The Love Affair….

…runs in the R family. The grandma has it, the mom has it, and now the daughter has caught on to it.

My Amma can survive on curd for years together. Day in and day out, you give her curd rice, and she will live happily. She doesnt even need an pickles with it. Just a dash of salt. And even if thats not there, its totally fine. She is the person who goes to visit a five star hotel, eats to heart’s content, and comes back home to have some curd rice or drink a bowl of curd *rolls eyes*.

Amma is a perfect example of a Tambram who feels any meal is incomplete without curd in the end.

Actually Amma is a very easy guest to have. Ensure buckets full of curd in the house and she is the happiest guest in the world.

I am a curd freak too. Give me anything with curd in it, and I can gulp it down. Kadis, moorkootans, raitas, curd based curries..anything, and I can have it. When I was a kid and couldnt finish the sambhar/rasam rice, Amma would plop in some curd in it, and viola it would get over. I can eat curd by the kilo and we always have some curd at the end of every meal. I may be a Gujarati as far as eating fun dinners is concerned (you know pani puri, pav bhaji, khicidi, etc) but it has to end with a bowl of curd.

R, was initiated to curd late thanks to her asthma. One day, I decided enough is enough, refused to listen to the traditional idea that curd causes cough, and went ahead and gave her a bowl of not very cold curd. She licked a bit, her eyes lit up and then she just threw the spoon, grabbed the bowl with both her hands and gulped it down in one big slruppppp. and that started her love affair with curd.

Most days, she has very heavy evening snacks in daycare, so comes home and just has like 2 bowls of curd and thats her dinner! I dont fuss too much about food.

Even when she has a bad cold, I give her curd. Which may not be a very sane thing to do. I only ensure the curd is not cold thats all. Otherwise, curd is an everyday feature in our house…R makes it every morning and we have bowlfuls for dinner.

On Saturday nigh, RD had gone out with his friends, and R and I decided to have poochkas for dinner. After eating about 40 puris between the two of us, R says Amma we forgot.

Forgot what?

That we need to leave some jagah (space) in the tummy for curd πŸ™‚

Now, this love affair, I, definitely am going to encourage forever.

PS – R,when you are older and read this post, please note that I encourage all kinds of love affairs as long as there is a sense of fairness and equality among the two people involved in it eh?

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to The Love Affair….

  1. Deeps says:

    LOL, the love affair with curd indeed! Namnam and I love curd too. Namnam is so going to love this post of yours when she reads it πŸ˜€

  2. Is the love for curd-rice a Tambrahm thing or a Tamilian thing? I know quite a few Tamilians. I can’t think of even one who considers a meal complete if it doesn’t include curd-rice/curd+rice/curd/buttermilk.

  3. ashreyamom says:

    when i was kid i used to hate curd.. somehow look of it reminded me of vomit. later after joining hostel, i was forced to eat, as that was the only standard dish in menu.. even after getting married, if i had to eat curd, somebody had to mix it for me and give or feed me.. ( i take it as an opportunity to romance with hubby). now that BUnty loves curd and has to finish her meal with it everyday, i am forced to mix it with my hands, feed her, and eat the leftover too.. :(..

  4. Wait.. I forgot everything about curd when your wrote 40 poochkas! Forty? Really? Here, I drag the husband away from the chaat stall if he goes anywhere beyond five! Sigh.

    And you know about our curd-fanaticism already, don’t you?!

    • R's Mom says:

      Of course…between RD, R and I we can finish about 75 puris aaram se..we are a poochka loving family eheheheh πŸ™‚

      you are crazy

      Dear CH, do come to Mumbai, I promise to give you awesome unlimited poochkas..we will lock SnS away in a room okay?

      yes yes…I know your curd craziness πŸ™‚

  5. Nidaa says:

    Sounds like I’d be an easy guest for you too… (Not self-inviting :D)

  6. Sapna says:

    I am a curd person too πŸ™‚ and yeah inherited that habit from my Mom, if I can say that . I think that is inbuilt in South-Indian genes,no? πŸ˜›

  7. momofrs says:

    Is this a genetic thing??
    I don’t eat curd much and even though I give it to the twins, they have it hardly once a month and refuse the rest of the time 😐
    Any tips on how I can make them eat more of it??

  8. LOL. Your family is exactly like mine in this particular respect, then. We are a curd-crazy family, too. The same with my MIL, too. We all can have curd with anything and everything, and need it on most days. πŸ™‚

  9. Pepper says:

    I love dahi too.. Can have barrels full πŸ™‚
    And I don’t think it worsens the cold/cough in anyway when served in room temperature.

    • R's Mom says:

      Thanks for telling that πŸ™‚

      next time you come home, you are getting only a barrel of curd for dinner with some dosas and molagapodis..no sambhar though!

  10. Amit says:

    Haha! My family is entirely different. We do have curd but no one is crazy about it. And I have never seen anyone gulp down curd. πŸ˜›

  11. Sri says:

    How cute!!

    I love curd too but hubby doesnt like curd!

    Can you believe it if i tell you my daughter hates curd..she can detect the smell of curd from a distance and will run away with her hand over her nose!!

    And i remember eating so much of curd rice when i was pregnant!!

  12. Sreetama says:

    Oh that’s awesome! My family would’ve been very happy to see the R family’s love affair with curd! Everyone in my family loves curd apart from me. My mom used to coax me to no end to have curd regularly but to no avail. She even bribed me of tamarind & pickles so that I have curd but that didn’t continue for long! I love mishti doi though & dishes made with curd like doi machh (fish in curd curry). Have you tried doi potol (parwal) or baingan?

    • R's Mom says:

      LOL on bribing with tamarind and pickles heheheeh πŸ™‚

      Funnily I am not a fan of mishti doi, though RD LOVES it πŸ™‚

      I havent had those, will check out the recipes online.thanks for the reco

  13. Smita says:

    Bada wala same pinch!!! My Mom -> Se Main -> Se mera langoor!! We all love curd!!! Yesterday only he had roti with curd and curd was everywhere on his body!!!

    U know it is a misconception that curd is bad for cold n cough!! It shouldn’t be cold baaki sab chalta hai πŸ™‚

  14. Ashwathy says:

    Rice, curd and pickles can make a complete meal in itself. I love curd. But I love moru (buttermilk) more!! πŸ˜€ Slurp! sambharam especially…yum!

  15. Comfy says:

    Cool, then you guys will fit right in when you come visit. Between all the kids there will be no dearth of people asking for more dahi.
    So when are you coming? πŸ˜€

  16. Swaram says:

    Ditto! My meals have to end with curd πŸ˜› And just like aunty, if I am out for them and don’t get curd there, I come home and drink buttermilk πŸ˜‰

  17. pixie says:

    Give your Amma a hug from me!! I can survive on just curd rice too!!
    (I do need salt at least though)
    I always either come home and eat curd rice or drink buttermilk!!! Same pinch!

    See, this is also one of the reasons Swaru and I are friends!! πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

