This Ganesh Viserjan Day………………

……Appa, I must admit, that I think you are a rockstar.
Today when I sat alone in the morning, as R was in snoozeland, drinking that really sad haldi milk because of a whooper of a throat ache, Β wondering whether the viserjans in Baroda were so so noisy, I remembered the years when you made that clay Ganapati for Bhai and me.
I remember one year Bhai and I created such a fuss about Ganpati coming in the other Maharashtrian households of the society but not in our house. Then you said you would make a Ganpati for us. We didnt believe you.
But you took a whole lot of mud from the garden, mixed water with it, made it soft and then started making it. bhai and I couldnt believe our eyes when the back of the Ganpati took shape. and then his huge belly. And then you made the hands and the ears and the face. And last you added the trunk. and even added the small tusk. Bhai and I just gaped how easily you made it. I wondered if you were a potter in your previous janam πŸ™‚
and then Amma added that extra bit by putting eyes of channa dal, and a necklace made of cotton and kumkum. You even added a poonal to the Ganpati. and to make the Ganpati smiling you added small bits of urad dal. And then you cut out gold paper and made the crown as well. Bhai and I were pretty speechless.
And we loved praying to that Ganpati. He was cute, adorable and absolutely awe inspiring.
Then it became an yearly ritual when we were kids. You would make the Ganpati, we would pray on Ganesh Chaturthi day, then Amma would keep it slightly aside, and we would do viserjan when the other Ganpatis of the society left after 5 days. Though ours was the heaviest to carry…phew!
Until we grew a bit older. Started college. and then we wanted colourful Ganpatis. Not just a plain brown one. We wanted bright pinks and gaudy blues. We wanted artificial colours and imitation jewelry. You tried to convince us to go natural, but we were teenagers, rebelling what you said. Amma gave up and just asked you to order one along with the other folks in the society. I am sure you were disappointed with us no?
though you never told us πŸ™‚
Now, I feel bad. I feel awful that we didnt listen to your ‘go natural’ stuff. We would have definitely contributed a bit to the environmental pollution those years.
Now that the brat is 5, I am wondering if next year, I should make a Ganpati for her from clay. May be I will try and check if I was a potter in my previous janam.
Sorry for being that teenage rebel. AND Thank you for giving me memories I will continue to cherish forever. Just a bit sad, that we never captured the awesome Ganpati’s picture, but I do have him in the album of my mind, okay?
Yours
Kid
About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to This Ganesh Viserjan Day………………

  1. Very sweet post, RM. I can imagine how awesome the entire process would have been – of seeing your father make a Ganesha from the clay from your very own backyard! Such beautiful memories you must have. I have never tried making a Ganesha at home, nor has the OH, nor have we at our in-laws or parents’ house. I would love to try that out sometime, just for the sake of memories. We don’t do Ganesh Visarjan, though. We set aside the idols of Ganesha in our pooja room, and pray to him on the day of Ganesh Chaturthi. We retain the same idol of Ganesha every year.

    Errr… I thought clay Ganeshas would be light as compared to the plaster of paris ones. No?

  2. Your dad is a rockstar, okay? No doubts about it! πŸ™‚

    BTW, why did you make that ‘Dance’ post password-protected? It was so nice!!

  3. Smita says:

    Awww!! This is such a cute letter! Cute & heartfelt!! After seeing the title I thought u must have written about the Chaos that we will witness today πŸ˜€ but this is so good!!

    And ya there are so many things that we rebelled against as kids and now realise how right our parents were!!! Issi ko shayad tazurba kehta hain πŸ™‚

    P.S. Leaving early today? Out here they have declared half day!

  4. Memories are so precious, no? Wish I could have a glimpse of the lovely Ganesha you describe so beautifully here.. Your Appa is awesome! πŸ™‚

  5. Gayatri says:

    We didnt make at home but my father used to take us to pick up the ganesha made by the local seller who would be making fresh murtis and you could choose one. After looking at our friends’ houses we never liked ours as it was plain. Now, I understand the importance of the natural one and the fact that it supported one person’s job :(. I nowadays use a colourful murti (sourced from the shops in the neighbourhood of siddhivinayak temple) but I recycle it, that is use it every year. So, completely concur with your feelings (both as a teenager and now as an adult).

  6. Ashwathy says:

    That is always the best part of celebrating festivals with one’s children. They form bee-yoo-ti-ful memories later πŸ™‚

  7. Rums says:

    We started making our own ganesha for last 3-4 years.. its something fun that I and S do together.Last year when P was couples of months old.. our ganesha was in tummy time πŸ™‚ you must definitely try it am sure u will create something awesome!

  8. Aakanksha says:

    Hey…such a nice post. I think you should also try making it. Your Appa is great.!!

  9. Amit says:

    Such a nice post!
    I do not have any memories of Ganpati Visarjan. It is a relatively new phenomenon in NCR, something I can relate to endless traffic jams and loud noise.
    Life was very simple earlier. Thank God we have such nice memories of our childhood.

Leave a Reply

