If There Is A Place I Could Take You!

Dear R,

– If there is a place I could take you, I would take you to the land, where one celebrates the birth of a child – whether its a girl or a boy is immaterial

– If there is a place I could take you, I would take you to the land where they treat every child equally – whether its a girl or a boy doesnt matter

– If there is a place I could take you, I would take you to a land of of books. Books which would entice you, seduce you, make you just pick them up and read them on and on and on

– If there is a place I could take you, I would love to take you to the land of music. Music from instruments, music from songs, music which makes you feel amazing, and music for everyone’s likings

– If there is a place I could take you, I would love to take you to the land of dancing. From the natraj pose to ‘yenda inge porai’ you seem to love love love dancing, and there you could dance whichever form you wanted, and swing to whatever music appealed you

– If there is a place I could take you, I would take you to the land of equality. Where there is dignity of labour, where people believe all jobs are equal.

– If there is a place I could take you, I would love to take you to a land where you could see real rainbows, actual forests, live animals and flying birds

– If there is a place I could take you, I would love to take you to a land where everyone is safe. Girl, Boy, Man, Woman, everyone. No one fears anyone, no one is scared of anyone, no one bullies anyone. Differences of opinions are expressed in a polite manner, while all arguments are settled amicably.

– If there is a place I could take you,I would take you to the land of okra, where you could have okra fry as much as you wanted πŸ™‚

– If there is a place I could take you,I would take you to the land of sports, where you could play whichever game, with or without a prop, as much as you wanted, as long as you wanted

– If there is a place I could take you,I would take you to the land of knowledge, where people are creative, innovative, encourage free thoughts and are not bound by the shackles of structured learning

– If there is a place I could take you, I would take you to the land of rhymes. Words which flow from the heart, and words which make you smile, Words which make you feel awesome, and words which let your imagination soar

– If there is a place I could take you, I would take you to the land of goodness. Just to let you know that good deeds always have good returns in the long run, no matter, how you feel right now

– If there is a place I could take you, I would love to take you to the land of contentment. Because if you are content in life, there is no place you would really want to be, except your own.

– If there is a place I could take you, I would take you to the land of imagination. Because there you are free to dream, imagine and fly wherever your mind and heart want to take you.
Unfortunately, your ma is only human, and such places exist only in my imagination.

So I think next holiday, I am just taking you for a trip to Goa again, to Thatha Thathi’s house..okay?

Big hugs

Amma

Written for IndibloggerΒ  Β Yatra.comΒ , Creating Happy Travellers Contest

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to If There Is A Place I Could Take You!

  1. Ramya says:

    RM is always RM and will stay the same πŸ˜‰ seeing all the “- If there is a place I could take you,” I was wondering you became sooo poetic and seeing the line “So I think next holiday, I am just taking you for a trip to Goa again, to Thatha Thathi’s house..okay?” I get to the usual self and understand it indeed is the real RM πŸ™‚ U make me smile

  2. Nidaa says:

    Can I follow you?

  3. Very beautiful post Rm… but come ot think of it, many of these could be home, no? πŸ™‚

  4. Mere ko jaon che Land of Okra too!!

  5. Nice one, RM! πŸ™‚

    BTW, what song is this – β€˜yenda inge porai’? Never heard! **whacking my head hard**

  6. Smitha says:

    Amen to that. Seriously, if a place like this existed, it would be bliss!! All the best for the contest:)

  7. That is such a beautiful letter, RM! Loved the way you concluded it, too. πŸ˜€

  8. Richa says:

    very nice dear! such a happy dreamy post!

  9. sjscribbles says:

    Good One – RM

    RM : Realised that one point you made truly exists on earth – Lucky and privileged are those kids who are nurtured in that kind of an educational system :

    – If there is a place I could take you,I would take you to the land of knowledge, where people are creative, innovative, encourage free thoughts and are not bound by the shackles of structured learning
    The place is Finland :
    http://perimeterprimate.blogspot.co.uk/2010/10/finlands-approach-to-education.html
    http://www.edudemic.com/2012/10/10-surprising-features-of-finlands-education-system/
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/8601207.stm

    • R's Mom says:

      WOW..thats super awesome..thanks for the wonderful links rey..going to send them to Amma, she will love reading this one πŸ™‚

      Darn! I wish I was Finnish!

  10. Seema says:

    Hey RM, Wish RMM a Happy teacher’s day from my end.

    I love Okra too… Take me with R

  11. Vidya says:

    Am in for the trip RM. Goa included :))

  12. This post has put that song in my head:
    Chalo….. Tumko lekar chalein…. Hum unn fizaoon mein….

  13. Ashwathy says:

    Dear R,

    Your mom has got a fantastic imagination and even more brilliant sense of humour. Her head is a bit cracked, but her heart is in the right place. The fact that she wishes all the right things for you should make your appreciate her all the more. Love her to bits and cherish every moment with her.

    Love,
    Ashwathy aunty.

  14. Comfy says:

    Come here for a little bit. We can’t give all of it but we can sure try to get there together for all the kids πŸ™‚

  15. Smita says:

    If wishes were horses….sigh!!

    Bring her to meet me πŸ˜€

  16. Amit says:

    Do tell me the address when you find such a place.
    A beautiful post R’s mom.

  17. Aww that would be a bliss to be in that land. Take my little monkey too πŸ™‚

  18. Sreetama says:

    Finding neverland! πŸ™‚ R u back from Goa? Belated happy holiday! πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

