Weekend Randomness

1. Cleaned the house for Diwali. It looks really clean, even the kitchen and the fridge *pats self on back*

2. R’s school closes, which means going late to work, but its okay, now I should stop cribbing about it really!

3. Did a book reading for an NGO on Saturday…LOVED the feedback and plan to do it every month..please God dont spoil my plans to give back to the society please! and gosh the girls there are so so talented..RD and I were blown away by their talent!

4. RD made lunch after a LONG time on Sunday afternoon. Simple, but healthy and tasty πŸ™‚

5. For the first time in 7 years the man I married acknowledged my Gujju connection and got me gold (Rs. 650 but whatever!) for Dhanteras in advance. Got a second hole pierced in my ears…for the fourth time..go laugh! I keep doing it and it keeps getting closed..but this time I got a gold permanent one done..which should be removed only after a couple of months..RD wanted to get a diamond one, but I refused..bhai, diamond ka resale value is not too good eh? Gold is better!

6. After 5 years, got R’s ear rings changed as well..she had permanent ones on..now I got a screw type gold one done. so she can change ear rings now πŸ™‚

7. For the first time got two chappals at the same time…hit on wallet – Rs. 500..Bata ki jai ho :):)

8. I am really disappointed with the world as far as children’s shoes are concerned..apparently most shoe shops we visited (we visited FIVE!) had only high heeled chappals..whats the point tell me…please??? I mean heels for kids!!!

Madam, yeh fashion hai, Diwali fashion Β the shopkeeper tells me when I crib about it… I was really bugged and disappointed…R wants one with heels because everyone in her school wears one on party days :(:( I hate being that awful mom, but seriously..heels for 5 year olds is just too much 😦

9. R’s school says Children’s day party after vacation gets over. Girls to dress in pink and Boys to dress in blue!!! really…I mean REALLY??? How the hell do I teach the kid to be gender neutral when the school teaches stuff like this :(:( RD initially told me, I was over reacting when he read the circular..but then he felt, may be it is wrong and encourages gender stereotyping in kids 😦

I am terribly upset about it…but yaa..I will make her wear a pink frock 😦

10. The building is lighted with a 1000 electric lamps. I am the sole one who feels its a wastage of electricity. I put this up on twitter wondering if I am getting a bit cynical? Smita said I am getting a bit cynical :):) yaa yaa, getting older, and grumpier πŸ™‚

Happy week folks, just 5 days to Diwali yayayayayayay!

Did you check out the IMC contest?

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to Weekend Randomness

  1. Archana says:

    On the pink-blue thing – that gets my goat as well! I wrote a post about it, when I couldn’t find a SINGLE flowery shirt for Ahaan, and had to make it myself: http://musingsanddoodlings.blogspot.in/2013/07/girlish-cars-and-boyish-flowers.html

    Diwali cleaning – AARRGGHH!!! I am feeling like a lousy mom and homemaker the last few days – add forgetting diwali cleaning to the list!!!!

    The lighting mania annoys me too – not the building one, the street ones – hundred and thousands lighting the trees, shrubs, lamposts, the canopy above our heads and what not! So much energy wastage!!

    • R's Mom says:

      Oye come to my side of town, you will get flowery shirts..oh but wait, I think they are for girls *rolls eyes*

      I really had to clean yaar..the house was so dirty that it was infested with mosquitoes and stuff..if RD had to roll up his sleeves and tie his nose and clean, means it was REALLY DIRTY!

      Glad someone agrees to my wastage bit πŸ™‚

  2. Nidaa says:

    Happy Diwali to R Family… Yikes high heels for kids. What next?
    Now R can go for matching ear rings, big loops and such stuffs eh? may be even raid your collection.
    Buy a dress with both pink & blue n it… stripes or something πŸ˜€

  3. Sri says:

    Great that you have a clean home ahead of Diwali!

    Even i hate it when kids shoes have heels..me and hubby just drag our daughter away from such counters! We are just not ready for our daughter wearing heels and make-up so soon!

    Happy Diwali in advance!

  4. K says:

    Cleaning, story telling, shopping…. You did so much work during weekend *namaskarams*.

    We buy footwear from firstcry. Pretty cheap and we get deals and discounts. This is my personal opinion though πŸ™‚

    • R's Mom says:

      yaa..now that you state it..yes I am patting myself on the back at the risk of sounding like a conceited person :):)

      My prob is that the brat has inherited my feet..which are pathetic..big, fat, broad, long like a duck 😦 getting her size online is like chasing for a needle in a haystack!

  5. ashreyamom says:

    wow.. finished cleaning?? nice.. this time i decided no cleaning till pongal.. :). oh this reminds i need to make sweets for Buntys diwali party at school.. so need to chk Jeyashrikitchen for recipe..
    hmmm.. its bad that school is doing such stuff.. why dont you send R in blue frock and note to teacher??

    • R's Mom says:

      I decided two years ago, no cleaning till Diwali 2013..and here it is :):)

      R will refuse to wear a blue frock..she is old enough to express her opinions explictly πŸ™‚

  6. Smita says:

    I also did a lot of cleaning!!!! yay!!! All said and done cleaning is a therapy but errr shud be done only once in a while!!! πŸ˜€

    Heels for kids?? Have they gone bonkers? I mean really?

    I have been wanting to get my ear pierced for ages in fact got it done once and then band ho gaya, may be now u have inspired me πŸ˜€ lets see….

    1000 f*****g lamps??? That is a little too much!!!!

    Happy Diwali….am so looking forward to this….kitni chutti?

    • R's Mom says:

      oh yes..do get your ears pierced…it hurt a bit..actually a LOT!!

      yaa..there are loads of lights rey..row after row in the building!

      one week chutti since the brat’s daycare is closed for the whole week and a day after and before that

  7. Yay on the ear piercing and on the gold! The Gujju genes in me want to buy gold on Dhanteras as well, but prices are way too high! 😦

    Heels for 5-year-olds is actually a bit much. I agree with you, though once in a while, it wouldn’t hurt to let your little darling actually feel like a princess floating on her high heels. That said, I don’t think I can ever float on high heels. I can’t ever wear them gracefully. Flats are best for me. Bata ki jai, for me too, considering the extremely large and flat feet that I have. πŸ™‚

    Yup, I think huge lights on buildings is a waste of electricity, too. Maybe on the day of Diwali, I can accept it, but not so much in advance. Guess I am getting older and more cynical too. 😦

    Hmmm… about the gender stereotyping thing, have you tried talking to the teachers? I do think such stuff enforces gender stereotypes in the minds of children. 😦

    • R's Mom says:

      RD kept telling me gold will be expensive, gold will be expensive..but honestly for Rs. 650, I think its worth it..I wouldnt have done it on any other day..need the mood and all that eh?

      Okay, so to confess, RD did make her walk in those high heels *rolls eyes* and she fell down thrice!!! so floating and all that only happens in movies darling…we should compare feet you know..mine are the ugliest I have seen, closely followed by the brat (yes hers are really ugly πŸ™‚ ) will check out yours when we meet hehehehe πŸ™‚

      I am going to talk to her teachers about this in the next open house!

      • K says:

        But but.. when I discussed with my MIL about this (yes, I discuss about your blog to her) she was wondering what we can get for Rs.650/- as even 1 gram gold is around Rs.3000- !!

  8. rohini26 says:

    I hear you on the kids’ shoes. Last year, I was thoroughly traumatised by the process of finding shoes for the kids for my brother’s wedding!

  9. Antara says:

    Lovely randomness…There are heels for 3 yr olds as well.My lil one wanted one too.They learn about fashion that early these days..!!

    • R's Mom says:

      its not fashion rey…if you dont get anything else what do the kids do…start wearing those and then other kids copy 😦 its terribly frustrating honestly!

  10. high heels??? for 5 yr olds…are u serious???

  11. pixie says:

    Gender segregation gets to me as well!! Gah!
    And you cleaned already for Diwali?!! I have to start!! Its good that our home is really small here! πŸ˜‰
    And yea, heels for 5 yr olds is too much! We started wearing heels only in college and mostly after I started working!! Times sure have changed RM! :-/

    Did you get good chappals in Bata? *curious* I never used to get there!!

  12. Ashwathy says:

    Only you can refuse a diamond and ask for gold thinking from a resale value perpective. You were definitely my blood sister in pichle janam! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ I am just as bad as you are!

    Heels for kids!! At my age, I wear flats! 😐 Hmph!

    I suggest you relax about the colour coding for now. It is not like a girl should not wear pink either… that would be reverse stereotyping, you know. I agree the school needn’t have said that… maybe it’s just a one-time thing. As long as R wears a beautiful pink frock that suits her, it should be fine πŸ™‚

    5 days to Diwali …. yayayay!! Totally with you on that one! Getting 5 days ka chutti! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    • R's Mom says:

      hahahaha!

      Even I wear flats rey!

      yaa..I guess at a point you are right…yaa she has a pink frock..will put that on for her πŸ™‚

      I am taking 5 days chutti since the brat’s daycare is closed..you enjoy πŸ™‚

  13. Loved the randomness. You cleaned already! I am yet to get to business.
    So much wastage of lighting gets to me too – for Dussehra, the Mysore palace spends crores on it. While I no doubt ogle and enjoy the beauty, I do realize the magnitude of the expenditure 😦

    Heels, more than anything, aren’t good for the spine. Once in a while is okay but I hope it doesn’t become a norm.

    Pink frock should be okay RM if it is theme thingy…. not sure if it was stereotyping. But if it keeps happening, I am sure you know what to do best πŸ˜›

    Happy diwali RM, R and RD! πŸ™‚ May your lives be filled with light and wisdom (too much, lol) πŸ™‚

  14. Autumn Leaves says:

    I too hate gender stereotyping. We recently relocated to Australia and my husband used to wear a maroon (with brown patches) sweater to office and his manager asked him not to wear that as it looked girlish! we were so disappointed since that sweater was of good brand (100% wool from monte carlo). In super markets too i could not find any pinkish t-shirts for boys! also the infants here are always dressed up either in pink or blue as per their gender! i think the same is getting imitated in India!

    • R's Mom says:

      Geee! thats a shock that it happens in Australia..I thought they were pretty laid back people eh?

      I am shocked that the manager told your husband not to wear a sweater! Its pretty surprising people pass such personal comments!

  15. Hey we also cleaned house last weekend… Agree with you about blue and pink…but I would say it is still better in India than in Europe. My daughter did not wear anything but pink for first few years of her life, a) nothing more were available for girls b) my daughter was a pink-Philic.
    On returning to India she has started wearing brown! blue! orange etc. blue is her favourite colour now. But on many other actions India has more stereotypes! Try to keep her motivated to try and do all sorts of things in life.

  16. techie2mom says:

    you cleaned the house?! i find that task so daunting…Thankfully my maasi was here last month and she cleaned and re-cleaned every nook of the home for me πŸ™‚
    wow you did a book reading!! sounds totally fun…may you keep getting the chance to do it again and again…
    heel wala shoes for kids?!? i hope Zini doesn’t fall for them..
    you got 2nd hole pierced?! you are sooo coool…

    • R's Mom says:

      Wow! you lucky girl to get such an awesome maasi, I am jealous :)::)

      Dont talk about the heel shoes yaar..its pretty crazy honestly!

      yes yes, and this time preventing it from getting infected as well..yayayay!

  17. After we moved into the new home cleaning has become a herculean task for me. I mean my mom and R says when ever they see me I will be with a broom or tissue wiping things. I cann’t explain them how much pleasure I get doing it. I am even thinking to quit my full time job and start a maid service business here.

    I started reading for Kids and like you said spending time with kids itself is a wonderful feeling.

    What a coincidence R made Sunday lunch too and he made delicious biriyani, because I love biriyani.

    Looks like we think so much alike, R got some high heels chappal for Chucky along with her Halloween costumes and we had a skirmish at home, I was like how a four year old is supposed to walk on heels, though it is a small one.

    • R's Mom says:

      but you have such a HUGE house na? so it will take time..oh you should, I have heard its a very lucrative business eh?

      thats wonderful πŸ™‚

      yummm on that biryani πŸ™‚

      I guess R wouldnt have had a choice but to get those heels..at least here there seems no choice at all!

  18. Ramya says:

    Hey RM… been long. Where are you? Pls dont tell me you are also off like SnS 😦

  19. Hello hello! Long time, no see. All ok, I hope?

  20. K says:

    2 weekends are over after this!!!

  21. Santulan says:

    Diwali saaf safai is so much of kaam. I always get exhausted even though I am just helping mom out.

    There are people who light lamps upto dev diwali! The whole lamps thing might look pretty., but as a cumulative is a waste .

Leave a Reply

