The Ri-Ru Rage

So R has her Hindi exams today..And she has to write all the swars ..for the non initiated, it means writing the a, aa, e, ee, o, oo..till ahthe other bit, ka, kha, ga, gha, are known as vyanjans…

Anyways, so the girl is telling me the swars loudly..

a, aa, e, ee, o, oo, Ru..and then RD butts in ‘ Its Ri, not Ru’

I look at him and say ‘its Ru’

No, he says, its Ri..

Ru

Ri

Ru

Ri

R looks between the two of us as if we are playing tennis and the ball keeps going from one player to another, and finally says ‘Baas, both of you, its Ru as per my teacher’

I give RD a triumphant look.

Thats because your teacher is a Gujarati…its Ru in Gujarati, In Hindi its Ri..we say Rishi..not Rushi…

Of course we say Rushi, I tell him…

Rishi

Rushi

Rishi

Rushi

and then R agained looked at us exasperatedly and said, Oh both of you, its fine…

But we wont leave it…I mean, married for 7 years and end an argument without settlement..not happening folks!

anyways, so I call up the mater.

Amma, I tell her..hmmm she says

a, aa, e,ee, o,oo…Ru or Ri..?

What, what, what she says perplexed at my lack of introduction to anything..

Arey Hindi Hindi, I tell her

oh she says and tells Ru

All this on the loudspeaker

RD is upset that his co-Calcuttan has not supported him

Amma, he says, you have been influenced by the Gujarat culture…

Eh? she says…

And I butt in, see see..its Ru, its Ru

By now, the guy is furiously searching on his mobile phone to prove his point..

It is Ri..there is no doubt on that..

Gah! I tell him…

and then Appa, the ever diplomat comes on the phone to says well, you can call it either Ri or Ru..I think it depends on the state from where you are…

Gah! say both RD and I together (We are united on that one eh?)

Still he is not convinced…he gives me you tube hearings and stuff like this

by now we have cut the phone to Goa, R is half asleep and we are STILL arguing..

Uff…amma, appa, says R, I dont care, ek minute both of you, I am going to say Ru because thats how teacher has taught it..it be Ru or Ri..chalega okay? and I dont have to speak, I have to writeΒ 

Ah! well, but we need to get it right eh?

Then I remember I have a colleague who has been brought up in Meerut..which means he will get it right…I first thought of calling Smita but she has spent some time in Ahm, which means RD can accuse me of calling co-pseudo-Gujjus..so I refrain from calling her..

My colleague agrees with RD..he gives me a triumphant look…I have to accept defeat 😦

Until, the man I married is sweet enough to show me this link

In Sanskrit (ΰ€‹ΰ€šΰ€Ύ) the pronunciation varies based on the geography and native language of the speakers. Hindi speaking populace would pronounce the Sanskrit word as “Richa” as opposed to Marathi or Kannada speaking populace. Both the ‘Ru’ and ‘Ri’ pronunciations are correct and are regional variants. In Maharashtra and Karnataka, the letter ΰ€‹ is pronounced ‘Ru’, whereas it is pronounced ‘Ri’ by speakers of Hindi. The Hindi script is identical to the Sanskrit script.

So, the argument settles finally after more than an hour’s fight..

R is bugged by now, and I am not sure what she is finally going to pronounce it πŸ™‚

Imagine if a single letter can create such havoc in the R household, how awesomely interesting are our fights on bigger issues eh?

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

51 Responses to The Ri-Ru Rage

  1. Sumana says:

    Loved it. Perfect way to go R’s family. And we get such fun filled posts na… Rm, I am with RD on this…..;)

  2. Smita says:

    Ri πŸ˜€

    I have stayed in Orissa Gujarat & Maharashtra but I have not let my hindi be polluted and I am proud of it!!!

    And don’t reminde me of Hindi lessons!! That day a fren was narrating some incident of how a teacher had taught wrong hindi to her daughter (she is also from UP) and I was like how will I handle the pressure! My spoken Hindi is impeccable but let us not get into writtin hindi!!!

    • R's Mom says:

      oh I hope you didnt think I didnt call you because your Hindi would be polluted…I just thought Gujju asar pada hoga :):)

      I guess my written Hindi is as polluted as my spoken Hindi πŸ™‚

  3. Prachi says:

    Ha ha ha….

    Thanks to RD for providing the wonderful link…
    I learned it by observing people. Here in mumbai everybody says Ru….whereas I (from MP) have learned it as Ri since my childhood… Its the beauty of diversity of India… πŸ™‚

  4. LOL. Poor R! πŸ˜€

    We used to pronounce it as ‘Ri’, as far as I remember. I remember calling ‘hermits’ ‘rishis’, not ‘rushis’.

  5. Santulan says:

    Yes, it is the influence of the regional dialects and languages that makes a lot of changes . And in shudh hindi it is what RD said: Ri

    What is R pronouncing it now as?

  6. Neeli says:

    hahahahhahahha. just loved this small cute lil fight… πŸ˜€

  7. Nice one!
    Try discussing this when bored: To-matt-o or To-mah-to or To-may-to?

    • R's Mom says:

      Hai ma! lets not even get started on pronunciations..especially English ones..RD thinks I have one of the weirdest he has heard..its a combo between Gujju, Tamil and Mumbai Hindi accents!

  8. Seema says:

    Hahaha, Exactly what has been going in our household as well. I learnt it as Ru but Mantam’s teacher has taught them Ri. I just let them go with the teacher!! Abbas is nowhere in all these as I bet he hardly remembers his a, aa…

    The only moral of your story is that my favourite RMD is always right. Yayay πŸ™‚

  9. Nidaa says:

    In malayalam it is ‘Rrr’ πŸ˜€
    And R- She shows the making of future Loksabha speaker / UN Gen Sec

  10. Sreetama says:

    Hmmm. Quite a confusion! I learnt to pronounce it as Rwi. But I’ve noticed that people on the western front pronounce it as Ru (Rushi, Krupa, Kruti etc.) I think R is quite sorted and knows how to take a decision. Follow the teacher! πŸ˜€ With RD’s help, she also knows that it is also pronounced as Ri, so she will say Ri or Ru according to the context & situation.

  11. DI says:

    I am from Meerut, and I would say Ru. What, you are not taking a poll? 😐

  12. Richa says:

    oh wow you gave an example by my name. But I say its ‘Ri’ πŸ™‚

  13. RajK says:

    Richa, Ritu, Rishi…its Ri all the way for me, dear! But I agree, in Guj and Maha, it is pronounced Ru. So geography determines how we say it. Personally, I cringe when I hear Ru…

  14. Haha! It is Ri in hindi speaking belts and it is Ru n gujju n marathi scripts. I can read and write gujju too! Lived in A’bad from 3rd to 5 th std and thats when gujrati lessons begin in an eng med school. Thats the difference between amrita and amruta too. Amrita, richa are authentic hindi, and amruta, rucha are offsprings of marathi and gujarati scripts. I lived in Delhi and I am from Indore, so, err, my hindi is quite good too…

  15. I say Ru too πŸ˜› And if you are taking a poll, make it 4 cz all 4 from my family say “ru”. Not sure what K calls it πŸ˜› He studied in Mumbai so maybe Ru after all!

    But I say rush and rishi both. Let’s just conveniently ignore this part.

    Ha ha RD! πŸ˜›

  16. Aruna says:

    R’s mom, I have been reading your blog for a some time. This is the first time I’m commenting.
    Yes even I have learnt to pronounce as RU. Go blame me. I did my Kindergarten in Surat. But then moved to South India. But I always thought its Ru.. BTW what did R finally decide?

    • R's Mom says:

      Awww..sweet of you to comment :):)

      Err…Surat connection eh?

      Arey R refuses to say anything now..she says I will say only to teacher not to you…heheheheh

  17. Ashwathy says:

    HAHAHAH!! πŸ˜†
    It’s night time, I am looking through my blog, came across yours, and am now in splits!! I could actually imagine R looking back and forth between you and RD wondering why on earth did she even ask you two the doubts. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ The poor kid, she will never ask you anything ever again! πŸ˜›

    And I actually read out this entire post to Undakannan who was hearing it with an amused smile on his face! :mrgreen: You are psycho, you know that? My goodness, you won’t let go of an argument easily, will you? πŸ˜›

    For the record, the south connection explains it I guess. Even I have learnt it as “Ru”. πŸ™‚

  18. Comfy says:

    Ri RM Ri.. πŸ˜€
    but in all this poor R ka kya haal banaya. No wonder she did not tell you what she told her teacher πŸ˜€

  19. aarya says:

    hahhaa…I laughed really hard and almost choked on my food while reading this at lunch…awesome argument.
    I am from UP and we were taught ‘Ri’ se ‘Rishi’ and similarly we say ‘kripa’ instead of ‘krupa’ and ‘krishna’ instead of ‘krushna’

  20. Smitha says:

    Lol! You guys are super cute!!! We had some confusion ka , kha, ga gha, how do you pronounce the fifth one. We found three different pronunciations, between five of us mums, but no we didn’t fight over it:)

  21. Sangitha says:

    Shuru ho gaya na?!

  22. Amit says:

    Its Ri. I am a successor of Vashishtha Rishi and hence I can say that with 100% authority. πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

