Dear RMB

Today is Rakshabandhan…Funnily, I don’t think the ‘Rakhi’ I sent you has even reached you, but hey, it will come to  you okay. I hardly write about you, but I just want to tell you that I think you are a rockstar.

 
I found it really funny when the other day you told me that you actually remember seeing me all wrapped up in a cloth a few hours after I was born, looking like a small cute baby monkey (yaa thanks!) when Appa took you to the hospital where Amma and I were :) And you were only 3.5 years then…
 
I never wanted to be in your team when we used to play together as kids because I always thought you molly coddled me a little too much. I have always been your favorite baby sister, and the things you have done for me boss! amazing!
 
Remember how you used to take me double seat in that big big cycle when your legs wouldn’t even reach the ground, cycle for 2.5 kilometres to my dance class, wait outside (because I wouldn’t want you to come in!) and then take me back…Jeez! you sure had patience bhai!
 
And then how my cycle used to get punctured when we returned from school and you used to cycle me and the two big bags in that hot summer sun at 1.30 PM. and remember that BSA SLR which we had..you used to take me all around the township double seat in that :)
 
And in school, when we were in the same one, I would hate being called your sister..because you always won the ideal child award back to back each year..gah! and remember that science teacher in our secondary section. As soon as I went to the last seat to sit, she said ‘you are RMB’s sister, really, I can’t believe it, he is such a wonderful boy and you…..’ Well, it was difficult being a sister to such a great guy..but hey, I am still trying okay?
 
And remember how we walked home that day when I was in class 4 and you were in class 7, after taking our passport size pictures and you realised whatever money Amma had given us got over..so we walked and walked and walked almost for 6 kilometres and you kept telling me abhi aaya yaar…chal chal…
 
You were always the first to appreciate all my kitchen disasters, whether it was the first time I made Poha or the pizzas I used to burn in the kitchen.
 
We always used to fight on who would clean the tables in the morning and who would do it in the evenings, you hated cleaning the wash basins and I hated putting the vessels on the shelves, but we both had to do it eh?
 
And tell me something, how the hell did you end up making better rotis than me eh? bol bol!!
 
Guess, this is mushy enough a letter, more in the next Rakshabandhan okay?
 
Loads of love
 
Your bratty sis
 
And for those guys interested in reading what the Big Bro had to write about me, Check out here 
About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Dear RMB

  1. Wow.. What a lovely and cute letter for a brother.. He will comepletely dote on this one.. Reading your post brought back my childhood memories too.. Rakhi is the one festival I have cherished for all time.. Lucky by brother is in the same city.. Looking forth to all the fun in the evening.. Nice post.. Keep writing..!!

  2. Pratiksha says:

    Happy Rakshbandhan RM…. a lovely post.. 🙂

  3. Such a cute beautiful letter to your brother, RM!

  4. summerscript says:

    Such a sweet post 🙂

  5. Such a sweet letter this is, RM!

    Being the only child of my parents, I never got to experience any of the brattiness or goodness of a sibling. There is a big sibling-sized hole in my life. 😦

    • R's Mom says:

      Nah! I wouldnt say that…I know loads of siblings..who dont even care for each other…I believe often friends, cousins, more than make up the lack of having a sibling 🙂

  6. Sumana says:

    A very happy raksha bandhan to you and RMB. Tiny and Little celebrated it, just the gifting part is yet pending…

  7. paatiamma says:

    A sweet Rakshabandhan post.. Brings a lot of childhood memories as well!

  8. Tharani says:

    Such a cute letter rm. Happy raksha bandhan wishes to you guys.

  9. Amit says:

    That was such a nice letter. It is great that you put all your memories in print. It will come handy when you are 60. 🙂

  10. Ashwathy says:

    My God… he’s really been patient as a bro eh?

    Reminder to self: Must send this to my bro! 😀

  11. Read both versions and I can feel the love between the bother and sister , stay blessed you both.

  12. Sreetama says:

    Such a sweet letter! 🙂

  13. telugumom says:

    Very sweet post RM!

Leave a Reply

