Risms in the age of Twitter

This Twitter na, is pretty addictive…now I know why RD is clucking away to glory in that corner, sneering at me and saying ‘bola tha na, bola tha na’

Anyways, since Twitter is easier, handier and whatever-ier…Risms are easier to post there 🙂

But the blogger in me doesn’t let me let the blog go as is, and since its MY blog, I think its totally okay to copy paste those twitter stuff here 🙂 + blog doesn’t have character limits which means, I can write on and on and on and on……

====

There is loud loud loud sound of Ganesh bhagwan going for viserjan on the 7th day. Honestly I am so so surprised that no religious person is making an issue about these folks putting up stuff like Halkat Jawani, and Balam Pichari when they are going for viserjan. With about 10 Ganpatis going on the 1.5 days, 5th day and 7th day viserjan, I have had my share of being religious and going on to start cribbing.

RM: My God, these guys are so loud

R: Acha song hai na Amma (background its Balam Pichakari), she says as she dances to the LOUD music!

RM: Well, I have no issues about the song, but I dont think its okay to play it during Ganesh Viserjan

R: Why?

RM: Well, well, its very loud and not God wala song

R: Not to tell like that Amma, everyone has their way of praying, so its okay whatever praying anyone wanting okay?

I shut up!

=========

We are watching Highway on my Plate. Apart from Masterchef (which I dont know which channel is it on now!) this is one of the few programs, R and I watch. Anyways, so the hosts are now at Shimla eating some Jalebi Kesar Milk. R is looking at the jalebis being made.

R says ‘Amma, my lips are melting’

RM: WHAT?

R: Arey my lips, they are melting, just looking at that!

What she means is that ‘her mouth is watering’ *rolls eyes*

======

RD has gone to Sabari Malai and R seems to be missing him. She tells me ‘Appa office nahi go karenge?’

RM: No he has taken the week off from office

R: Acha, Appa office missing is fine, but you not letting me miss school to go to Sabari Malai..you are only taking Appa’s side

RM: !!!!

=======

RD made us hear to this song which Shankar Mahadevan has sung on Lord Ganesha ‘Ek dantaya, Vakratundaya, Gauri Tananaya Deemahi‘ and R and he were listening to it on his phone before the day he left for Sabari Malai.

What a song. Gives me goosebumps just thinking about it. Anyways so the brat says ‘Appa, yeh uncle itna shout kyun kar rahe hain’ when he was singing the Aalaap 😦

I was super disappointed that the brat doesnt understand music and stuff in those lines until RD pointed out that she was FIVE!!!

Anyways, all that went poof, when yesterday night, she made me hear that song TEN times over and over again, because she thought it was ‘awesome’ (thats the word she used, as I fell off my chair in total shock!)

Shankar Mahadevan, you have a new 5 year old as a beeegggg fan (we heard like 10 other songs of his including a Tamizh one which neither of us could understand but kept nodding our head saying wow!)

========

Amma, says the brat, as we go to pick up some vegetables, since Appa is not here, let us eat all nice nice things

Pav Bhaji, Pani Puri, Boiled Corn aur…aur…and Thepla…Doodhi na Thepla, since Appa not liking them and always telling not like not like okay?
So RD you are missing all the gastronomy delights eh?

======

As festivals come one after the other, R has an important question

R: Amma, August 15th which Bhagwan ka birthday hai?

RM: Well, its our Independence day.

I dont think she understands the meaning too well, but she just nods her head in agreement

R: Toh flag upar karing right?

RM: yes, you hoist the flag

R: hmmmm

After 10 minutes, toh January 26th ko kis bhagwan ka birthday hai, tab also we doing flag upar na?

RM: !!!!
=========
RD and R are huge fans of Jhalak Dikhala Jaa. I am not a great fan honestly, some of the dances as per me are not child appropriate, but most times, I just let R watch it! So RD is not there and R has pleaded to him to tell me to let her watch the finale. I say okay, and then just let her watch it, since its a Saturday night.

They keep showing the ads for Big Boss in the the program.

R: Amma, Salman Khan (Big Boss!) starting from tomorrow kya?

RM: yes, but dont even think that I will let you watch that ever!

R: why are you getting angry, I am only asking if its starting from tomorrow, I know you will not let me watchofy it. Its okay!

RM: Gee!
===========

By the way, does anyone know why we put Ganesh bhagwan into water after giving him so many flowers, and decorations and yummy prasad for 10 days, and just throw him into the water?

If you do, I will be highly obliged with an answer in the comment section, the brat has been pestering me for an answer.

I do the usual ‘Ask your Appa’ to her

R: Appa toh Sabari malai gaye, toh you only find and tell me okay? think about it Amma.

RM: !!!!!

help needed please?

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Risms in the age of Twitter

  1. Risms always crack me up! 🙂 I must admit I think Shankar Mahadevan shouts a lot…not a fan. (Sorry!) And sorry, but don’t have an answer to your question about drowning the idol. Didn’t even know it was ganpati time. 😛

  2. rainmusings says:

    I was also thinking about the same thing if S happens to ask me – i thought – ki let me say – Ganesha wants to visit his maternal uncle Vishnu who lives in the paar-kadal (ocean) before he leaves off to his home in kailash 😉

  3. Smita says:

    Tell her that for full ten days we put so much haldi kumkum and sindoor on Ganpati that he needs to take bath for full year that is why we put him in water!!! Simple 😀

    U mean thing u r depriving her of Salman Khan? (Not that I allow my brat to see BB WTH My hubby doesn’t allow me to see it….not that I am really interested in watching it…I watch weekend episodes for Salman Khan ;-)) And whats wrong with JDJ? 😀 😀

    And what feast u having when husband is not around!!!! Paap lagega!!! 😛 😛 😛 😛

    • R's Mom says:

      hahahah! that she will believe… :):)

      There is nothing wrong with JDJ..I do think that some dances are not child appropriate 🙂

      Arey paap lagne do…I already have a sore throat and bad tummy….his baddua has reached me already 🙂

  4. Santulan says:

    Ganesh murti/symbol is established during chaturthi as a temporary vessel. It serves to bring good luck, and spiritual energy from the earth (since traditionally the idol has to be made from clay ) which is also a symbol of Ganesh’s mom Parvati.

    Once the replenishment of good luck and spiritual engergy is done, Ganesh is immersed in water to show that he is ascending back to his home in the heavens/kailash..

    It is done every year as a cycle of recharging our selves, and symbolizes the circle of start and end..

  5. Wikipedia: “meant to represent the cycle of creation and dissolution in Nature.”
    Please also read http://wiki.answers.com/Q/Why_is_ganesh_visarjan_done

  6. DI says:

    She is a riot! Oh my God, I am SO impressed with her thought process 😀
    RM, yeh ladki, very soon, blogging startofy karegi, and she will have a huge fan following, she needs to post the whys of her life 🙂

  7. ROFL

    It is always fun to read Risms. You’ve got one super-smart daughter there, RM. 🙂 Not to mention uber cute. 🙂

  8. Richa says:

    risms are too cute! I love dat song way too much..
    When I was a child I used to think where does such a big idol go in the water..,…….I could never guess it mixes into water!!

  9. Swaram says:

    Darling she is 🙂 Muahs R!

    Well, as far as I have read and heard, clay from the river bed is taken to make Ganeshas and then u leave him there again signifying that we have to give back as much as we take or something along the same lines 🙂 That’s one more reason that people say Ganeshas have to be made out of clay.
    http://parisaraganapati.net/message/shatavadhani-dr-r-ganesh-multi-lingual-scholar

  10. Mamta says:

    Hi R,
    Have been here from long time but never commented anyway to the super smart kiddo, Ganesh Bhagwan has two mothers one is parvathi and the other maa is Ganga maata. Mother Ganga asks Ganesh you are always with parvathi and never with me so here Ganesh gives a vardhaan to Ganga people for my festival will get clay from the banks of river and make my moorthy do pooja for 10 days and again immerse me back into you that way the clay and putru will be with her. I hope I’m right please correct me. Anyway R looking forward to read yr password protected one send me soon re.

    • R's Mom says:

      Thanks a ton for commenting Mamta 🙂

      Oh I had no clue about this story as well…now I am going to collect everything that everyone has told and tell it to R one by one..at least mere 10 days ka story is done..thank you thank you

  11. Mrs B says:

    Hi RM,
    I am Basically from Karnataka, we celebrate both Gowri(Parvati) and Ganesha pooja.. As kids, we were told that Gowri is visiting her parents house, and she comes home first. We treat her like a daughter coming to her maternal home. Ganesha follows next, and takes his mom back to kailasa. 🙂 until she comes visiting us the next yr.

  12. Sapna says:

    LOL! I have always wondered too “we put Ganesh bhagwan into water after giving him so many flowers, and decorations and yummy prasad for 10 days, and just throw him into the water?”

    Thanks to R now I have the answer to that 🙂

  13. Sameer Mainkar says:

    Just a correction Ganesha is brought first and then the Gouri’s. Visarjan of them is done together on the same day. To add above one practical reason for doing Ganesh Visarjan would be: As initially Ganesh Murti were made from Clay, chances are that the Murti would break or get damaged and following the rituals strictly for more than these many days would be difficult, hence doing visarajan after 1.5/5/7/10 days.

  14. Ashwathy says:

    LOL!
    She certainly put you in your place by telling you not to judge people on how they pray eh? 😀

    Yep, a total Shankar Mahadevan fan myself. And the song you mentioned is one of my favourites! Can’t believe R said “awesome” though! 😯

    LOL @ lips are melting!

    Hahaha so each time dumping the responsibility on Appa may not work 😛 😛

  15. Pingback: And the Mythological Quest | R's Mom

  16. Amit says:

    Tell her that Ganapati needs a bath. He has not taken bath since 10 days and that is why people throw him in water. 🙂

  17. Scribby says:

    hehehehehehe @ lips melting 🙂

Leave a Reply

