Random Stuff From My Life..including Some Shameless Marketing!

Have been crazy busy at work, honestly cleaning other people’s muck and that upsets me…

However, looking at the brighter side of life

1. IMC Book Fortnight was a pretty decent hit..from getting interviews from the wonderful Sangi and awesome Sandhya, to reviewing books to getting to know about children who love to read..its was awesome..

2. IMC starts a festival food recipe contest..go on and participate…I promise to put up one recipe (Preethi is laughing in that corner with that idea!)

3. Did you see RMB’s article?

4. Loved this piece which I wrote on IMC about stringing them together ( told you this was shameless marketing!)…I bet not many people would have heard of these ways of stringing flowers..its awesome!

5. I finished reading Business Sutra (I hated it in the beginning, began to enjoy it in the middle and I think I am going to get a copy for Appa if I find it second hand somewhere, because its awesome)

One sentence which stood out was

There is nothing right or wrong in this world. There is only cause and consequence. That is why accountability and responsibility matter.

6. R’s exams are on..and funnily I got a bit upset with her NOT studying on Saturday, until Amma told me to shut up and let her be…I realised I was getting hyper about nothing…I mean, so fine, she doesnt want to read crowd, brown, road, whatever….

7. I am thinking of joining a Zumba class. I saw a couple of videos on youtube and was totally impressed. The only issue is managing the time..gah! actually the issue is the fees…the place I enquired, they said Rs. 2000 a month for 8 sessions…I found that a bit steep…Amma says she used to pay Rs. 250 for my dance classes years ago, so this one seems fine as per her…does anyone have any idea on Zumba class fees?

8. I weighed myself at Amma’s house last trip and have touched 75 kgs..Amma practically fell off the chair or whatever when she saw what I touched…I better start losing weight..not to get that lean look, but to remain fit and healthy!

9. Have registered for the dream run for the Mumbai marathon..anyone else who is running?

10. I think I must be mad to sit and write a 10 point blog post when I need to finish a 100 page report..but I guess…by now everyone knows I am mad eh?

11. Because I dont want to stop at 10, I am reading other posts, no time to comment šŸ˜¦

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Random Stuff From My Life..including Some Shameless Marketing!

  1. Sumana says:

    Zumba, i think the rates are the same around here. My friends in the complex have joined and i remember them discussing. Zumba is a good proven exercise i too feel. For me i am not regular at anything other then oatmeal. We just need to make up our minds i believe. All the best to R…..

  2. I read that post on stringing flowers. My mom loves to string them. However, my dad would get irritated with her sitting with a bunch of flowers around her always! šŸ™‚ You made me reminisce some old fun times! šŸ™‚ And hey.. Your post made me realise I need to teach the kids this art too. Oh Wait! I need to learn it first from my mom! Heh! šŸ˜€

    Have been on a reading-lull the last few days. Need to pick up ‘Business Sutra’. Thanks for the reco! And, second-hand book eh?! Sigh.

    I know what you mean by ‘remain fit and healthy’! Sigh. These weighing machines are a scam I say! šŸ˜€

    Good luck with the marathon! šŸ™‚

    • R's Mom says:

      Thats awesome that your mom knows how to string flowers…my Amma learnt pretty recently..till then it was using the needle and thread šŸ™‚

      you should teach Kau and Keer…

      Errr…it very expensive rey…at least by my standards šŸ™‚

      LOL on the weighing machine scams…

      Marathon in Jan rey…abhi time hai!

  3. DI says:

    Hey RM! Not sure of Zumba classes, but whoever has gone for it has loved it, so if you can time out, go for it šŸ™‚
    And I seriously hope I can do some 10K atleast this year šŸ˜¦

    • R's Mom says:

      I do find 2K a bit expensive to be honest..but lets see….time fit hoga toh I will try it for a month at least!

      Why dont you go for the Goa marathon…its got 5 K, 10K, 21 K..its lovely in the city of Vasco…here is the link
      http://www.goarivermarathon.com/

      Its on Dec 8th so you can manage to practice as well..plus for stay at stuff..my parents dont stay very far from Vasco..so you can go there and put up šŸ™‚ appa is running the 5 K this time..so you have company as well..think about it..and mail me if you have any questions

  4. I am inspired to do a random-points-post myself! šŸ™‚

    Interesting post. Enjoyed reading it. šŸ™‚

    I will definitely contribute a recipe for the festival food contest. Fingers crossed.

    Do take care of your health. Time should not be a factor – your health should be the priority, and everything else after that. I realised that the hard way in life, and want everyone else to realise it before it is too late. You will not believe the impact that your weight has on your entire bodily functions and health. I couldn’t believe it, the first time I saw it too.

  5. Ashwathy says:

    What? It’s already time for the marathon again? Wow!!

    LOL! You have already begun the role of nagging mommy telling her daughter to study eh? šŸ˜›

    Hmm time for you to start getting some exercise isn’t it? You can definitely afford to get fitter.

    Read your bro’s article šŸ™‚ Very sweet. Waiting for more…

  6. Sreetama says:

    RMB’s post is so heartwarming! Loved reading both the posts. Yay on registering for the marathon! One of my friends in Mumbai will also be participating. Have you started the practice sessions? Finalized the Zumba classes? I have no idea on the money part. šŸ˜¦

  7. Amit says:

    You are 75? Same pinch! šŸ˜›

  8. Pachi says:

    Saw your post on stringing flowers too late. Struggled with making a garland on ganpati day. šŸ˜¦ anyway now i know how to in case I need it in the future.

    Also I am running the Dream run next year. And I must tell you, when I was planning to run it this year and googled to see if anyone had put up their experience of running and one of your old posts came up. After reading it I got more confidence to run it. Thanks šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

