The Tendulkar Conversations

So, I am not a big Tendulkar fan. Actually I am just neutral to him. I dont follow the game much, but I do think he is a great person. As in a great human. No controversies, no fights, no losing temper in public, decent person.

RD, his friend, R, friend’s daughter and I are waiting for friend’s wife to finish her exams. We are watching Tendulkar’s last speech.

Friend: Yeh royega

RM: Pakka

RD: no no he is just emotional

RM: bol rahi hoon pakka royega

R: Kyun Amma, woh hurt hai kya?

RD: No he is retiring

R: Matlab?

RM: He is going away

R: Means woh sab ko chod ke jaa raha hai??

*we all laugh*

RD: Yes, R, something like that

R: Kyun Amma

RM: Well, he is retiring, just like Barodu thathi retired from her school, he is retiring from playing..

RD: hussshhh I want to hear him speak

After 10 minutes

Friend’s daughter: Yeh toh bole hi jaa raha hai..

RM: He is thanking everyone around him

RD: I cant believe he is retiring,

Friend : you are getting emotional

RD: *choking a bit though he denies it!* well, he has been cricket to me, I still remember when I was in my class 5, these people in our pada were discussing this young chap named Tendulkar who came to play..its been so many years, I cant imagine Indian cricket without him

Friend and I are smiling :):)

After 10 more minutes

R: Amma, this Tendulkar uncle is still talking, kitna sara telling na

Laughs around 🙂

======

We pick up Friend’s wife and go to the nearby mall because she is very hungry

They have big screens there in the food court and they keep replaying Tendulkar’s last speech and his lovely gesture of touching the pitch at the end..etc etc

R: Amma Amma Amma

RM: Dont shout R

R: Arey that Tendulkar uncle is back to playing, aapne toh bola he retiring, then he coming back again??

RM: :):)

========

and then I speak to my Amma yesterday afternoon. After general stuff, out of the blue says, I think Tendulkar is a great great man. I almost fall off my chair.

RM: What Amma?

Amma: I think Tendulkar is a great man, so humble, I have read EVERY article of his which has come in the papers, No bad word about him. He is truly so nice. I think the best part is the fact that he is asking people to leave his son alone. Isn’t that great? A parent who puts no pressure on his child to perform well.

Ah well, spoken like a true teacher eh?

========

My post on Tendulkar may be the only one which doesn’t talk about his glories. But I do believe he has been great to Indian cricket. But hey I love Dravid too. #Justsaying.

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to The Tendulkar Conversations

  1. hitchy says:

    I didn’t just choke… I wept… and wept again everytime it was replayed! 😛 and I didn’t even want him to stop!

    For me as a kid Sachin symbolised someone who chased and lived his dream. He was just an inspiration to me and so many around. He told us there was life outside the classroom as well… that we could pursue something that we love so much and live that life…sigh… I can go on and on and on… but I won’t…

    I will just leave you with one advice Sachin’s dad gave to him and you can give to R! 😀

    “Chase your dreams but ensure you don’t take short cuts. The path maybe difficult but don’t give up.”

    Probably the best advice a parent can give I think!

  2. Smita says:

    U read my tweets? You know what I have to say on the topic. Like u I am also neutral towards him so was kind of fed up with the non stop Tendulkar fest!!!

    • R's Mom says:

      Well, I guess he is a great man..but yes, the media did hype a little too much..I felt sad the way the photographers and people mobbed him and his family after he finished the speech!

  3. Sri says:

    Hmmm…like you, even i appreciate Tendulkar for his achievements but wasnt a “fan” per se!

    Now, Dravid is a different story..was absolutely crazy about him during my school days..had his picture stuck on the wall beside my bed and my granny once threatened to tear it up and replace it with a picture of God!

  4. Maya says:

    The greatness of the man is that he has made even a non-fan in you write about him! 🙂 🙂

    And, who said Sachin has no controversies behind him? The ferrari-customs duty one, selfish cricketer, uses his position to his advantage, doesn’t speak up during important times, cannot captain the team – oh.. so much more! But, the sheer fact that beyond all this, he unites a country of billions and brings joy to them everytime we walks down the ground – needs to be acknowledged and appreciated. That, I think, is the mark of his genius!

    • R's Mom says:

      Yaa…because I have been having an overdose of him, and the last straw was my Amma..I never expected her to even talk about cricket..ever!

      I am not aware of his controversies..thats news to me! but I never claimed to be cricket savvy eh?

      Yes, I agree on his genuis

  5. Deeps says:

    I dont follow cricket much either, but I love love love Sachin, for the sheer passion and respect with which he treats the sport and for the humble person he is despite the glories it got him. I doubt if there ever will be another sportsman like him..

  6. Swaram says:

    I luv Dravid too 😀

  7. metherebel says:

    RM I share similar sentiments about Tendulkar! But I love Dravid 🙂

  8. Ramya says:

    just coz of your last line, am not scolding you for making fun of last speech of Tendulkar 😦 But truly RM, I kept on telling hubby on and off that it was bad Dravid was not given such a nice farewell. Infact I was asking him all along what stopped people from giving him a decent farewell. Anyways 2 great people is all that I can say

    • R's Mom says:

      I am not making fun of the speech AT ALL! I think it was a great speech though a tad bit long..but when you spend 24 years playing cricket you do have tons of people to thank..so thats fine!

      Yes, Dravid deserved such a farewell as well 🙂

  9. Bingo says:

    I cried without my knowledge. He is awesome and I liked Anjali’s interview as well. 🙂

    I have a friend who married to Dravid in her dreams and she celebrates anniversary every year. I am not kidding.

    • R's Mom says:

      I didnt see/read Anjali’s interview!

      Wow! your friend is super :):):)

    • Pepper says:

      What? She does that? ROTFL. Can’t stop laughing.

      RM, all you have to say about this friend is that she is super? Are you sure you read the comment? If you did, how come that didn’t elicit a laugh?!

      • R's Mom says:

        She is super because she actually celebrates the anniversary..dont you think thats super, I think its super..I admire the dedication eh? heheheheheeh!

        Pssst Thought it would be rude to ROFL though thats what I thought first, because its her friend’s personal choice on?

        • Pepper says:

          Err, wha, wha, what? Okay, I typed a *long* comment on that response of yours. I was so taken aback by that logic and had so much to say. But decided to not send it. I think I’ve been goign back and forth with your comment space a lot these days, wonder why. Lol.

  10. aarya says:

    Am I Sachin fan? I think not because I don’t know much about his records and achievements. For a long time I watched cricket only if Sachin or Sourav were playing. I love both of them. I wept when Sachin got out in this last match. In fact I had tears the whole time he was on the pitch. And I cried listening to his speech. It was long, yes, but it was thanking everyone who supported him in good times and bad for 24 years. I like him because he comes across as such a humble human being.
    I wrote about him here

  11. pixie says:

    I’m very neutral towards Sachin. 😀
    I like Dravid and Dhoni.

  12. The era of gentleman’s game has ended. My cricket love ended with the guys like Ganguly, Dravid, Kumble and now Tendulkar retiring. Ganguly was passionate, Dravid was so humble and SRT and Kumble just so classy. Now cricket is full off aggression and foul mouths, however good they may be.

  13. Ooooh, and I had a massive crush on Dravid in 10th. He broke my heart after getting married. Also, my feelings reduced after the whole Chapell fiasco where he became the captain and totally sidelined Ganguly and the group.

  14. ashreyamom says:

    i liked that last line RM.. we love dravid too.. :).. in school we used to compare sachin and ganguly to Einstein and newton respectively.
    did you hear the fact why Tendulkar is master blaster??
    ans- his mothers name is Rajini…( relate it to Rajinikanth).
    i loved this statement..

  15. Like you, I don’t follow cricket at all. I don’t even recognise many crickets. In a country like India, that is blasphemy, I know. 😀
    I was pretty much neutral to Sachin’s retirement, because I have never really watched him play, anyways. I didn’t understand much of the technical stuff that everyone was blogging, tweeting and posting about on FB. Your post was a welcome change for me. 🙂

  16. Amit says:

    I too don’t follow cricket much but I have deep respect for the guy. He had the most non-controversial career.

Leave a Reply

