What My Parents Forgot to Teach Me!

1. How to light a match stick in a single stroke.

I know others can do this. At least RD can. But I cant. No matter how new the match box is, I can never never light that matchstick in a single stroke. Its so frustrating when there are 0.25689 seconds left in the morning and you need to light that diya…ugh! Everyday is a struggle for me. and lets not even get to that point when the matchbox gets used up and the sides get worn out..RD can still strike that match with a single stroke. Me? Well, I just light the gas with the lighter, light the matchstick in the gas flame and light the lamp..yes I am smart that ways eh?

I dont know why Amma Appa didnt teach me this very important skill required in life! Gah! and then thank God I am not a smoker, otherwise, I dont know how many millions I would have lost now trying to light up the cigarettes..

2. How to untie the knot of a string which is already tied to save it from going into the cloth.

Does anyone else do this? An aunt of mine had taught me that you can tie the two ends of the nada (string) of the salwar so that the nadas dont vanish into the cloth. Now once tied, you can tighten it by using it as if its two strings tied together..confused? yes, so am I!

so imagine this situation when you have to pee really bad and have been postponing it out of sheer laziness..and finally you HAVE TO..and that damn pre-tied nada just refuses to come out and you just go knots and knots…I have called RD so many times to save me in such situations..gah!

Dont know if Amma Appa themselves can untie such a knot, but they didnt teach me 😦

3. How to wipe the floors of the house

The pater and mater ensured bro and I can wash clothes, wash vessels, sweep the house clean with a broom, but in all their training, they just forgot to teach us how to wipe the floor with a cloth and water….Guess, they thought its something children learn naturally like how they learn to breathe or walk..but dear amma appa, THATS NOT THE CASE! Bro and I now, both dont know how to wipe floors :(:( THIS is why our houses have househelps..because both of us are hopeless in that task..and lets not even talk about our spouses…they are equally untrained πŸ™‚

Anything you remember that your parents forgot to teach you?

============

IMC is celebrating Book Fortnight..so anyone interested in contributing stories, book reviews, or anything book related..please go ahead and contribute eh?

 

and oh oh..read the amazing Sangi’s interview on IMC today (http://www.indianmomsconnect.com/2013/08/18/interview-with-sangitha-blogger-teacher-reader-and-of-course-mother/)

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to What My Parents Forgot to Teach Me!

  1. Hi-five RM.. Even I don’t know to light the match-stick in the first instance! I keep getting stares from my MIL every time I light the diya or the stove. πŸ™‚

  2. Smita says:

    They forgot to teach me how to keep my mouth shut πŸ˜€ Or rather my tried a lot but I never followed her advice & am a chatter box that I am right now.

    1- Pssst have you ever thought of keeping a smaaal lighter in ur pooja? Will solve all the problems?
    2- Been there done that. Once I was stuck and had to take my Dad’s help. He then taught me how to handle it. Tie both the ends of the nada together permanently and then tie it as you want. This ways the loose end never gets lost!
    3- I do verry good pocha!! Can take up baai kaam if have nothing else to do πŸ˜‰

    • R's Mom says:

      arey if they had taught you that, you wouldnt have entertained us with so much on the blog na!

      1. Errr..never thought of it..need to ask RD if that works
      2. Geee…ehheeheh πŸ™‚ ..thats what I am saying..after that..do you know how to untie the temp knot you tied..I cant do it!
      3. Falls at feet

  3. LOL

    I am with you on the first two points. I am hopeless at lighting a matchstick at the first strike, and usually resort to the same tactics as you. I have been unable to untie my nada on several occasions and have had to call out to the OH or to Amma. πŸ˜‰

    Darn! The things you make me admit on a public forum! πŸ™‚

    • R's Mom says:

      heheheeh…welcome darling welcome to the world of weirdos πŸ™‚

      Now go and fight with Aunty uncle why they didnt teach you how to strike a match at one go!

  4. Sumana says:

    RM, I am ROFL on your post here.
    I thought i was the only person around who could not light a matchstick, but here i am seeing many people admit it, i am feeling good. I am good with a new match box, later the problem starts, i light the gas to light the only diya, i light every morning..
    #2 and #3 are ok ,but when i cut my nails i have or create a great scene cursing and all that…

  5. Pepper says:

    My parents didn’t teach me how to whistle. Perhaps cos they don’t know how to themselves. It’s not a life skill, but I still wish I could do it. A little bit atleast.

  6. UmaS says:

    Really??? Cant strike a match in one stroke ??? LOL !!! πŸ˜€

    Never thought of such things R’s mom…we just assumed that we’ve to learn everything on our own…never felt that my parents didnt teach me anything !!! I learnt things just by observing my mom…

  7. Amit says:

    Now that is a brilliant idea of a post. There are a lot of things my parents forgot to teach me. I have to do a post about it. πŸ™‚

  8. Nidaa says:

    My friends and I becm experts at 1 thanks to our fetish for lighting crackers and playing campfire (erm without parents knowledge of course πŸ˜€ bcz mums wd hav freaked out).
    2- Even if the nada goes inside, you can get it back to ‘normal’ with the help of a safety pin!
    3- Pocho-ing the house on Sat & Sun was my duty after my eldest brooms & wipes the windows & fans and other sis brooms the yard & trim bushes… Now we have help.

    • R's Mom says:

      Geee! I was a total acha baacha..never had the guts to play with firecrackers πŸ™‚

      Errr….this is the nada which is already out..the problem is finding the right thread to remove the knot!

  9. Good one!! loved reading it.
    My hubby says that my parents didn’t teach me how to use kitchen knife.. Seems the way i use it is not normal..thats why he never lets me do it when he is around.. good for me.. one less chore πŸ™‚

  10. Ashwathy says:

    Hahahahha @ #1 !! πŸ˜† No wonder we are sisters!! We both have this issue! :mrgreen: The other two, not so much. But this one most definitely! πŸ˜€

  11. Lol , I remember that nada episode you had at work.

  12. telugumom says:

    LOL on the nada thing. Been there and have cursed myself several times for not pulling the right one.

Leave a Reply

