, RM, for running. πŸ™‚ What marathon is this? Is it in support of a specific cause?

    • R's Mom says:

      I did expect it to be better organized!

      on the men :(:(

      Well, it was the Pune International Marathon, I didnt run for a cause, just for my weight loss!

  7. Bingo says:

    There are more sad smiley than happy ones. Hmm…. anyways, you had a nice experience there right? Cheers. If there is a way to express yourself to the volunteers, then you can do that.
    All the best for next year πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  8. Sapna says:

    Agree with you on most points. So many goof ups. None from our group who had planned for the Marathon could run coz we couldn’t get our bibs on time and from what I heard the quality of T-shirts was very bad.

  9. Nidaa says:

    Congratulations on completing the race. And 6k in 52 minuites is not bad when you are out of practice. Feel proud πŸ˜€
    Seriously they gave you FANTA? What happened to the tradition of nimbu paani, glucose and electrolyte juice? 5 sucks- I wd have kicked something in frustration.
    7- that was a serious universal test of ethics!

  10. Whoa that is so awesome RM. I think I might be running around 6 K every day, gol gol, around and after those two little dare devils πŸ™„

  11. Sri says:

    Wow Congratulations!:)

    I dont think i have the stamina nor the enthusiasm to run a marathon…managing kid, home and work is enough for me!!!;)

    But seriously, i am motivated by your post to atleast try something in the near future!

  12. Congrats! I am yet to do a marathon. I think it’s awesome you completed 6 ks without the practice. Imagine how you would go if you did train! πŸ˜€

  13. I am from Pune and I love it to bits! But, seriously, God swear, the traffic is atrocious. Saddest part is every time I open my mouth to say how people should try to follow rules, I am told to shut up and not show that I am ‘foreign return’. What is so wrong about trying to imbibe good points from other countries? Siggghhhh

  14. Ashwathy says:

    For someone with hardly any practice, 6K is still something!! πŸ™‚ So I will give you credit.
    Sad na… I thought Pune was more organized than that! 😐 Hopefully next year it gets better. Is there any way of letting the authorities know the feedback?

  15. Yay to you!! you ran 6K with no practice, hats off to you. I would say 52mins is a decent timing considering you didn’t run in past few weeks/months. So you should be proud of this achievement. I recently did my half marathon, not sure if I said earlier but you inspired me a lot with your half marathon an year ago.

Leave a Reply

