Ah! Well….

So I picked up R yesterday from daycare and we were in a rick.

As usual, we started talking about her day and stuff.

RM: Did you eat your three dabbas at school? *rolls eyes*

R: Well, Amma, the oranges you gave were not very sweet, the chikoo was nice, but the cucumber were not good

RM: Why not good da?

R: because, they were just cucumbers. Good for health, but taste sab kuch nahi hai. Thoda theekha, sweet, and all that is nice. Taste bina is not nice.

RM: !!!!

======

Then I tell her that I am going to have a sandwich get together in office on Friday and will give her sandwich for dabba, since I plan to carry the chopped veggies for the sandwich.

R: Acha, kyun party hai?

RM: well, because there is this lady, who has a baby in the tummy which is expected to come out soon and we are giving her send off…..

R: Oh tummy mein baby hai?

RM: yes..you know how umachi gives baby in the tummy and then…

R: you mean she is pregnant?

RM: Jaws dropped and shut up!

==========

PS – Did you check out this awesome contest on IMC…go on and write away (http://www.indianmomsconnect.com/2013/10/22/more-for-girl-power-contest/)

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to Ah! Well….

  1. Sujatha says:

    Kids grow up very fast right ???

  2. Smita says:

    Ah! Well!!! πŸ˜€ Gone are the times of bees and flowers babe!! This is Gen X πŸ˜€

  3. Trish says:

    LOL!!! She is so clever..!!!

  4. ashreyamom says:

    he he he.. ” you mean she Pregnant”.. ultimate RM.. be prepared to listen more.. :)..

  5. R – five going on fifty, eh?! πŸ™‚ Big hugs from SnS chithi, okay! πŸ˜€

  6. Deeps says:

    LOL! “Taste bina is not nice.” She is absolutely right! πŸ™‚

    “R: you mean she is pregnant?” seedhi baat, nahi! πŸ˜†

  7. Kids are smarter than we think.
    A friend was once watching a Bollywood movie on TV. Hero and heroine in bedroom, hero switches off the light, my friend’s 5 years old nephew says, “Now, she’ll become pregnant!”

  8. K says:

    you are a dabbawala yourself. I guess you would prepare around 7-8 dabbas in the morning. LOL on pregnant πŸ™‚

  9. Sumana says:

    Hey RM, you don’t know baby in tummy means pregnant. Our R knows that….This generation kids are just point blank on the face. Lovely post..

  10. deepM says:

    I just could not control my laugh while reading especially reading the second incident!!

    R is really really cute and sweet!! πŸ™‚

  11. Pepper says:

    I was once introducing my cousin’s 2 yr old son to pizza. I showed him the slice and I was telling him, “Isme cheeze hai, tomatoes hai..’ etc. He looked at me and said ‘yey toh pijja hei’ . I almost fainted. After that, I never get shocked when I hear such things. I can totally image how you felt hearing R talk about somebody being ‘pregnant’. πŸ˜€

  12. PT says:

    LOL! That was so funny πŸ™‚ loved reading both conversations.
    My 6 year old cousin sister once had stomach ache and tearfully told us, ‘My stomach pains so much I think I am going to have a baby!’ We all were so shocked from that comment that we didn’t know whether to laugh or feel concerned about it. After questioning her reaction she told us that she saw on tv some actress has stomach ache and then they hand over a baby to her. So bad stomach ache = baby was set in her mind. My aunt explained her that it happens only after you grow up, not to 6 year olds but the shock from my aunt’s face took some time to fade off. πŸ™‚

  13. Ah well…reminded me of an old email joke that I had received(v old, so odds are that every single soul might already have heard it).A father ,rather clumsily, tries to answer his son’s question on how was he born.He says…well one fine day,God came down from the heaven and gifted a pretty packet to us as a reward to our good deeds and in that packet lay you my son.The son proceeded to ask how his father was born and the father repeated the story, he was delivered in a packet to his parents by the God.The Son asked about his Uncle,his aunt and so on and ended up commenting…so none in our family is born via a normal pregnancy? πŸ˜€

  14. Ashwathy says:

    Holy moly!! She actually said the word pregnant??? Where on earth did she get that? 😯

    • R's Mom says:

      I think from us only 😦

      • Ashwathy says:

        I m not sure how much of a good thing or bad thing it is. On one hand, its good you are not fooling her into believing baby in tummy, ummachi gives it etc. But on the other hand, isnt she too young to learn this stuff?

        • R's Mom says:

          No, I guess she overheard RD and I talking about someone in office who was pregs and said when is the baby due or something in those lines! I dont think she is too young to learn the ‘word’ pregnant πŸ™‚

  15. Sri says:

    Kids these days!!

    They listen to everything we say even when they are playing or watching tv!

    Even my daughter sometimes surprises us with something that i thought i had told my hubby in private!

  16. Comfy says:

    RM, what did you think? These bacchas are too smart these days. Ask me, I have one such at home. The other one is getting there. God help me!

  17. LOL. I can almost see her saying those lines. πŸ˜€

  18. pixie says:

    *jaw drop*
    Yikes!! she is only 5 eh?! Sigh!!

    And yea RM – why give her only cucumbers?! Add thoda sa salt and pepper to the cucumber slices na?!
    *Runs away before RM comes after Pixie with a broom!*

  19. rubberpal says:

    R is not clever but brilliant πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

